Ratings based on 2,539 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lovely stay in Rome

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Our room and bathroom was nicely presented and clean. The hotel is just around the corner from St Maria Maggiore and a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum and forum. The rooftop bar has stunning views over the city and was a lovely place for pre-dinner cocktails. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Lovely hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We found the hotel very welcoming, with friendly staff, clean facilities and a great continental breakfast with plenty of options. The breakfast staff were particularly helpful and were able to provide soya milk fir our cereal and coffee. The views from the roof terrace are spectacular! Our room was spacious, the beds comfortable, and the air conditioning was a welcome addition during Rome's heatwave!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice clean hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Hotel Colosseum is located 10 minutes walking distance from Termini Station. On a quiet side street. Also just 10 minutes walking to the Colosseum. Our room was nice and clean, good air conditioning and lovely shower. Room was cleaned daily. Staff polite. Nice continental breakfast. Hotel Colosseum is definitely Good value for money and we had no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex, UK

Lovely hotel with very helpful and friendly staff

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Very helpful staff, cleanliness of hotel, great location, rooftop bar.
Cons: Breakfast could be improved slightly but it shouldn't prevent you from staying at this hotel.
Location: Walking distance to all the main sights in Rome (Colosseum, Roman Forum, Palatine etc.), near plenty of bars and restaurants and the train station.
This hotel is in a great location just a 5-10 minute walk from the Colosseum and only steps away from plenty of great bars and restaurants. The room was very clean and tidy and the bathroom in particular was spacious with a decent shower and hairdryer. There isn't all that much space in the triple room itself but with three single beds this is understandable and there is probably more space in the double/single rooms. It was equipped with a nice TV (although only a couple of channels were in English - CNN and BBC World News) and air-con (couldn't have done without this in temperatures reaching the mid-40s!). There is a rooftop bar open between 6pm-midnight with great views across Rome and fairly priced drinks which are charged to your room number and paid when you check-out. I cannot praise the reception staff enough for their helpful service. They were always very pleasant and happy to accommodate all of our needs. Of course they all spoke very good English too. The hotel has a lift to avoid the stairs if necessary and storage space for your luggage if you arrive too early to check-in (at 2pm) or have a late flight as check-out time is 11am. The breakfast wasn't amazing but pretty standard for hotels in Rome in my experience and there was quite a variety of food to choose from (served between 7.30-9.30am). Overall this is a great hotel for a city break and although it's technically 3 stars it deserves 4 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Authentic, beautiful hotel close to the Coliseum

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: More pillows.
Location: Quiet street, very close to amenities, metro stops, the Coliseum and a beautiful cathedral and fountains.
Extremely helpful staff greet you and are happy to help you in whichever language, they were very happy to help me with my basic Italian skills that I wanted to try out! The hotel is in a quiet street and is close to the Coliseum, a beautiful cathedral and lots of restaurants and gelato shops. We stayed in a small room which was very comfortable and all we needed for a holiday which was mainly spent outside, perusing Rome. It also has a delightful rooftop balcony where you can get a drink overlooking the rooftops of this beautiful city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located in Rome.

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Nice friendly staff.Clean rooms.Close to Termini train station.Lots of local restaurants around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Traditional hotel with roof top bar

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Great location for coloseum tour 20mins walk to the Spanish steps Bit old fashioned but in a charming way
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Close to the Coliseum and the forem.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The roof deck. Great view.
Cons: Softer beds.
Great staff who directed us to a very good nearby restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel but room is small.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Nice little hotel and goid breakfast. Our room was no view and can not really open window. Shower is very small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from geneva

Highly recommended wonderful roof top terrace

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We stayed here as 4 friends. Perfectly located, in walking distance from all sights and transport links. The hotel was spotless and had character which was lovely after spending time in faceless chain hotels in London. Breakfast was an excellent continental style which was replenished regularly. Staff were most friendly and helpful. The roof top bar is to die for! Peaceful, relaxed, comfortable, great drinks and a wonderful view. I can't wait to return!