Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but Old

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
The room was a box, from a bedroom in the 1960s, the bath / shower / hole in the wall whatever its called needs a ladder to climb into. The staff were great, the location is great, but really this place is so old school only stay here if your literally sleeping and leaving.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Worst hotels in Cologne Germany!!!

Posted Oct 9, 2016
We wouldn't choose this dumpy hotel, Hotel Europaischer Hof Am Dom, again! No one at the desk, when we got there. Each morning we had to leave early and hardly got to see anyone at the desk. Most German hotels have breakfast, this hotel does not for this outrageous price! The best part, we were on the top floor, 4th or 5th, depends on European or American standards. The elevator only worked 2 times, but never, when we needed help with our luggage. Going up and down 4 or 5 stories each day for 7 days was very tiring!!! We would have left, but unfortunately, there was a convention and no hotels were available in sight. The room smelled bad, big light signs outside, and ants on the bed. We were extremely disappointed!!!
4 out of 5
by sue from usa

quiet but close to everything

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

promise is promise

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
the fact that it's a very run down hotel with no sign to renovate or to change the old and stained carpet inside and outside of the room, I still take that as a value-for-money accommodation.The receptionist offered to ask her boss, to charge me Euros 5.99 instead of twice the price for the wifi for 2 devices, because I arrived after 10pm and had to call with my foreign mobile phone for minutes to get password. It was still at full price when I checked out.....
4 out of 5
by Vasyl from Kyiv

without Wi-Fi!

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
There was no Free Wi-Fi :((( City center. Not a new furniture!
4 out of 5
by Steph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Richard from Guildford

Hotel OK, just but not at that price

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
Very expensive for what it was. Functional but tatty
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2015 by Hotelteam, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay in our house,
1 out of 5
by veronika

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Pamela from canada

Beware! Charged my credit card twice

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
When I went to check out they told me I hadn't paid yet. I told them I pre-paid on hotels.com and to check this. Sure enough when I returned I was charged twice! Because this was during the dental convention I had to pay over $500 per night!! I was charged over $4000.00-- Yes four thousand dollars for this stay. This place is essentially a hostel and should be advertised as such.
3 out of 5
by James from Italy

it's something

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
we only stayed one night, but the walls needed to be fixed, the heater cover was just leaning on the heater and the internet was 4euros a day per device. just not sure I would stay here in the future.