Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Nice but far from city centre

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Hotel was nice but had no air conditioning and as it was so hot when we were there, it made our stay very uncomfortable. Fairly far from the city centre, taxi there cost about 30 euros and I only seen one bus stop in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT close to city center as claimed

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Location aside, it was a reasonable room rate.
Cons: Friendliness and helpfullness of front desk staff
Location: It is in the suburbs. There are few facilities nearby, and no sights.
The hotel is clean and comfortable. Restaurent staff was quite pleasing. But the front desk staff were less than helpful! Plus, the hotel is nowhere near the city center as claimed. IF you know the metro system and can figure out transportation on your own, it would be OK. For a first visit to Koln though, don't depend on hotel staff for support.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a quiet location.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay with them again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Quirky interior design, retro charm, some flaws

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Nice quirky, retro interior, good location
Cons: TOILET SEATS, a general update to the sometimes tired interior
Location: It's right next to BAYER Leverkusen
On arrival, we were told that we only booked 2 singles instead of 1 single 1 double. After this being resolved, we were given our rooms. Within minutes, our friend reported dirty towels, leftover pizza etc in his room. Obviously miscommunication between housekeeping and front desk. He was given another room...a smaller one than the original one. I would have assumed that an upgrade would have been in order rather than a downgrade? Our room was pleasant, and clean, assuming that the stains on the carpet were old and attempts to remove them had been made at some point in the past. Main positive was the balcony, which, as smokers was much appreciated. The springs in the mattress were a bit to close to the surface and my back did not thank me for it. Why a toilet seat would be horse shoe shaped, with a straight back is utterly beyond me. I have seem many posteriors in my life, none of them was square at the back.. The internet was a bit hit and miss, but it did work once or twice. I was rather appalled by the bottle of complimentary water at the reception having something looking akin to mucus floating in it, as well as the rather lacklustre apology from the staff about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joe from uk

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by bob

Nice hotel just a 10 min drive from city centre

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Nice pleasant hotel in a quite suburb area 10 min from cologne city centre. Pleasant and helpful staff helping you enjoy your break close to all public travel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Great place for a city visit

Posted Oct 30, 2012
Pros: The lounge and bar area
Cons: Wifi was a bit suspect at times
Location: Great for the city and airport
The hotel is not far from the airport and easy to get to. The room was fine with a balcony. There is a bus stop just outside which is very useful for a city visit and the service runs until 03:00. The restuarant attached to the hotel is very good, the food was good quality. The bar and lounge area of the hotel is comfortable, with easy chairs and games (like monopoly and scrabble) for those who fancy something more challenging than drinking all evening. The staff were really helpful especially with travel arrangements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Good Value Hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2009
Good hotel, very inexpensive for Cologne with only a 10 minute drive to the downtown. Paid for b'fast which was a little unexpected. The room was large.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Good: Free Parking/Internet, Friendly Staff, Breakfast, Location Not So Good: the rest

Posted Oct 7, 2009
We were expecting more for a 3-star hotel. Initial room was not good. Next day we switched to a better room. Staff was very friendly and always smiling/helping. Free parking and internet were good points. It was very close to Koeln (9-10km). In the morning it could be noisy (commuters). Noise is always a problem for hotels anyway.
2 out of 5
by Evad from Liverpool

Friends Hotel Koln (Cologne)

Posted Jul 13, 2007
The room was nice, clean and comfortable. The hotel itself was hard to find - it looks just like a block of flats so I drove past it 3 times until I saw the partially obscurred sign and recognised it as a hotel. Service was a little 'reserved' and I didn't feel overly welcome (but that is common in Germany), but the hotel is cheap, comfortable and clean and has an italian restaurant (which doubles as the breakfast room in the morning)right next door which is cheap and did very nice food.