Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Mediocre hotel, too far from the city

Posted Dec 20, 2016
The hotel furnishing is dated, it needs renovation. The chair was dusty. We were given 4 paper cups (no glasses) for every night stay. The bathroom was not very clean either. It was a long walk to town every day. The only thing I liked was that the room was soundproof. If given a choice, I'd have chose another hotel closer to the scenic Cologne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Great location

Posted Dec 19, 2016
The hotel was great except for getting English tea so bring your own if you want a decent cup of tea. The only bad thing I've got to say is that we went out at 11 in morning to the Dom markets 10-15 mins walk caught bus to all other markets which is really easy to get around. Got back to hotel at 6pm to find our bedroom door open and beds had been made . Luckily none of our things Had been taken but because there are no safes in rooms we left money and passports etc in rooms so could of been worse. Hotel staff seemed shocked when I told them but I got no feedback to say it had been addressed Apart from that this hotel is great location next to a great Irish bar where we ended up every night
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Phoned to ask if could change dates, told not possible so lost all money , enough said
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Convenient and Comfortable

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Staff are efficient, professional and welcoming. Rooms are comfortable and the FREE minibar was a plus.
Location: In a quiet road but close to the city centre and all places of interest are within easy reach.
Have stayed in this hotel several times and never been disappointed. Next door is the best Irish bar in Cologne (Jameson's .........pub quiz/karaoke/speed dating) but you would never know as the soundproofing is excellent. The hotel has it's own underground car park which is very convenient as parking is not easy to find in the surrounding streets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Nice hotel close to shops and bars nice location

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Spent 3 days here hotel was very nice and clean and near everything you need only bugbear is no safe in the room's to put your money and passports in they are behind the reception desk which is not ideal if you want to put your iPad away or anything you want to use
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pontefract, UK

Decent Hotel, Walking Distance To Many of Cologne

Posted Feb 22, 2016
I was apprehensive of the distance from city centre, but after one walk of approx 15mins with carryall, I knew my way back and forth. It's a simple straight path and the location is awesome, food places in front and high street only 2 mins walk away. Staff was nice and allowed us to check in early at 1030. Room is clean and tidy, daily room service and even a pot of sweets on valentines day. Only thing I wasn't happy with was the issue with slow flow rate in bath plug hole. 1min into a shower and water is above my ankle. Complaint to the front desk on first day, told them I'm going out so please fix it. Nothing was done, came back day 2, second lot of staff knew of issue and will be fix. Still nothing. Right up to the last day, still not fixed. Not a manor issue but definitely gave me a bad impression to an overall great holiday and hotel for location, comfort and rest. Would visit again, but ensure they fix it on day one and not get the fob around from different shift staff. Oh and the Japanese across the road, all you can eat is a grwat place to dine when you cannot be bothered to head too far out. Dwlicious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice located hotel but very small bathroom.

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Very nice hotel. Well located, very polite staff. Clean rooms but very small bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

mixed up with another mercure on severignstrasse

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: proximity to the dome - 10 min walk
Cons: since check in is at 3 PM, it would be nice to have a place to change or even take a shower for long flighters...
Location: brazilian restaurant was good
never stayed at this place before - got a room overlooking the back yard - have to walk throught an open air landing to go to breakfast. room is smaller than usual. staff is friendly. chefs regularly coming out to check on the food - all is decent - some uniforms have seen better times...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, nice staff, a little noisy at the weekend.

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Well located, 15 mins walk to the cathedral. Expect a bit of noise at weekends, the sound proofing is good but located on party street. Ideal for a midweek stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turkey

Nice hotel is with very clean rooms

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms and comfortable bed
Nice hotel is the center of Cologne and have very friendly staff.