Ratings based on 825 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from h

Sultry musty rooms. Wet carpet. Not well maintaind

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Rooms were damp, not cleaned. Pillows had spit stains on them. Continental breakfast was a waffle maker and a bowl of fruit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Rachele, Hotel Management
Looks like we dropped the ball on cleanliness issues in your room. I will let housekeeping know, so they can retrain staff in the areas they are lacking. Hope that you will give us another chance in the future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Very friendly and nice location Stop asking me to add to my comments
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Rachele Wilkinson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will pass this along to all my staff!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from smith

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Old. Hair on the sheets. Needs updating. Would not stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Rachele , Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear you had issues during your stay. I would love to discuss the situation, and find out the room you were in, so we can do some retraining with that room attendant. If you could give the hotel a call, that would be great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Room was very small. Location was good but the hotel building was very old. Breakfast was basic. We booked for 3 nights but decided to cut short to one night and moved to another hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location. However, we apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced with our breakfast and overall hotel. We will use your feedback to improve our processes and encourage you to experience our improvements upon your next visit to the area. Respectfully, Lacey
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Braunfels, TX

Ok rooms, nice staff

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Dirty carpets, little smoky smell due to sharing wall with smokers. Beds are well used but OK. Staff is very nice and helpful. Bed cover had muddy dog prints at check in. They rushed up a new cover. Breakfast is OK- waffles, muffins, fruit and yogurt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Rachele, Hotel Management
Glad to hear you enjoyed our staff, but it looks like we dropped the ball on the cleanliness of your room. I would love to know which room you were in, so I can make sure these issues were fixed. Please give the hotel a call, so we can discuss the situation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Great room and location- beds were very comfy after a long day of sightseeing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Rachele, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. Looks like you enjoyed your stay!! Glad we were able to help you sit back and relax, after your long day seeing the town!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel that needs updating

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Staff was nice. Property was old and run down. Outdoor entry into rooms, broken beer bottles and dirty outside entry.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Brandi, Hotel Management
I am glad to hear that our staff was friendly towards you! I do apologize for our property not meeting your expectations. We are working on trying to get a renovation in the future. As for the beer bottles, we will definitely do a walk around to get all of them picked up. I will pass this along to our corporate office. Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. It is your feedback that will help improve our property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Clean and spacious. Close to attractions.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Easy access to attractions and routes. Very quiet and good breakfast. Needed to replenish breakfast items a little more often.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Rachele Wilkinson, Hotel Management
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Being right in the middle of town makes it wonderful to visit all of our attractions. I will speak to my breakfast staff about the restocking issue, to ensure they putting enough food out for everyone. Thank you for the review! We hope to see you next time you are traveling to the Springs!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Would not stay here again

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Arrived at the hotel and the restroom was not working properly. Was easily re-accommodated to another room. Staff was friendly but rooms are outdated, smell musty, and are not clean. I think there are better options for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by LQ Customer Care , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and have concerns about our housekeeping standards. We are very sorry for this experience and want to assure you that the Hotel Management Team will be working with our housekeeping staff to prevent any issues in the future. We hope you will consider staying with us again. Sincerely, Danielle
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
We did not stay here; the area was sketchy and our rooms (we booked 2) smelled like cat pee. Unkept.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Rachele, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear you had an issue in your room. I will remind our housekeeper, to make sure they are adding work orders to rooms like this, so we do not rent them until they are fixed. Thank you for your response, so we are able to improve our operations.