Ratings based on 954 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit MI

Perfect location

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff from the doormen to desk clerks/Manager to housekeeping staff and breakfast buffet staff were all very helpful, courteous and gracious.
Cons: Nothing
Location: See above
Within easy walking distance to the Metro AND the Colleseum!!!! Nearby cafes , shopping areas etc made it so easy to quickly acclimate to the sights and sounds of Rome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Close to the coliseum and the attractions.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Clean room and good location. For a four star the customer service could have been a lot better. No irons are allowed in the hotel and they'll ask you to pay for your items to be dry cleaned. Dry cleaning has to be given between 9-3 so if you're thinking about going out in the evening and remember your dress or shirt needs ironing, you've got no chance. Also I forgot my apple USB socket, so thinking I could borrow one I was told to go to a shop and buy one instead. I've stayed at 2* and 3* hotels and all have been accommodating in letting me borrow one, at least until the next day. Customer service is not fantastic. We asked to check in early when booking the hotel and then I emailed them too. Fortunately we decided to grab something to eat and take our time to get to the hotel. We arrived at 2:00 and we're still made to wait 30 minutes for our room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Am not gonna do it again

Posted Jul 7, 2017
When i came to check in to the hotel the front desk guy told me I have to charge you €20 more Euro a day for your wife because when you book the hotel online you only booked for one Gest and you are two i was surprised I told him you i booked for one Gest by mistake but we are two me and my wife and i got the queen bed so i didn't asked you for extra bed or something he was like ummm i have to charge you the € 20 for two days my wife got mad and she said let's cancel the reservation i asked him if i can do it he said no i will change you the full amount I was really depressed an the he changed me the €20 a day and i accepted better than i get the full amount... And the the customer service was 0 of 10 the waters are very rude if i ask for something they don't pay attention and the don't do it i asked for extra shampoo they told me this is all we got for you in a very unrespectful way all the front desk guys are very proud and tough and hard to talk with and not helpful at all i don't recommend the hotel in what do ever you will ripped off
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Nice lobby, dated rooms view wasnt too bad from the room. Two showers, one was a trickle other fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Lovely hotel, great location

Posted May 26, 2017
It was our second stay at the Palatino and it didn't disappoint. Great central location for exploring the sites with plenty of cafés, bars and restaurants nearby. The room was comfortable, clean and cool, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Amazing breakfast buffet too! Couldn't fault it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Posted May 18, 2017
Modern, comfortable hotel. Modern showers, great air conditioning. Front desk helped with taxis and transfers, plus printed out passes for me as I don't travel with a printer! They seemed to remember us and our questions even though it is a large hotel. Convenient to colosseum and metro
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
Best breakfast in town. Only negative was pillows hard as rocks, staff were excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rome

Well positioned for all the tourist spots

Posted May 9, 2017
First night our room was not available, which was very disappointing having booked in October!!!! However they had arranged alternative accommodation at the Forum which was excellent and we were upgraded to a Suite for the 2 nights we returned on Excellent accommodation, not a hotel if you want character but modern decor is very pleasing, rooms are very high standard and staff very accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paphos, Cyprus

Great location for visiting the sights.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: All the above comments and their hotel web site to reflect what you will actually get. We did not consider this to be a 4 star hotel.
Location: There are a lot of sights to see within walking distance of the hotel even the Vatican if you have a good pair of legs.
We arrived at 10 but the room was not ready until after 2 and only after a lot of requesting. There was not a hook anywhere in the room to hang things. No chinaware or glasses in the room and when asked for were supplied with paper cups. Plastic cups were provided in the bathroom. No slippers provided. Coffee, tea and sugar not topped up each day. No milk power or capsules. Lack of English TV channels and no Sky as advertised. No alcohol in mini bar No room service menu. Breakfast buffet was excellent for most tastes but dinner menu was limited. Bathroom cleaning was sub standard and toiletries were not resupplied.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Not sure how it attained a 4 star rating, more like a three