Ratings based on 544 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Great location, food, staff, poor internet/water

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Easily walk-able and transit options to all the sites, lots of places to eat nearby. Nice neighborhood, really cute olive oil place and nice meat/wine shops nearby. The staff had a wine opener at the front desk and helpful suggestions for places to go. We were in Magnolia room, in the next building. The room was huge but a bit worn and the bed was two beds stuck together. They provided a handy phone with internet for using around town for free. The internet in the room kept going in and out. The hot water was very poor and didn't work at all one morning (staff told us they would have to call someone). The breakfast was a tasty array of fresh fruit, pastries, cold cuts, yogurt, cereal, granola, coffee, tea, and juice. Most of the staff were by-lingual.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Mohamed , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding the room. Our project to investing in our property and we will continue this winter with the renovations of all the hotel. Thank you again. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canadian

Great hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Great location, excellent staff Would stay here again if I ever get the chance to return to Italy
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Mohamed- Front office., Hotel Management
Dear guest, We thank you for your kind review, we are happy to know that our guests are satisfied of their stay at the Hotel Apollo. We wish to continue offering our best. We hope to see you on your next trip to Rome. Best regards,
5 out of 5
by Alex

Four star experience in a budget hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location close to all historical sites, easy access from Termini. A very pleasant stay, very good service and helpful staff. Rooms are very well maintained, updated barthrooms, i phone provided in the room for personal use with the hotel wifi, a surprizing, nice amenity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017
Really thank you for your nice opinion, we do our best and we are really happy when guests are happy :-)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2017 on Hotels
Location was great. Family room was large, but they are located in another building with an elevator that starts on the second floor. Room condition was fair (mold on the bathroom walls and in the shower), and beds could use some updating (the sofa bed doesn't even lay flat....my kids slept with their feet elevated above their heads). Breakfast was ok. We will try another hotel in Rome next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017
Dear Sirs, thank you for choosing us. Concerning the building we are here to remind you that it's the same building but with a different entrance... it' an historical palace than we can't make hole in a wall... that's why. We are sorry about the sofa bed. We will fix this problem immediatly. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great cost/quality price, great location and staff

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff: they rocked.
Cons: Quality of bed; fresh fruit for breakfast!
Location: All sorts of good restaurants in the area. Collone II, downstairs and to the left, was great, for example.
The hotel is very well located, a 10-min. walk to the Colliseum. Literally, step outside the hotel, look left, and it's at the end of the road. A highlight of this hotel is the location, near a number of ancient Rome's attractions, and a 3-minute walk to Cavour metro station. There are restaurants all over the place. But I was mostly impressed with the front desk staff. The day-time staff, particularly Alessandra, would go above and beyond to assist; the night-time receptionists were also very kind and helpful. There were some fun language interactions: whereas anyone will speak in English with you, in Rome, I asked Alessandra to please keep in Italian, so that I could learn — which she did for the length of my stay. The night-time staff printed some documents for me, and upon realizing these were in Portuguese, a young girl working the desk started speaking with me in that language, which she had been picking up for the last month or so. It tells you a lot about the helpfulness of these workers. The bathroom was nice, but the room was small; still, that was deal, and it was described accuratelly when I booked. Quiet nights, as I had a room towards the back. Upon checkout I was told to come back and that they are renovating soon: well, the bed could do with it, let's say, but it wasn't too bad. Breakfast was decent. Suggestions for improvement could be to provide a nicer bed, and keep fresh fruit at breakfast, which was not standard. A great experience, all in all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Mohamed- Front office., Hotel Management
Dear guest, We thank you for your kind review, we are happy to know that our guests are satisfied of their stay at the Hotel Apollo. We wish to continue offering our best. We hope to see you on your next trip to Rome. Best regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Excellent location

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Hotel is on excellent location with very pleasant and helpful staff. Room was small and clean. However, the size didn't bother me because I spent time exploring the streets of Rome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Mohamed , Hotel Management
Dear guests, We are happy you enjoyed the Hotel and we are really glad to have received your review. We hope to see you again at the Hotel Apollo. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds UK

