Ratings based on 1,745 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

47 Hotel in Old Rome

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Everything, The amenities are great.
Location: The best location of any hotel. Between the Capitoline Hill and Palatine Hill. Wow.
This hotel is amazing. Can't the location. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They booked a local tour for us in their native tongue. The roof top restaurant is incredible with great service and view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, oregon

Beautiful Hotel on river near historical sections.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Wonderful layout with Excellent service! Beautiful Hotel with historical touches to it!
Cons: Better room service.
Location: Lots to do nearby and lots of restaurants and shops!
Wonderful restaurants near by and a lot of activities and things to do!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear Elizabeth, thank you for sharing this lovely review with us! We are thrilled to read that you liked the style of the hotel and enjoyed an excellent service! We will work on the room service, thank you for letting us know! Hoping to welcome you again, we send you our best wishes. Danielle Mello
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange,Ca

Great location

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Clean, good location, on a busy street with many restaurants and cultural site within walking distance.
Cons: Front desk service was inconsistent. One person at front desk seemed too busy to help hotel guests at times.
Location: Great location for tourists. Colosseum and many cultural sites are close. The max train station is close. Restaurants are close
Good location near colosseum, and many cultural buildings. Close to restaurants and the max underground train. 15-30 minute walk to most anything or if you do not want to walk a 5-10 minute cab ride
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our great location! We will take into consideration your feedback about the reception and hope to welcome you again soon. best regards, Danielle Mello
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great hotel, great location - loved the staff

Posted Aug 27, 2017
We just arrived home today from a 7 day stay at Hotel Fortyseven - it was a wonderful trip and this hotel was perfect for us. We could walk everywhere, the room was spacious, the free breakfast was great, they have an outdoor patio that is a nice little place to relax and enjoy breakfast or just unwind after a long day... but my personal favorite was the rooftop bar and restaurant. It was amazing!! And the staff could not have been nicer... they were so helpful and accommodating with everything that we needed. I'm a picky traveler with high expectations and I give this place a 10 out of 10 on everything. We'll definitely be back. P.S., they're extremely family friendly if you're looking for a place to stay with children. They would get our picky 3 year old a plate of fresh fruit every evening before we'd head out for dinner. I didn't see a lot of other children around, but we never once felt out of place with our son.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear Erica, Wow! What an amazing review! Thank you immensely for sharing this with us! We truly hope you and your family will be back soon and we look forward to welcoming you again! warm regards from all of us! Danielle Mello
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Amazing ! Great location and great staff, thoroughly enjoyed stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by 47, Hotel Management
Thank you very much! We will be happy to welcome you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great price and location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This was the perfect hotel to be close to the collesium. Very clean and large rooms. Definitely would stay again next time I'm in Rome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you so much for this lovely review! We certainly hope to welcome you again soon! best regards, Danielle Mello
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Excellent Hotel in a Excellent Location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing at all during our stay
Location: The location is excellent we walked throughout Rome to all of the sights. We literally only had to get a taxi from and to the airport.
We stayed at this Hotel for three nights and it is in a perfect location, it is in walking distance to pretty much everything. We didn't have to use a taxi once. The hotel itself is great, big and clean rooms and the staff are excellent from the initial check in process to the final check out process. We did not have any issues at all during our stay and it was during a very busy month for tourists.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear Julian, thank you so much for taking the time to share this review with us! We are very happy to read that everything was perfect for you and that you appreciated our great location! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! best regards, Danielle Mello
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fermanagh

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Location was quiet and rooms great. Staff unbelievably helpful and friendly.
Cons: Tea/Coffee in room. I read all rooms had such facility after criticism, but ours didn't. Courtyard where snacks/drinks could be provided during day
Location: Very good location with Coliseum close by. Close to hop-on/off bus stop
Great location, excellent staff. Can't fault either, especially the staff. Really only for travellers without care about a budget as food and drinks very expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear Andy, thank you for your lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed our hotel, the services and our great location! All rooms from the category Executive and up have coffee and tea facilities. We are implementing kettles for tea in the Classic rooms too, so hopefully soon all rooms will have tea facilities. best regards, Danielle Mello
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Total disappointment

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Cons: Customer service and attentiveness to special needs and circumstances of ALL people
We stayed here 5 years ago and were so impressed with the service that we even sent an email to the general manager shouting out the 2 people who gone out of their way to help. What a difference 5 years makes. One of the previous people was promoted to manager and what a turnaround in her lack of wanting to help and assist to the point where we checked out within 3 hours of checking in, never even entering the room, losing our prepaid reservation. They advertise being close to the Jewish Ghetto and are fully aware of restrictions on Sabbath observers. Despite that, they absolutely refused to accommodate the most basic requests that in many hotels all over the world are accommodated. Instead, they offered that for over 200 euro, we can pay someone to do what the hotel could easily have done. Despite trying to work with them and explain the most basic of what we needed (to be accompanied to our first floor room by a hotel employee at their leisure) they refused. Unwilling to compromise on our religious principles, we had no choice but to leave. Alina was indifferent and aloof, a very different personality than the one I remember from 5 years ago. What a shame
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I was informed about what happened and was expecting to read a review. Please let me add that yes, we are near the Ghetto and yes we do know about the needs and restrictions for the Sabbath observant guests, but we NEVER advertised ourselves as a hotel for Sabbath observant guests as some hotels do with Sabbath friendly services etc. All guests are welcomed equally here at Hotel Fortyseven and we try to accommodate all of their needs but we have to think about our other guests too. Your requests were the following: 1. that the light of the whole 1st floor was turned off, and this is something we cannot do because it would not be fair to the other guests and besides it is not possible for security reasons. 2. assistance opening electronic-key rooms and we gave you the metallic keys to solve this request. 3. “Shabbos Goy” services and staff availability to assist with lights and elevators as many times as needed. We asked for a 50 euro supplement for Sabbath assistance (for a personal assistant for 4 hours) because we need to have someone always available for your needs, and I am sure that you will agree that in any hotel if you ask for a personal assistant or butler there will be a supplement request. Nobody will work for free and as you yourself stated, you can pay someone to do that but you will not find someone that works for less than 12 euros per hour, at least not in Europe. Alina is as accommodating as ever, but you and your group decided not to accept the supplement request and chose to check-out. It is in your right of course but we believe that we offered a fair solution in any case, actually the majority of our Sabbath observant guests are very happy and grateful that we offer this kind of solution and gladly pay the supplement for 4 or 8 hours so that they can experience their Sabbath in a serene way. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Great location. Everything to the hugest standard. Staff friendly and helpful. Indoor courtyard lovely. Good choice for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for this lovely review! best regards, Danielle Mello