Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel in a quiet street near Cathedral

Posted Oct 24, 2016
I was pleased with this hotel, having booked a little late, and all the alternatives where my colleagues were staying were full or double/treble the usual price. Coincidentally, it turned out there was a Champions' League Football match on. This hotel was much more reasonably priced, but still excellent. Clean, smart, very spacious room, though the corridor perhaps could have done with redecoration. I didn't try the breakfast, but the price seemed very fair. If you are on business, remember you don't have to pay the Koln 'leisure' tax.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Good location. Basic accomodations but comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abundance HQ, South UK, www.lifeofabundance.co.uk

Good hotel, close to local amenities and the Rhine

Posted Sep 7, 2015
We chose Hotel An Der Philharmonia due to its convenient location, being close to local Restaurants, bars, shops and the Rhine (ideally situated because we'd booked to go to an outdoor gig at the Rhinepark), and the hotel has a good overall star rating. We arrived on an unusually hotter day than normal for the time of year - around 30 degrees C on the Sunday before August Bank Holiday Monday! The hotel unfortunately does not have air-conditioning, and with our room being on the top (4th) floor, it was quite stuffy. Fortunately, there was a standalone air cooler in the room that was running, and we opened up the windows to cool ourselves down. It is for this reason only that we did not give Room Comfort and Hotel Facilities a five star rating. We'd asked for a quiet room, and that's what we got, being light sleepers. We had breakfast at the hotel, which we enjoyed, thanks to the variety and quality of food available. The hotel staff were friendly and courteous, which is one of the main reasons why we would be happy to stay there again, and recommend the hotel to anyone looking to stay in Cologne, or as a base from which to take day trips, being as the railway station is nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wokingham, UK

Great hotel in central Cologne

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Stayed here for Gamescom this year. The hotel is very close to the Cathedral and the river. We were able to walk along the river and over the bridge to Gamescom in 20 mins or so. Easy to walk to shops and restaurants as this is right in the city centre. Very comfortable room, friendly staff and a great breakfast for only 7.50 Euros. Note there is a bar at street level that plays loud music on Friday and Saturday night until the early hours. Just something to be aware of, especially in summer when you need to keep the windows open, as there is no air conditioning. We had a problem with our toilet not flushing, which was fixed the same day. Unfortunately, it broke again on the morning that we were due to leave. I mentioned it to the staff when leaving, so hopefully sorted for the next guest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Check in and check out persons were not friendly, in fact they seemed annoyed to help us. The breakfast was terrible (stale bread, minimal choice). The best part was the location-very close to the train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

a few steps from all the points of interest

Posted Apr 24, 2015
walk to the hotel from the train station, just a block from the Rhine, only minutes from the Cathedral, significant museums, lots of restaurants. Room was spacious, modern with an outstanding shower. One quibble; we could not send email although could receive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from King`s Somborne, Hampshire, England

City centre hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2014
This hotel was close to both the city centre and to the River Rhine. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. An exceallent, good value, breakfast. Well recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O

Good location, nice facility

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Stayed a couple of days and enjoyed it. Great access to old town, Dom, and train station. A five minute walk from the station. Staff were nice and breakfast was good. Friday and Saturday they have a small bar open on each side so if you stay then you will hear that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola, Fl.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff
Location: Great close to Ludwig Museum, river, and shopping,
Perfect location in Cologne, 35 Rooms, close to river, shops, Ludwig Museum.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotel in a very good location

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location, clean, spacious
Cons: Make sure there is soap in the soap dispenser. Make sure wifi signal can be accessed from Room 101
This hotel was in an excellent location - right next to the riverfront and a minute fromt he Dom. It was clean and there was enough space to feel comfortable. I would have rated it higher but there was no soap in the shower and I couldn't get any wifi signal in room 101.