Really nice hotel, exc location, fantastic staff

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Extremely friendly & knowledgeable staff, clean hotel & rooms, good breakfast facilities, large quiet rooms, location.
Location: Close to the Colliseum, Termini Rail station & 2 metro stations, lots of good local restaurants asian & italian.
We were a family of 10 in 5 rooms. Restaurant & Reception staff were just excellent & really friendly. Constantly making sure we were ok with everything & giving lots of knowledgeable help on places to see, how to get there, when to go. They even knew the bus numbers to the Vatican. We had spacious double rooms with large bathrooms. All were very clean & fully functional with safes & fridges. The location is easy to find & nice & quiet so you get an undisturbed sleep. The hotel restaurant had a nice large range of options for breakfast. There was also a restaurant next door which offered guests a good discount. There are 2 very good indian restaurants a few mins walk down the street. The hotel is only 5 mins from the Colliseum which you can see from the hotel at the bottom of the street. 2 Metro stations & the main rail station are about 5 - 10 mins walk so its easy to get around the city or even the airport. Tip - Look for gifts around the Termini rail station as it's cheaper than anywhere else. Great place to stay at a very good price & we would definately stay again / recommend to others. I would give it a high end 3 star rating. Enjoy your stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Mohamed , Hotel Management
Dear guests, We are happy you enjoyed the Hotel and its Staff and we are really glad to have received your review. We hope to see you again at the Hotel Apollo Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent staff and neighbourhood

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Charming hotel in beautiful neighbourhood close to almost everything and the staff is incredibly helpful, knowledgeable and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Mohamed , Hotel Management
Dear guests, We are happy you enjoyed the Hotel and its Staff and we are really glad to have received your review. We hope to see you again at the Hotel Apollo Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manningtree Essex

Just perfect!

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Great hotel which is right near to attractions in Rome. Colosseum is literally down the road and Trevi Fountain around 15 min walk away. Hotel staff are friendly and so helpful. Breakfast was very varied and lots of it! Excellent hotel and excellent staff! Thankyou
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Mohamed , Hotel Management
Dear guests, We are happy you enjoyed the Hotel and its Staff and we are really glad to have received your review. We hope to see you again at the Hotel Apollo Best regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NEVER AGAIN!

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: Customer SERVICE and support!
Terrible service. I was given a map and a key to get to our room that was located OUTSIDE of the hotel on some street! I asked for a Luggage trolly or anything to assist us in carrying all of our baggage...None available. I had to beg for a staff member to assist us with bringing our luggage and showing us to our room! It was quite stressful to arrive in a foreign country in the early morning and there be NO where to park our vehicle! We were told that we could take our car to some parking lot outside which was so difficult to locate. When we arrived to parking lot...the parking lot was barricaded and we could not get in! Eventually, we found someone that let us into the parking lot...Then my husband had to make his way back (walking) back to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by lina's, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Anonymous (but we perflectly know who you are as per your complaint in the section for fast opinion), We thank you for taking some of your time to sit and write your opinion on our Hotel and Staff. We are very sorry to read your words, especially as it appears that no actual remarks have been submitted to our attention during your stay, searching through our records that we keep every day at the reception. In all the reviews we get, we earn huge points for our professional Staff and it is surprising to read that it wasn't enough for your standards, but we understand that we cannot make everyone happy although we always do our best to try to. We will start now to answer your complaints: - By the time of the booking you were aware that our check-in time is at 14:00. We did not assure any early check-in, but we offered of course to store your bags in the Hotel in the meantime; - You did not book a room, but you booked an apartment in Via del Boschetto 114. You got a confirmation email and we discuss of your arrival (parking, shuttles, airport, location, etc) one month before your arrival. So you knew where the apartment was and that the Hotel has no parking, being in the centre of Rome; - We are a three star Hotel, as you well know, and we do not provide, as all 3*** hotels, bags service, that you could find instead in 4 or 5 stars hotels. The fact that we organized for someone to help you means only that we really put efforts to make our guests happy. We hope that you at least enjoyed the City. Best wishes, The Staff of Hotel Apollo***"