Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fab location

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Excellent location near the castle,spacious, comfortable bed, good breakfast! Quiet!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet location next to all the attractions

Posted May 19, 2016
Cute clean room but shower was smaller than preferred. Just outside all the attractions within walking distance. Pleasant staff and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Ideal location overlooking the Rhine. Lovely walk

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Pros: Special considerate touches and friendliness of staff
Location: Easy walk to old town area along the waterfront for sightseeing, store browsing, Christmas markets delightful, great places to dine out.
Couldn't be nicer. Delightful Christmas markets. Visited cathedral. Lots of good walking with lots to see. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent stay, far exceeded expectations

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Great location. River right across the street. Lovely view.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to the main rail station and the old city. Great area to walk around.
Very charming hotel located on the river. Great views of the river. Room was comfortable and clean. Staff very friendly and happy to help. Best hotel I've stayed in this year. I usually go for the known chain hotels, this stay was better than any of those.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff. In a convenient location, we came to see the Christmas markets and you can walk to the most of them within 5/10 minutes. You can also walk to the main shopping street within 10 mins. Has a lovely view of the river and very close to the chocolate museum. Breakfast has a good selection, although doesn't seem to be replenished so best to arrive earlier rather than later. The rooms seem a little dated, but have lovely high ceilings and were very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delightful hotel on the Rhine

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Nice room facing the river. Staff very good. Breakfast excellent. We left our chargers behind and they sent them back to us in the UK nicely packed.
Cons: Clearer info on wifi.
Location: It's near the centre where everything is.
We found this hotel pretty much perfect. It was in the centre of Cologne, but quiet, clean, calm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good central location. Very tidy. Smiley staff!

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Business trip. Hotel did all the basics very well. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Good location - friendly staff, comfortable and good price
Cons: Hot breakfast - more croissants!
Location: Chocolate museum, panorama view (over the river - just 3 euros). River boat trip, cathedral, walk along the Rhein.
The hotel was perfect for our short stay in Cologne. We arrived early and went to the hotel to see if we could leave our bags, but were shown to our room straight away, a good couple of hours early which was really welcome. We made our way from the airport by train - just a 12 minute journey from the airport to Koln Hauptbahnhof. It was just a short walk ie 10 minutes along the edge of the river to the hotel so that was really convenient. Although the room was a bit noisy when the window was open - due to the fact that it was adjacent to the road, this was not a problem and it was lovely to be able to look across the river. The hotel was nicely positioned; very close to the chocolate museum and to the river boat trips and just a short stroll to the cathedral. The staff were helpful and welcoming. We had breakfast on the first day for 7 euros which is not expensive. The breakfast was pretty average though. We came down to breakfast at 8.20 and I think we were the last people eating ( we were told breakfast was served until 10). Many of the platters were pretty empty, the bacon and eggs etc were all cold and there was one solitary croissant. Luckily for me my husband doesn't like croissants so there was no fight. The plates weren't being replenished. There are many cafes and restaurants at Heumarkt, so we had breakfast there instead. I would recommend the hotel for location, cost and comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sheffield uk

Nice hotel right in the heart of town

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The staff were great, the room was large and airy and clean. The position was also good
Cons: The shower was really difficult to move around in and if you did it caught the tap and turned the temperature either too hot or too cold
Location: Location was excellent. Things we did included a trip on the river, a visit to the Olympic museum, shopping,, just people watching in the square
It was the first time we had been to Germany and the hotel did not disappoint. The hotel was perfectly adequate for the 3 night stay we had. We asked for a quiet room and were placed on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel. The room was quite large but the shower was quite awkward in its layout. The staff were always helpful. The breakfast was good with an impressive range of hot and hold food. I would stay here again if I was in Cologne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Felicity from london

Really nice staff, good value

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Location. Helpful staff.
Location: Near the chocolate factory, walking distance to most other main sites and easy to get your bearings walking sling the river.
Friendly reception staff with good English. Basic but well equipped room with free bottled water. Nice breakfast selection. Very convenient location. Noisy road meant opening the window not an option but otherwise a good place to stay.