Ratings based on 935 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not a 4 star hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Nice lobby, bar an restaurant. The breakfast was tasty and with a good choice. Good wi-fi connection.
Location: The hotel is located by a busy road just next to Severinstrasse U-Bhan stop. It takes around 15 minutes walk to the cathedral.
We arrived at the hotel quite early and was able to check in straight away which was very nice. Gentleman at the reception was also kind enough to swap our room from king to twin beds. Unfortunately the room was definitely not up to a 4* standard. First of all it smelled badly from the bathroom drains. Secondly it had visible mould on the silicone seal around the bath. And finally the decoration dates back to the 1990's. After the early check in and room swap we didn't want to bother the reception with additional complaints however the room should not be sold to anyone as a 4 star accommodation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by 1206, Hotel Management
Dear Mercure guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City, we appreciate the time you have taken to write us. Your comments are a great help to improve our service and quality and meet our customers’ expectations. We sincerely regret that you have not been satisfied with your stay in our hotel particulary with our twin rooms. Please apologize all inconvenience we cause to you. We hope that we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel and convince you of the quality of our service. With best regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City
5 out of 5
by Eva

Lovely - would definitely stay again.

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were incredible - so lovely and really help (especially when I lost my passport and the lovely lady at reception called the airport for me!)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by H1206, Hotel Management
Dear Eva, Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We looking forward of welcoming you soon again. Kind regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Good quality hotel.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Modern clean rooms.
Location: It's more on the edge of the town centre. But you can walk to most places fairly easily. If walking isn't an option then taxis or ubahn are available.
The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the main train station. Fairly straightforward to find. Check in was easy enough. Rooms are clean tidy and comfortable. I'd definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by 1206, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased that your stay had been to your satisfaction and have forwarded your comments to our team. Kind regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Magdy

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
amazing
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Magdy, Thank you very much for your feedback. We looking forward of welcoming you soon again. With kind regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City
4 out of 5
by Frank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel nice, staff very helpful, markets 20min away

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
We were from |Ireland, english speaking but found very little information in english at train stations or subways as regards what platforms or trains to take, as at the information desks you were given time tables for which we did not understand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Ebookers
A fantastic base to explore the city. Everywhere was within walking distance of the hotel, with underground station outside the front door. Friendly, helpful staff and lovely room. A very enjoyable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by 1206, Hotel Management
Dear Mercure guest, Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding you stay at our hotel. We hope that we soon have the opportunity of welcoming you again at our hotel. With best regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, nice Digs!

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel, friendly staff and a great central location to walk into Köln
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mercure guest, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We are very pleased that your stay had been to your satisfaction and have forwarded your comments to our team. We hope that we soon have the opportunity of welcoming you again at our hotel. With best regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK Essex

Excellent hotel near to all amenities

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: The hotel is next to a train line that makes travel over Cologne easy, there are local shops in walking distance as well as other close attractions
Cons: If I had to moan it would be nice to have pillow selections as the ones on the bed are synthetic and flat
Location: Great location in walking distance to the Chocolate Museum and other attractions, if you wanted you can walk to the Dom in half a hour
We stayed here to visit the Christmas markets in Cologne, we stayed in one of the premier rooms which featured a balcony and a great view of the city, we were overlooking one of the train lines but at no point did this bother us with noise as the rooms were properly double glazed and sealed up well, Breakfast is buffet style and has the normal continental selection, there was a guy who would cook fresh eggs omelettes etc on demand, and the whole area was kept clean and tidy, All the staff are extremely friendly and efficient offering Help advice directions maps etc even room cleaning staff would greet you with a cheery "good morning"
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by H1206, Hotel Management
Dear Tristan, thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased that your stay had been to your satisfaction and have forwarded your comments to our team. We hope that we soon have the opportunity of welcoming you again at our hotel. With best regards, your team from Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City