Ratings based on 1,528 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel - very central

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort
Location: Cathedral, museums, shopping, restaurants, riverboats
Nice hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, great location to get to lots of sights and events in Koln, the only negative was the lack of 4G network coverage in the hotel rooms!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better showers at camping sites

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Water pressure in the shower is little more than a drip unless you turn the knob to the coldest temp. Bed was really uncomfortable and squeaky. For this price point I would expect free wifi. On a positive note all staff I came across were friendly and professional. Overall I wouldn't return, there are other hotels and hostels in the same area which I found to be more comfortable and better value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Laura Blaesing, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to compose this review on Expedia. Your comments are highly appreciated as we always strive to improve our daily operations. I am glad to read that you liked our staff. But I am very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations to the fullest and I apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. Rest assured that I will share your experience with the respective departments. I sincerely hope that this incident does not tarnish our reputation and that you will give us a chance in the future. Best regards, your Hilton Cologne Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good location - rooms are exceptional

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Location + Rooms
Location: The hotel location is great which overlooks the main Kologne cathedral and very close to train station .
The hotel location is great which overlooks the main Kologne cathedral and very close to train station . Family Rooms are impressive with very good facilities . The prices are high but reasonable for the services provided.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Laura Bläsing , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Hilton as your hotel in Cologne and for the time you took to share your valued feedback with us via Expedia. I am delighted to hear that you had a satisfying experience at our hotel. We hope you enjoyed your time in Cologne and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future. Best regards, your Hilton Cologne Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted May 19, 2017
Handy to all parts of the city including messe koln. € 13.00 by cab.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Laura Bläsing, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for letting us have your review on Expedia. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Cologne as our guest and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant time with us. Your detailed feedback is much appreciated and we will use your comments to further improve our service as your host - thank you! Dear Guest, the whole team would be happy to welcome you back for future visits to our city! Best regards from Cologne, your Hilton Cologne Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, NY

Close to train station

Posted Apr 15, 2017
A bit basic in terms of hotel amenities and product offering. Wifi is chargeable. Staff were great and super helpful. Location is close to train station but on a particularly unattractive block. Hotel itself is soulless but did the job. Recommend if you are staying just a night or two and need to catch an early train. Otherwise, nicer options.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Laura Bläsing, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for letting us have your review on Expedia. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Cologne as our guest and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant time with us. Your detailed feedback is much appreciated and we will use your comments to further improve our service as your host - thank you! Dear Guest, the whole team would be happy to welcome you back for future visits to our city! Best regards from Cologne, your Hilton Cologne Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, close to the cathedral

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Very good hotel for location. Had a range of amenities and very clean. However room temperature control was a problem, air con was noisy, and no free wifi in the room.
3 out of 5
by Concerned citizen of the world from DB train.

Cologne honeymoon

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
We came here for our quite honeymoon little did we know there was a out of control Street party. We saw someone dressed as a banana! I guess that's life in the big smoke. To save this weekend and our marriage we tried to go to a fancy shopping centre and were surrounded by a group of rogue fruits. It's safe to say my wife is leaving me. Thanks Hilton.
5 out of 5
by Linda

Cozy Hotel nice to Central Cologne

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
This was a leisure overnight trip to visit Cologne. The Hilton Cologne is a perfect location because it is a stones throw form the Cathedral and the train station. We could walk to all of the old town attractions without having to get on the tram. Our room was cozy. It was nice that it had small refrigerator and a hot pot to make coffee or tea. It also seemed very quiet and we were not facing a busy street! Unless you sign up for the Hilton awards program, internet is only free in the lobby. That was a bummer and breakfast is an extra charge. We decided that we could have a nice breakfast for a lot less money. All in all we enjoyed the Hilton.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Laurie

Convenient and conventional near the Dom

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
The location was everything, just around the block from the Hauptbahnhof and easy walking distance to the Dom, Altstadt, and Rhine. There are grocery and fast food sources in the station, as well as numerous restaurants in the Altstadt area. Be aware that there may be a charge for WiFi, depending on the price level of room you select. Hard to believe, especially for a hotel oriented to business travellers, but they wanted 12.95 euro for basic service - I opted out. Other than that, it's acceptable, if generic.