Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Brilliant Friendly Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Stayed here just after Christmas and had a great time. Room was lovely, very spacious and comfortable. Staff were all polite and friendly. Good complementary mini bar. Overall this hotel made our stay very special and I would definitely visit again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Unique romantic hotel in a great location.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Unique hotel in central location. Staff very helpful.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location great fir Christmas markets and close to the cathedral.
Wonderful short break to enjoy the Christmas Markets. The hotel is unique its a restored water tower. We were upgraded to a deluxe room on the 8th floor. Wonderful views of the city. Had the best sleep I have ever had in a hotel no noise from other guests. Staff are very friendly and professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Beautiful hotel, very hospitable staff.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Very close to central cologne, shops, museum, cathedral and transport.
Fantastic hotel, beautiful in fact. My room was perfect, with free minibar, air con, underfloor heating, drench shower, my room was made up every morning by housekeeping and turned down every night. Along with Michelin star restaurant my experience here was amazing. I would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best luxury hotel in Cologne

Posted Sep 5, 2016
It's always a pleasure staying here - in the centre yet do quiet and calm. Great staff and great breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but poor facilities management.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Great renovation and close to the city
The hotel is unique and nicely renovated. On our arrival we wereadvisedthatthewaterwould beshutoffthe following day from 12pm - 15:00. The rooftop terrace and restaurant was closed due to renovations... We were not advised of this prior to booking ... The air conditioning broke down on the warmest days and our second nights sleep was non exsistant due to the heat and humidity. We were so looking forward to our stay and left very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Very nice pleasant hotel, with outstanding interior and general atmosphere. Some rooms even provide a view on the world famous Cathedral.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stunning hotel in quiet area of Cologne

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Everything - the architecture and quality of finishes, the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness, the peacefulness of the area...
Cons: Some basic tourist information would be good - maybe a local transport map and/or a shuttle service to the Altstadt.
Location: The area around the hotel is predominantly residential, so there's not a great deal there. But the City Centre is a gentle 10 minute walk away.
The drive from Cologne-Bonn Airport is normally dominated by the search for the Dom - the imposing cathedral located at the heart of this city. Once you spot it, particularly at night, it's hard to notice anything else around you. The Hotel im Wasserturm - or Hotel in the Water Tower - isn't something that dominates the skyline. It's something you only notice when you're relatively close to it, but the sheer size of it is impressive nonetheless. There is a carriage circle which is used only for collections/drop-off's, with a glazed foyer leading to the reception desk. The structure is probably more impressive from the inside than the outside - massively thick brickwork walls, a metal spiral staircase, attractive comfortable furnishings, modern fast elevators, and subtle lighting to give a warm welcoming impression. One we had checked in, we found our way to our room, which despite being their most economical offering, was very spacious and well appointed. The bed was superbly comfortable, lots of lighting permutations (including a 'Light Box' desk), loads of wardrobe & drawer space, a safe, LCD TV with some international channels, and even a Samsung Tablet to order room service. There were plenty of quality toiletries provided in the huge bathroom, and the shower had excellent pressure / temperature at all times. The more you look, the more you found in the way of nice details, showing this hotel had been built with the end user in mind. We can't wait to come back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

NOT a Small Leading Hotel of The World!

Posted Dec 13, 2015
The hotel rooms are tired. Need a refurbishment. Its location is in the middle of nowhere. The rooms were dirty. The sofa had collapsed. The shower didn't work... they never bothered to fix it, we stayed 3 nights. Carpets were soiled. We were refused breakfast, we were 15 minutes before it should've closed. It was awful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic and stunning hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Walking distance from the city centre, beautiful room and helpful staff. Perfect for visiting all the Christmas markets! I'd recommend getting a suite, made the whole experience unique and was still affordable
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2015 by Hotel im Wasserturm Team, Hotel Management
Dear Casey, Nice to read your great feedback. Thank you really much. We are happy; that you had a good stay in our Hotel and that you enjoyed the Christmas Markets in Cologne. We would be glad to welcome you again in our Hotel and wish you all the best. With the best regards, Your Hotel im Wasserturm Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Ascot Berkshire

Imposing hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Great restaurant at reasonable prices, nice rooms and loyely ambiance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2015 by Hotel im Wasserturm Team, Hotel Management
Dear Brian, we are glad that you appreciate our hotel and that we could make your stay to something special. Your opinion is important for us, as we know that you enjoyed the dinner and that you had a good time in Cologne and in our Hotel. Thank you for your positive feedback. We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel and remain with best regards, Your Hotel im Wasserturm Team