Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Amazing hotel & excellent location

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Stayed for 3 nights to visit our son & look around Cologne. This hotel is in a great location - only a 5 min walk to the main station and near the Dom & museums/galleries. Also took a bus to Astranaut Cente & a boat trip down the Rhine. Buffet style breakfast included in price gave lots of choice & good start to the day. Staff friendly & very helpful. Overall excellent value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Patricia from London

Experience at the Domstern Hotel

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
This was a pleasant bed and breakfast type accommodation which was fairly comfortable. I felt uneasy that there was no one on site overnight and had to get in through a locked door. I understand that there was a sister hotel opposite with overnight staff. The staff were very friendly when on duty and the breakfast was excellent continental one with a large choice of cold meats, cheese, fruit and yoghurts etc. The accommodation was near the main train station and the river. Be careful which direction you walk as you could end up in unsavoury area which was a bit scary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Only 5mins to Koln Hbf and 10mins to Cathedral.

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: The breakfasts were first class with plenty of choice for all nationalities, and for a small hotel it was good to have free wifi.
Cons: As we were staying a week it would have helped to have more coat hangers. Also my husband wet shaves in the morning and no plug - only a hair filter.
Location: Everything detailed above was within easy walking distance, plus plenty more if you like walking.
Apparently, most people only spend a couple of days in Cologne, but there are lots of places worth visiting if you spend a little longer. The Botanical Gardens were wonderful, and you can then get on the cable car across the Rhine and walk along the opposite side of the Rhine for your return walk through the Rheinpark. Also, a trip up the LVR Tower gives one a superb view over the whole of Cologne. The Stadtmuseum was well worth a visit, with most information giving details in German and English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Samai from bkk

SERVICE is important in all aspect of all hotels

Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
the service of the this hotel especially the front desks staff is really great I could have given them 5 for the rating nonetheless it might be too over killed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany Western Australia

Quick visit to see the cathedral

Posted May 10, 2015
Broke journey between Amsterdam and Munich to see the cathedral. Hotel is very close to the station, old city and cathedral. Room didn't appear to be air conditioned but in May wasn't a problem. Outside noise wasn't an issue because of the double glazing. Some internal noise but wasnt an issue. Room was modernised, clean and as you would expect. Included breakfast was goodsnd staff were terrific. Happy to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Felipe from miami

Nice Hotel

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
The best breakfast in Koln
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jonas from Stockholm

Litet och bra hotell

Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
Litet hotell med familjär stämning. Nära centralstationen och domen. Dock en bit att gå till shopping. Mycket god frukost ingår. Bra service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, be aware of reception arrangements

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed two nights in this quiet comfortable hotel, excellent breakfast and close to the rail station and cathedral [which you reach through the station]. Take note: reception may be unmanned when you arrive. If no reply to entryphone go to the Hotel Domspitz, about 50 metres back to the station on the other side of the road. This is the sister hotel. In our case the entryphone was broken so not everyone will need this specialist knowledge!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Location, helpful and welcoming staff, breakfast.
Location: Central location next to train station, easy link to airport. Next to cathedral, used the hop off train for short city tour, visited botanical gardens
This was a short break for a couple of nights. The Hotel is within ten minutes walk from central train station. The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful nothing seemed to be too much bother for them. The room although small was very clean and adequate for the period of our stay. We had a lovely choice of continental breakfast just what we needed after our morning run. Thanks for those people who have previously stayed and posted their reviews, I may not have even considered it and would have missed out! Great little find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dominic from Aarhus

Breakfast

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very good location. Friendly. Elaborate breakfast. Good value.