Ratings based on 5,074 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel with Great Location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
My wife and I stayed at the Academy for our anniversary and were highly impressed. We got a great rate of around $75 per night and couldn't be happier with our stay. The lobby was beautiful with a very nice pool and lounge area. The food was excellent as well. We ate supper at the hotel three times throughout our stay. Our room was nice and very clean. The staff were very friendly and professional as well. The location was great as there were a multitude of restaurants and stores very close. The hotel was also approximately 15-30 minutes from all the attractions we wanted to see such as Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, Seven Falls and so forth. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Rooms not as advertised

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The beds and the breakfast
Cons: This hotel could use a face lift. Some facilities are old while others seem new. This isn't a fancy hotel but the face lift sure could help.
Location: Garden of the gods, Red Rock Canyon, Pike's Peak, Cave of the Wind, Manitou Cliff Dwellings
The rooms at the Academy Hotel are not as the website advertised. The pictures show a large room. The room isn't actually that large. The room is also outdated. Management has made several attempts at upgrading (i.e. proximity cards to access the doors and lots of places to plug things in. However, the coffee pot was old and should have been cleaned long ago. It left stuff floating in my wife's tea and coffee. The bathroom shower was o.k. but the old fashion mirror extension and place to put old razor blades really dated this place. There are some bright sides. The staff was always very friendly and accommodating. The beds are comfortable which is hard to find in a place most of the time. The breakfast was great. We stayed in a much nicer facility one night after staying in the Academy and that breakfast was terrible. The breakfast area and the rest of the open pool, lounge, lobby is really done up right. We would stay here again if we ever visited Colorado Springs again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Comfortable hotel with friendly staff

Posted Apr 27, 2017
We spent one night on a business trip. The hotel was a bit dated but very comfortable with memory foam mattresses and great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from co

Not bad for the price

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Breakfast was good 👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Colorado Springs best kept secret

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The Academy Hotel was convienient, quiet, clean, and comfortable. DIRECTV was standard with outstanding reception. The bed was unbelievable comfortable and had great pillows. The breakfast buffet was something you would expect to see in Las Vegas, with a great selection of anything you would want. The Chef making custom omelettes made a perfect concoction of my selected ingredients cooked perfectly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Clean and comfortable place to stay. The room is big enough for one family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Antonio TX

AWESOME HOTEL

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: I LIKED EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS HOTEL!
Location: The location is awesome! We are right by the Air force training camp so you get to see all the plains fly by! It's not noisy by the way.
I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The location is awesome, the staff is always happy and in a good mood, the breakfast is delicious, it's always clean, the maintenance is well kept up with and the room was very nice. If we ever visit Colorado Springs again, this is the hotel we will be staying at. The price was awesome as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to ANYONE!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, free breakfast is great

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The room was nice and comfortable, the breakfast was amazing with an omelet bar and waffle station. The lobby was beautiful. The room is clean when you arrive but if you stay more then one night then the housekeeping is minimal but overall it was a great place to stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok hotel but in need of updating in rooms.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
The room was recently painted and had an odor of paint. The air/heat system was loud. The shower needs more power. The housekeeping of my room was poor - I stayed 3 nights and the only things that was done was bed made (sheets never changed), towel replacement, and trash cans dumped. There was no additional cleaning of bathroom or room. Supplies were not even replaced (shampoo, conditioner and bath wash). The front desk staff was polite and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co.

Awesome pool hours!!

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Nice hotel.Pool in front lobby a bit strange. But once in it was very nice and did feel isolated, not like in the middle of lobby. Pool hours were PERFECT!!!!