Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Business trip

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: My room.
Cons: Yes, it needs a real renovation when it comes to breakfast area.
Location: Location is great. Everything is super close.
The hotel is in a perfect location. You can walk almost everywhere if you want to stay in the city. I stayed for two nights and every morning someone was trying to get to my room the first morning it was technical guys and the second it was cleaners at 8am. I complained about the first night and another morning I had the cleaners. I feel like they are a bit disorganized. Also there is a weird smell in the hallway. I visited this hotel because I was at a fair and the prices were far too high for what you get but I guess it's a normal price during this busy time in Cologne. Would I come back? Probably no. The room was clear and comfortable but not very warm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malmesbury

Good hotel, great staff

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Went during the fair on business. So room was not great value - but better than others. What made my stay was the reception team were excellent. They helped me sort many issues - taxis , shopping and restaurant bookings etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel, centrally located

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Location; Employee friendliness.
Location: A 2-minute walk from Friesenplatz U-Bahn station. Close to dozens of restaurants and bars.
The hotel is in a great location, near Friesenplatz, and close to dozens of restaurants and bars. Great night life in the surrounding area. A 2-minute walk from the Friesenplatz U-Bahn, which is directly connected to HBF (Central Station) by U-Line 5. The hotel looks grand from the outside. The room was a bit small but I guess that's standard for most European hotels. The front desk personnel were nice and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
It was so so. Very friendly reception. But the cable connecting to TV was not connected so no TV signal. The receptionist said to wait until the next day for technician to fix it. But my stay was for only one night. My room was facing street so very noisy with the the bars open until 3-4am in the morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place is extremely dated and over priced.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly enough and the location is central.
Cons: The rooms are very dated and nothing like in the photos show. Terrible value for what is effectively a 2 star hotel at best. It just felt old and miserable.
Location: Good location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced, poor service, good location

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Not worth what they charge at all. the room was on a main roads with lots of clubs so noisy all the time. The room wasn't clean, there were blobs of dried food on the coffee table. They gave you one super thin pillow, mine had a mysterious stain on. The downstairs lobby was decorated nicely but the room felt shabby, lots of random holes in the walls. They didn't replace towels/toilet roll we had to keep calling to ask. There was a guy at reception who just wasn't very friendly he just gave us our keys and pointed no offer of a map or wifi or info on breakfast etc. Location was good for getting round but is definitely stay somewhere else in that area next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GB

close to central station

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Friendly staff. This hotel is very accessible to shops and underground station.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine hotel but light sleepers beware of sirens

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
There is a night club directly across the street. Depending on the luck of the draw, you might be awoken by police or ambulance vehicles (with their siren) coming to the night club at 3AM. Otherwise this is a fine hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington, Ont, Canada

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed it the first night, we stayed another. 1 klm to older part of town. lots of restaurants, close to the bus and train. Quiet at night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cologne

About 20 min walk to the cathedral .

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Rooms were a good size, rooms were clean hotel staff were very helpful . Breakfast was nice . There were lots of choice. Would stay there again .