Ratings based on 1,752 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chippenham,Wiltshire

Great central hotel so close to the Colosseum

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Cosy hotel in bohemian Monti district. You step outside and have lots of bars/cafes and restaurants to choose from. Hotel is very well soundproofed. Junior suite with our teenagers was good size and allowed them a separate room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aylesbury, UK

Great Hotel, close to the colosseum

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: Close to city center, but in a very quiet street.
Cons: The Bed was a bit hard, but we were informed all the rooms had beds that were new.
Location: close to most major city sites.
From the moment we arrived, the staff were smart and friendly. They answered all our questions and give advise on places to visit and a good selection of places to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Great central hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2018
We chose to stay here for 3 nights in January and overall I was really pleased. The hotel is more modern than others I looked at with a lovely bathroom and comfortable bed. When we arrived we were given a free room upgrade in a superior room on 3rd floor overlooking the street, which was surprisingly quiet and a decent size. The staff overall were very friendly with excellent English (my Italian wasn’t amazing!), and immediately gave us a map marked with key points of interest and travelling advice. If you turn right as you walk out the hotel and then right again, you are faced with some excellent small restaurants which offered delicious food and wine on the hotel doorstep! Turn left at the end of the road and you are a 2 minute walk from the Colosseum, and walk another 10-15 minutes and you’re at the Trevi Fountain. We even walked to The Vatican, although this took 1 hour each way and we only managed it because the weather was cooler! The only downside is there’s no tea/coffee facilities in the room and you can only get a free hot drink during winter months downstairs in the breakfast room after 4pm. However we did order breakfast to our room one morning (surcharge for room service) which was lovely. Also it was very quiet while nobody was in the room next to us. Sadly on our final night people checked into the room next to us and it was so noisy we barely slept before our early flight, and my partner moved to another room to be able to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

lovely hotel within 5 mins walk of the colosseum

Posted Jan 21, 2018
We stayed here for a total of 4 nights in the annex building and we had an amazing time. The room is nicely decorated and clean, it's not very big but we had plenty of room for the 2 of us and it was just somewhere to sleep as we were out alot. There was a mini bar in the room where most items were about 2 euros and the hotel offered free tea and coffee to guests after 4pm (we didn't have hot drink facilities in the room).The breakfast was lovely and reasonably priced and had a selection of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, croissants, breads, jams, cold meats, bacon, sausage, eggs and as much tea coffee and fresh juice as you like, this was offered from 7 - 10 am, the hotel does not have lunch or evening meals. All the staff were incredibly helpful and chatty and provided us with a local map and explained where all locations were, where we could get meals snacks etc even how to use the metro. There are plenty of lovely bars restaurants and shops just outside the hotel, we would highly recommend the Wanted restaurant at the top of the street where we had the lamb and potatoes, a pizza, puddings and drinks all for around 40 euros.The metro was is a 2 minute walk from the hotel and is really simple to use, you can get a ticket for 1.50 euros each which lasts for 100 minutes or you can get an all day ticket for 7 euros each which can also be used on the tram lines. The colosseum is just around the corner and city wonders do an amazing tour inside. We would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Lovely gem of a hotel in a nice area with great facilities close to some of Rome’s wonderful sights. Staff were very friendly and helpful.. hotel itself was lovely cleanliness was excellent definitely would recommend for a stay in Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from epping, essec

Great location 5 minutes from Coliseum

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Fantastic location in the heart of Rome , so great for sightseeing. Hotel was very well presented and although rooms were small were ideal for nature of stay - great choice for weekend break. Staff were very friendly and happy to provide tips on restaurants etc. Highly recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice compact hotel in a good location

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Location, everything worked, staff and cleanness.
Cons: Customers could carry their key cards with them (not a big issue).
Location: Railway station, Colosseum, shopping streets, and restaurant in walking distance, and Vatican and the main park also a longer walking distance.
As a whole everything worked in this hotel well. The rooms are small, but bathrooms are good size and in good condition. The breakfast is nice and enough. The staff was very polite and helpful. The location is also good, walking distance from the main railway station and the famous places to see as well as the main shopping streets. There are also many places to eat nearby. The wifi was also fast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Close location

Posted Dec 27, 2017
We booked a room with a queen bed, instead we received two singles that were squished together covered by one sheets The air conditioning was also broken and the staff never sent anyone to help us fix it. We had to open the window, and it rained all night. One plus side is it's close to the colosseum, but overall the staff did not help us out with any restaurant suggestions or attractions. Please be aware that the hotel changes an extra 26 euro for city tax, which apparently is not charged when you book.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by R. Giorgi. Owner, Hotel Management
Dear nicole, we are sorry but our profile clearly talks about "double bed" and it is customary in hotels to offer both rooms with one double bed and rooms with single beds pushed together: comfort is undimished. We are sorry for the misunderstanding with the Staff, they are available 24 hours per day and assist much, starting from the check-in and many reviews testify. An important word has to said about the extra charge for the city tax: it is clearly defined "due on the spot, not included in the room rate": it is money any allocations in Rome charge on behalf of the City Administraion, so you do not need to be aware of the Hotel but to read well the "terms and conditions" given in all booking portals including Expedia of course. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bognor regis england

When in Rome.......

Posted Dec 20, 2017
I stayed at hotel Duca d’alba with my wife on 12 december for two nights. The hotel was in a great location in walking distance of the colleseum, pantheon and the Trevi Fountain. Shops in walking distance and in a suburb area with great restaurants all around. The hotel staff were really amazing and full of helpful information about the area, they spoke good English which was a bonus given my complete lack of Italian. The hotel was good looking from the outside which stands out against the others in the area, staff waiting to take your bags to your room. Third floor room with a lift to get their, quiet and really nice bathroom with a shower. All very very clean and modern. Can’t rate this hotel high enough and is on my list to stay at again when I visit Rome in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

A real gem of a hotel.

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Pros: The friendliness of the staff, and fittings/cleanliness of the rooms.
Cons: We went in December and guidance on the relationship between aircon and heating could have been included in the room guide.
Location: A massive range of food, drink and shopping nearby. Most of Rome tourist attractions up to 15 minutes walk away.
Stayed with my wife for a wedding anniversary city break in Rome. Trusting the other recommendations, I took the plunge. I was not disappointed, and neither will you be. Location The Duca d'Alba is 5 minutes walk from the Coliseum, Forum and Victor Emmanuel II monument in one direction, and San Maria Maggiore in the other. There is a metro station 2 minutes walk away and most attractions (Vatican aside) can be reached, on foot, within minutes. There is a range of restaurants, shops and cafes nearby. Room Some other reviewers have said that the rooms are small; they're certainly not massive, but having stayed in similar hotels across Europe they are not unusually cramped. What they are is immaculate, well maintained and secure. The Annex, where we stayed, has two secure points before the room doors. The décor is smart, and a neat blend of modern (bedding, lighting etc) and traditional (wooden beamed ceilings). Staff To me the hotel's key asset from Angelo, the wonderfully welcoming manager, down to the cleaning staff. They really "went the extra mile" and knew more than the tourist information points! Every question/request was met by the team with kindness. Conclusion A star hotel - if this is where you/want need to be in Rome, the go for it, if what you're after is somewhere clean and smart to rest you head between seeing the sights. If you want to stay endlessly in your room, then this is probably not for you. But, it's Rome - why would you?