Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Terrible

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: There is nothing positive I can say about this hotel
Cons: Price performance ration extremely bad, hotel fee is an impudence
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iran

Close to almost everything!

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanness. The breakfast was also good. There were lots of restaurants around the hotel.
Cons: The shower in the room can be cleaner.
Location: - Going to the cathedral, bars, restaurants and ferries - It was close to the main train station and starting point of "hop on hop off" bus
The hotel is located in front of the river, 3 minute walk from st. Martin church. It is pretty close to the cathedral and the main train station. In front of the hotel, there was a free WiFi zone that I could use by sitting close to the window. The toilet was shared but it was super clean. The room was clean, but the shower was an old-fashioned but clean and good. The hotel breakfast was really good. Because, there were lots of bars around the hotel, I could hear the sound of people in front of the window of my room. But it was not too loud to annoy me. After midnight, it was dead silent. For the price that I paid, it was really great. If they don't increase the fee, I recommend it and I will be there, next time. :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne

Cologne 2016

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is in a great location on the banks of the Rhine. It's surrounded by bars and restaurants and not far from the old city centre. There's a lot of street music and performing and Papa Joe's bar for some jazz and blues every evening.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wash. DC

My fight for a full or partial refund continues!

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
I traveled from Berlin to Koln for one event, and this hotel's plumbing made me miss it. I chose itl because of the cost for a room with an en suite shower. But, on a hot summer day like it was, cold water is a necessity but it didn’t work longer than 30 seconds. Even on the coldest winter day, I couldn't use that shower because the water temperature. I complained. The front desk guy adjusted knobs under the bathroom sink which I didn’t understand but he claimed he helped. I told him that I do not think his adjustment helped, so he said that he'd have the workers fix it in the morning because it's due to the expansion one floor beneath and he left. The interaction took no more than 2 minutes, and he couldn't leave fast enough. The next morning there was no change, nothing had been fixed. Being the naive tourist that I apparently was, I went to check-out and I explained the entire situation to the same front desk guy, and asked for a refund of a portion, if not all of my payment. Oh, I should add here that they strongly urge guests to pay their bill at least the evening prior to departure. Now, I know why. It's a scam. The guy said that his system was not able to provide refunds. RIDICULOUS! It is 2016. Figure it out. I asked for cash and a receipt and he said no. He also blamed me for not asking for a new room the previous day, which I should have done but knowing he had rooms available, he didn't offer that to me so I guess shame on both of us.
2 out of 5
by william from Boston

Stay somewhere else if you can

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
An outdated,cramped hotel. Great location but uncomfortable. Just a little bit better than a dive.
4 out of 5
by William from Toronto, Ontario, canada

Great view

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Super location. Parking nearby at 8 euros / day. Walking distance of dome. Paid for wifi but a waste of money. Went to McDonald for wifi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel in old town

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Excellent location,Shared toilet not connected to room. Less than shiny staff. worn out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kolkata

Nice location, just beside the rhein

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Location, on the banks of rhein.
Cons: Wifi should be free! Thats a given these days.
Location: Cologne church.
The location is a wow! Situated just on the banks of Rhein, you can go for a stroll anytime. The streetside bar of the hotel is decent & you can just sit there & watch the world go by after a busy day. Breakfast is also decent. The cologne church & train station is also close by & overall a good place to explore around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Outstanding location at great price. Happily use it again Cool restaurant