Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs a few more things for a four star hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Nice hotel but more things needed inside the room to be a four star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Marielle Canders, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your time in our house and taken the time to evaluate our hotel. We would be very pleased if you tell us what you missed during your stay so we can change something. We wish you a Merry Christmas and a happy year 2017
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London,UK

Good base for City

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Rooms at the back are quieter with view of park. Good parking. Easy bus and tram access to city centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel out of city-green area.

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Area where we wanted to be
Cons: Bigger room
Location: Close to University and easy access to city via tram.
Chose this hotel as close to University. Clean and pleasant though room was quite small. Good breakfast though at 18 Euros quite expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A reasonable hotel some distance from the aldstadt

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: Airconditioning work well. Internet performance was good. Breakfast was good with good variety. Staff were helpful
Cons: The hotel is an older one and style so not so good if you are looking for something flashy. But everything works well if not as beautiful as possible.
Location: Good location for such a distance from the city. Makes getting there by car easier than for hotels in the center.
The hotel is a reasonable hotel some distance from the city. Its relatively easy to find when driving and is on one of the main tram lines (#7) which can get to the city in around 15 minutes and is reasonably frequent. The tram stop is a few hundred meters away from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2015 by Lilian, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your nice feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Terrible experience, backpacker is better

Posted Apr 12, 2015
It was really bad, the room was filthy , the door lock didn't work, bathroom really dirty, no bath towels, I rang the reception the first time she hung up, finally I got through asked for towels. 30 minutes later still no towels. I went downstairs and asked to have the room changed extremely rude staff saying housekeeping is not there and will be in half an hour. After a heated argument She changed the room saying that's the last room I have no other choice. They wanted me to take all my luggage to the new room. It was a terrible experience. I would highly recommend you to forget about this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

18€ to park a motorbike!!!!

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: make sure the reception never judge books by covers
Location: just off main road.. with tons of traffic. petrol station near by. Nothing else
I was travelling home to the UK, from friends in Karlsruhe, to break up the trip I decided to stay over in this hotel. What a mistake. Couldnt get into the car park on my 900 touring motorcycle with out getting a machine ticket.. eighteeen per day to park on the pavement!! I almost get wiped out by a spanish coach/bus, the driver was using his mobile whilst trying to navigate the car park. I walked into reception, to check in. The guy on reception was fairly adept in English. I was charged another forteen per night for wifi. I went up to my room, to drop my bike jacket and helmet off. Room was "ok" but nothing like the "superior" room that was shown on the website. I got the lift back down to reception, to head out and get my bags, from my bike. As soon as the doors open.. BANG.. I was assaulted by a short spanish guy, who rammed his suitcase into my left leg, leaving some nice bruising and almost knocking me to the floor. No apologies, no contrition, nothing! went to reception and spoke to the guy receptionist, who offered me a free coke cola, and promised to speak to the coach tour operator. Enough was enough, and I went back to my room, grabbed my jacket and helmet. Went to reception and asked for my bill, offering my credit card. From moment 1, in that hotel, I was not made to feel welcome. The only thing I can put it down to, is the bike gear and being a biker. I left, but have still ended up paying wifi charges and room charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Delightful, highly recommended. Will go back. Annoyed that I'm forced to write an essay in this review box :). That part of the review system needs to change!
2 out of 5
by Udo from Sydney

Fees for every little extra and poor value for mon

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Not much!!!
Cons: Free Wi Fi. Friendlier staff. Free parking or at least reduced parking fees.
Location: A nice park nearby.
Having just stayed in close to 50 different hotels during the past 8 weeks across Europe, this was the only one who wanted an exorbitant fee to use Wi-Fi. It was not even free in the lobby. Even the Sheraton in Munich offered free Wi Fi. The staff were decidedly cold and unfriendly. Given the distance out of town the pricing was not great. Their fee for parking was high and it was not even for under cover parking making it unsafe. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beelen

Passables Hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Zimmer und Frühstücksraum mit Blick auf den Park
Cons: Eingangsbereich
Wir waren für eine Nacht im Leonardo. Der Service war in Ordnung. Leider war die Heizung im Zimmer sehr warm eingestellt und man hatte unser Doppelzimmer für eine Einzelperson hergerichtet, d.h. ein Satz Handtücher und nur eine Bettdecke. Die fehlende Bettdecke haben wir erst spät am Abend entdeckt. Aufgrund dieses Versehens wurden uns die Parkgebühren nicht berechnet. Zimmer und Frühstücksraum sind schön. Der Eingangsbereich und die Weihnachtsdeko könnten ein bisschen Auffrischung vertragen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Hotel Leonardo Royal am Stadtwald , Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Herr Norbert, wir bedanken uns recht herzlich für Ihren Aufenthalt in unserem Hause und das damit entgegengebrachte Vertrauen. Schön, dass Sie im Hause waren. Vielen Dank an dieser Stelle, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, Ihre Meinung abzugeben und die Punkte, die Ihnen nicht positive erschienen, offen und ehrlich anzusprechen, was uns sehr hilft, die Qualität unseres Hauses weiter zu verbessern. Wir würden uns über einen weiteren Besuch sehr freuen und wünschen Ihnen nun schöne Weihnachten und ein glückliches Jahr 2017! Mit herzlichen Grüßen aus Köln Hotel Leonardo Royal am Stadtwald Marielle Canders
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from MODENA, ITALY

RIUNIONE DI FAMIGLIA

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: LA POSIZIONE, LA PULIZIA E LA DISPONIBILITÀ' DEL PERSONALE
Cons: LE CAMERE SONO UN PO' PICCOLE E NON ADATTE A FAMIGLIE PERTANTO ABBIAMO PRESO DELLE DOPPIE E DISTRIBUITO I BAMBINI IN CAMERA ASSIEME AI PARENTI
Location: L'HOTEL HA UNA BUONA POSIZIONE VICINO AL PARCO E BEN SERVITO DAI MEZZI.
HO SOGGIORNATO PRESSO QUESTO HOTEL IN OCCASIONE DI UNA RIUNIONE DI FAMIGLIA PERTANTO CON BIMBI E NONNI AL SEGUITO. IL PREZZO DEL SOLO SOGGIORNO ACQUISTATO UNITAMENTE AL VOLO ED AL NOLEGGIO AUTO ERA OTTIMO, HO TROVATO MOLTO CARI I SERVIZI ACCESSORI DA ACQUISTARE A PARTE COME IL PARCHEGGIO ( € 15 AL GIORNO ) E LA COLAZIONE. NON ESSENDO ABITUATI A FARE COLAZIONI DI TIPO NORDICO CON UOVA, PANCETTA ECC ABBIAMO OPTATO PER FARE COLAZIONE PRESSO UNA BELLA CAFFETTERIA A 200 M DALL'HOTEL AD UNA FRAZIONE DEL COSTO CHE AVREMMO DOVUTO SOSTENERE IN HOTEL
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2016 by Marielle Canders, Hotel Leonardo Stadtwald , Hotel Management
Gentile Cliente, Vorremmo ringrazio molto per il vostro soggiorno nella nostra casa e per la fiducia che avete dimostrato in esso. Nizza, fatto che eri in casa e ti è piaciuto con noi. Quindi dobbiamo pagare per il parcheggio, tutto ciò che è il motivo per cui dobbiamo calcolare. Se prenotate la prima colazione direttamente all'arrivo, mettiamo in conto 15 euro, - a persona. Gli auguriamo un Buon Natale e un felice anno 2017