Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Well located hotel on Galle Face

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location, Rooms, Pool
Cons: Poolside Service
Location: Old dutch hospital
Despite its age this is a great hotel, only really let down by poolside service. Rooms are comfortable, breakfast is excellent, and everything is as you would expect from a Taj Hotel.Its close enough to the Old dutch hospital to walk there. We had a sea view room and it was large and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Fahad

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
I came to taj hotel samadra to hanymooner the service wat very good and the hotel is very very good I like the friendly staff but in one day in my room Cockroach that it I like the clean room
4 out of 5
by Faiz

could be better!

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
some teething trouble.. not taj 5 star standard
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Taj Samudra

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel rooms and bathrooms badly needs some renovation and very poor housekeeping services. The bathroom had stains in the toilet seat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Truro UK

Beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Could be a lot cleaner....it's what I do for a job so I am extra picky. Back of bathroom door was mucky and seal around shower glass panels dirty. Lovely staff and beautiful reception areas. Food good and everyone should try the high tea.
5 out of 5
by daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
The Taj Club product is the jewel of this property.
3 out of 5
by Tor

Good hotel with need for some refurbishment

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Nice and friendly personnel, nice reseption area, but the upper floors and rooms were in need for refurbishment. Good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property..

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Overall it was a nice experience .. though one thing which I didn't like was the hotel transport which we booked from the hotel for Kandy took us to all the places enroute to get fleeced by shops.. one of them was a spice garden where the sold us fake products on exhorbitant prices .. I think the hotel staff is hand in glove with these organisations..
5 out of 5
by Thivagar

Amazing breakfast, authentic feel

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel with an authentic feel and relaxed atmosphere. One of the best breakfasts we have ever had with a variety of food from different corners of the world. Can taste local cuisines such as dosa and hoppers for breakfast. The gym is well equipped and pool is lovely. The view from our balcony was spectacular with ocean views. Pure comfort and luxury.