Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

So noisy that I did not sleep

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The front desk was helpful and called me a cab to the airport when requested. No complaints about personnel.
Cons: The rooms.
Location: Great location, right on the river and in the heart of old town.
My room was much tinier than expected, however, I can get over that. However, my window (as there is no AC) was directly over an alley filled with bars and restaurants. From about 7pm til 4am people were outside blasting music, singing and drinking loudly directly outside my window. I did not fall asleep until 5AM when I finally accepted I must close the window and endure the heat to get any rest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great value for money.

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Fantastic location by the Rhine and walking distance to all the main sights and areas. Room was very small but clean and substantial. I'd certainly stay there again if I was to return to Cologne!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good location, great value

Posted Feb 1, 2015
It's among the restaurants in a pretty part of town, is not far from the Hbf and fronts the Rhine. Yes, you have to walk through the restaurant and you will be confronted with a lot of stairs, but I found it worth the effort. Room was small but clean; it was a bit noisy at night, but I still slept fine. Note: the streets are cobblestoned: if you have luggage you can avoid most of them by exiting on the SW side of the station, turning left and trying to follow the tracks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

A Hotel Restaurant

Posted Dec 17, 2014
It was a bit annoying to have to walk through the restaurant every time I left or came back to the hotel. Also, the washroom was separate from the room, so having to unlock the room, relock the room, unlock the washroom, relock the washroom, and repeat when going back was the most annoying point of the hotel. Overall, it was an alright hotel and you definitely get what you pay for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hampshire, uk

Fantastic view

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Tiny bathroom, but it was en suite so can't really complain!
Location: Station about 10mins walk and lots to do close by, but best was the view!
My room overlooked the Rhine which was a real bonus. The only problem was dragging a suitcase from the station over the cobbles to the hotel, but worth the effort. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location beautiful, I would recommend to anyone. Oh yes the double glazing worked well too, no noise from outside!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

hotel in the old part of Cologne.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: installation of a lift.
Location: stroll along the Rhine, take a boat trip, visit the cathedral, the Philharmonics, the shopping centers, the museums, the churches, loads to see and do
Excellent location unless you drive a car. Great view of the Rhine. Breakfast ok. Lots of stairs to the upper floors. Convenient for closeness to the railway station and most places of interest to visit. Quite busy with tourists but not very noisy at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee from UK

Central location

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: Central location for entertainment
Cons: Include breakfast in the overall cost of the stay. Ensure food orders are received and served correctly. Provide better room facilities.
Location: Rhine walks, Boat trips, Several museums, a vast selection of bars, restaurants, entertainment, close to the Cathedral and main railway station
The hotel is in a central location for many of the attractions of Cologne. The atmosphere in the restaurant is really nice, very cosy and the food is a reasonable standard, although it would have been much more enjoyable if the meal served to us had been what we ordered...... The room was very basic and because we were given a room in the roof of the old place, it was rather cold.... The view from the room was also of rooftops rather than a view of the Rhine...... The overall experience of the hotel Lowenbrau was ok, however I would select a different hotel for my next visit to Cologne as it really wasn't good value for money..... £85.00 for a double room in the rooftop with No view and No breakfast included would not inspire a swift return.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay if location matters most

Posted Apr 14, 2013
Great location, nice atmosphere, and friendly staff. The rooms, though, are puny. And the Wi-Fi signal was sporadic and slow.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel lowenbrau

Posted Jan 29, 2013
The hotel rooms need updating also the rooms are not ensuite my shower and toilet were on a different level. It is fair to say that maintenance work and upkeep work was in progress. The breakfast was simple but adequate. The hotel is situated in a nice area near to the railway station and is surrounded by restaurants and bars and has river views. The staff at reception were to their credit friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by Paul from Prague, Czech Republic

Traumatic experience

Posted Feb 20, 2012
Location: The only positive thing about the "hotel" is its location, in the old town of Cologne. But the negative points by far outweigh this advantage.
The "hotel" is rated by themselves as 3 stars (and they charge as if) but i would give it no stars at all. There is no proper reception. The entrance is through a bar in primitive conditions. The floor is paved just with cement. Since it is an old house, of course no elevators. The rooms are miserable. Decoration dreadful (a collection of all sorts of trash). Bed linen are overused. Bathrooms are shabby and absolutely uncomfortable. The staff unqualified and not exactly friendly (once they gave me the keys of another room). In the evening you have to struggle through the crowds in the bar to reach the staircase that leads to the rooms. During the day the doors are closed. You have to ring and wait. Just to summarize, staying at this "hotel" is a traumatic experience. I have never been in such a bad one. I was happy to depart.