Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Hidden Gem

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Perfect location. (Literally) Deep bathtub! Fantastic house (old Victorian). Arlene was great host with great historical knowledge. We will definitely return...won't even consider an alternative. Thank you Arlene!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Arlene Lanman, Owner & Innkeeper Spurs n Lace Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback. We strive to make every guest visit to be a pleasant one and we respond to all feedback to make our B&B the best in the area. We look forward to a return visit when your travels bring you to Colorado Springs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Location in Colorado Springs Area.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Updating and continued remodeling.
Location: Close to great restaurants and within walking of Old Colorado City shops. Near Manitou Springs, Garden of the Gods and the Pikes Peak Cog Train.
The Spurs N Lace Bed and Breakfast is in an old (1885) Victorian that has been remodeled into a B&B. It is located in Old Colorado City, close to Manitou Springs, Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak Cogtrain, etc. It is a wonderful location. The Innkeeper grew up in the area and has a great deal of knowledge of the house and the area. The breakfast was good, and the guests enjoyed visiting and sharing both stories of their lives, as well as the locations they have visited in Colorado. My room was on the second floor (no elevator) with a 4-poster bed and attached bath. The space does need some updating (baseboard missing in bathroom, missing cover on ceiling vent, etc.). There was no hair dryer in the room which was a nuisance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Arlene Lanman, Owner & Innkeeper Spurs n Lace Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback. We strive to make every guest visit to be a pleasant one and we respond to all feedback to make our B&B the best in the area. We have, today, installed new baseboard in the bathroom (have been awaiting the custom cutting blades for the milling machine to replicate the baseboard molding) and have installed the missing cover on the bathroom exhaust fan. Thank you for reminding us of this maintenance need. We look forward to a return visit when your travels bring you to Colorado Springs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
Bit of the past. Wonderful host. Room too small for 2 6 footers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Arlene Lanman, Owner & Innkeeper Spurs n Lace Inn, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you were happy with your stay! We love hearing back from guests and strive to make it the best stay possible. We do apologize about the room size, and we are doing the best we can to accommodate our guests. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate that you took time out of your day to leave us a review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WY

A good location relative to Old Town

Posted May 11, 2017
This nicely kept up Victorian is within easy walking distance of good places to eat and interesting "shops" in the Old Town section of Colorado Springs, and just minutes by car from Manitou Springs. The breakfast was good, the room nice and comfortable, and the decor entertaining. The proprietor can best be described as a "performance artist", and I mean that in a good way.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Arlene Lanman, Owner & Innkeeper Spurs n Lace Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We try hard to have satisfied guests and look forward to receiving reviews, since it is through review,s such as your,s that we can work toward being the very best B&B in colorado Springs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
good location.......................................
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Arlene Lanman, Owner & Innkeeper Spurs n Lace Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We try hard to have satisfied guests and look forward to receiving reviews, since it is through review,s such as your,s that we can work toward being the very best B&B in colorado Springs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Convenient, quiet, comfortable

Posted Apr 24, 2017
We stayed in the sunflower room. The room had everything we needed, a heater, a/c, extra pillows, blankets, nice body wash all in the room. The house was within walking distance of really great Italian restaurants and neat artsy stores. Parking was close and the bed was sturdy. Thanks for the great escape!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Arlene Lanman, Owner & Innkeeper, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. All feedback is given discerning consideration since it is through feedback, such as yours, that we can analyze guests needs and make improvements in our service. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Noisy Bed & Breakfast

Posted Mar 27, 2017
It was very noisy, could hear what everyone was doing in there rooms. A couple of guest were up early and eating breakfast in the dinner with no care to the nosy level for others sleeping. The breakfast that was served everyday was the same no variety given. For the morning of our 3rd stay (4 nights & 3 days) went found restaurants so that I could have a breakfast I was able to eat and my husband have something else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Arlene Lanman, Owner & Innkeeper Spurs n Lace, Hotel Management
We are sorry that we disappointed you. Maybe you had special needs for breakfast that were not readily made known to us. Breakfasts are the same style with different ingredients; we have had rave comments concerning the delicious breakfasts; we would appreciate receiving specific concerns. We try to meet all of our guests needs, but we did not, apparently, meet yours. We will study your comments very carefully and, from them, be able to meet and exceed our consistent rating of 4.5. Arlene Lanman Owner & Innkeeper Spurs n Lace Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver

Quaint old Victorian in great location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing really- maybe different pillows and better mattress but everyone sleeps differently.
Location: See above
We stayed here for a night over Valentines weekend. The location is great right there in Old Colorado City. Quick trip to Manitou or Colorado Springs. The Innkeeper is very knowledgeable about the area and very prompt and friendly. The breakfast was good and home made. Given that this is an old Victorian you hear ALL the water pipes and creaks and other guests moving around. The room below us has a sliding door so we kept hearing it opening and closing at all hours. I did not find the bed terribly comfortable but the room was fine. Nice location and nice host but not necessarily the place for a peace and quiet during sleeping hours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Arlene Lanman, Owner & Innkeeper Spurs n Lace Inn, Hotel Management
We are sorry that our firm beds did not meet your comfort requirements. We will inspect the pillows in the room you reserved; perhaps, they need to be changed more frequently - they were replaced four months ago. We appreciate your feedback and we will strive to lean from them to make improvements needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Excellent B&B !

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere, the history and the host.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots of great restaurants and sites in Manitou Springs
The place is victorian and filled with colorado history. It is cozy and a wonderful romantic retreat. But, best of all, the owner is sweet, cooks an amazing breakfast and is a fountain of historic knowledge and stories. She even demonstrates her early century record player. She is charming, and tells great stories. Loved are second stay there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great location and fun experience

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Enjoyed the bed and breakfast because it is a different experience from a typical hotel stay.
Location: Great location to downtown area shops and restaurants. Garden of the Gods is 2-3 miles away. Easy to get around.
Very welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Room was comfortable with private bath and small sitting area. Breakfast was very enjoyable. There was no sitting room/community room/library area outside of the bedroom other than the dining room. Very close to Garden of the Gods, downtown shops, restaurants, etc. Would definitely stay here again if in the area and would recommend to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Arlene Lanman, Owner & Innkeeper, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We try very hard to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Old Colorado City/Colorado Springs.