Ratings based on 763 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by June from United States

Enjoyed our visit

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Room was very clean. Easy walk to Dom and shopping. Very friendly staff. Wifi did not always work. Breakfast was fine, not great. Would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL, USA

Effective price ~25% higher than Expedia price

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: My initial price/location combination perception before actually arriving.
Cons: 1 - The Expedia price is the final price. No hidden taxes or fees - especially in cash. 2 - More transparent info about parking costs on Expedia
Location: At the northern edge of the old town area. Based on a main traffic artery. Close to all Old Town sites, museums, cathedral, train station
WARNING - If you are a tourist they will charge you 5% CASH additional for the city tax. The Expedia price is NOT the total price. Add in the fact that you will be using an ATM machine to get your cash and the actual tax for foreigners will cost you 7 - 8% of your stay. HUGE DISSATISFIER. Even worse, the hotel staff tried to tell me that I had no right to be upset because they told me on check-in about the tax - as if I had any option at that point. She even had the gall to tell me that Cologne forced the hotel to collect the tax in cash which is a lie. This hotel CHOOSES to add the tax in cash so that they don't have to pay the VISA fee on the whole amount. Despicable. Huge disappointment #1 Huge disappointment #2 - a very large group of young adults arrived late on Friday night and were very loud until about 4 a.m. Hotel staff allowed this behavior to happen without any apparent reaction. Upon discussing the issue with reception staff the next morning I received excuses and a bit of argument rather than an immediate apology and pledge to rectify the situation the next night. Moderate disappointment - punitive parking costs of 18 euro per day OK items - location is about a 5 minute walk to the Cathedral area and train station. The breakfast buffet was small but had all I needed and wanted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from middle east -west bank

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: hospitality , breakfast food..they are providing coffee all the times .. hotel down town and close for every things .. excellent staff
Cons: nothing
Location: close to every things it's in the down town ..
I spent 5 nights at the hotel it was more than excellent in all meaning .. Staff their can specks multi languages ...this make communications so easy .. i like the breakfast too real it's as mentioned in their website buffet ..and they are providing good foods and allot of drinks .. ..many types of drinks hot and cold ... the price it's acceptable comparing with other hotels in the down town of cologne .. it's very close to every things in the down town .. i recommend every one to go their ..and the will be not feel sorry
4 out of 5
by Dong

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooddddd
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A reasonable place to lay your head

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Stay here regularly - basic but clean and friendly. Can be a little noisy if the window is open.
5 out of 5
by Victoria

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel - well placed to enjoy the Christmas markets. Quiet location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Good Location

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Old hotel. First floor renovated the rest no in good condition. Shower terrible condition
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy to Dom and station.

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Room was a bit dated but ensuite was nicely renovated. Staff were helpful and buffet breakfast was very nice.