Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester (UK)

Christmas markets trip

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: We felt very comfortable and relaxed at the hotel - perfect retreat after a day out in the cold :)
Cons: Not much - as previously stated the jacuzzi wasn't working whilst we were there, but that was more than likely a 'one-off'.
Location: Please see above.
The hotel was in a great location - a short (10 min) walk into the old town/cathedral are of Cologne (across the bridge). We got the train (S13) from the airport (Koln) to the hotel - a 10-15 journey that cost about 6 Euro for the two of us - bargain! There is a train station on the hotel side of the river (Messe?), which is roughly 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is modern, clean and inviting. We were very happy with our room (big enough, comfy bed and large bathroom (with a bath and a walk-in shower). The view from the bar/restaurant is stunning (especially at night) - view of the cathedral and old town. We didn't eat at the hotel but the menu looked interesting (but a little expensive). The spa is lovely - great sauna and steam room however, the jacuzzi was not working when we were there, which was disappointing. The staff a the hotel are lovely and very knowledgeable about the area (recommended sights / advised on transport / recommended restaurants etc.). Cologne itself was stunning - the cathedral is one of the most impressive I've seen (especially the view from the top!) and the town was enchanting. The markets were magical and not too crowded (able to get to the stalls / order drinks etc.). There are endless taverns / beer-houses etc. in Cologne - lovely food and drink at very reasonable prices. We visited mainly for the markets but we visited the chocolate museum and the perfume museum also - both excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great hotel, close to the cathedral

Posted Dec 11, 2016
The hotel is located a short walk over the river from the cathedral, great for visiting the Christmas markets and chocolate museum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Clean hotel, helpful service, great location and beautiful view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cologne

Hyatt Regency on the banks of The Rhine

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Fantastic location for a superb hotel , overlooking the Rhine + the beautiful cathedral + bridges , 5 minute walk across the railway bridge this is covered in padlocks that people have engraved . The staff were extremely friendly + helpful , our luggage never arrived from Manchester , they took all our details + spent a good while trying to locate it for us , it never left Manchester in the first place due to the check in lady not securing the baggage label properly :( we never ate at the hotel it is a businesss class hotel + we crossed the bridge to the lovely restaurants on the other side .However the restaurant did appear to be very busy . Our room had a good view of all amenities + was spacious ,comfortable + clean , maids came in the two days we were there to change towels etc . The hotel was a ten minute walk to the Lanxess arena which does concerts , absolutely superb + would not hesitate to return , the ongoing works at the hotel seemed to have finished , a pleasant experience ,Cologne a lovely city to visit :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Quiet, away from centre but not too far away

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Very large and comfortable room and bathroom. Huge entrance / lobby. Good views across the river. English TV after a long day walking / dining out.
Cons: More affordable dining choices perhaps.
Location: We went for the Christmas markets and zoo and were not disappointed. Cathedral was amazing. Didn't find time for museum or chocolate factory.
Easy to find, just across the bridge from the Cathedral / Station. Very clean and classy. Nice, polite and helpful staff. Some reconstruction work appeared to be just finishing, which wasn't an issue. Swimming pool and steam room very good. Eating there was a bit expensive for our liking (especially for breakfast).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima, Peru

Beautifull view

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Excellent location for business ( close to fair ) and leisure ( close to city center )
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester , UK

Should be excellent once building works are over

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Good location. No lobby at present due to building works . Small restaurant. Otherwise excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel, but undergoing a massive refurbishment

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Staff , rooms, would have been perfect if the refurbushment was completed .
Cons: nothing
Location: Hotel has amazing view on the river and cathedral
We enjoyed our stay but did not get the best of the hotel as was undergoing a massive refurbishment so we did not enjoy the nice lobby also the cafeteria outside was closed , no shops within the hotel.The hotel has amazing view on the river and the cathedral on the other side of the river . there is no nearby shops or restaurants. to get to city centre where everything is happening there you need to cross the walking bridge-nice walk but takes 10-15 minutes . staff very helpful and speak very good English. room good size and clean . We enjoyed our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Good location, close to conference centre & statio

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Very convenient for travelers with good train connection. Lovely walk over the Iron Bridge to the main Hub , the cathedral and all the buzz of the shopping centre & bars & restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good but not great.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The large room
Cons: A realistic price for breakfast which is obviously aimed at business travellers who are happy to pay.
Location: On the river, so views are good. Most of the restaurants and attractions are on the other side.
Stayed two nights for leisure break. I was allowed early access to the room, which was large, comfortable and clean. Downside was the ongoing refurbishment of the lobby, which could be heard from my room on the third floor. There was no obvious mention of this on either Expedia or the hotels website when I booked. As a leisur traveller, €30 for breakfast is ridiculous and there are limited choices within close proximity to the hotel.