Ratings based on 1,248 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Fantastic hotel in the heart of Rome

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Great location, beautiful neighbourhood, connected to transit, close to amenities, close to sightseeing landmarks, clean rooms, wonderful staff.
Hotel Ivanhoe is situated on a small cobbled street surrounded by little shops and restaurants and has an “old world” romantic ambiance. The hotel is conveniently located near a metro station and is in close proximity to some of Rome’s most famous sites, such as the Colosseum, the Roman forum and La basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore. The hotel rooms are cozy and very well maintained, while having a cup of coffee on its rooftop terrace is next to heavenly. What really sets it apart however, is its wonderful staff, who each bring their own personal touch to provide friendly, courteous and professional service to visitors. To Anna, Carlotta, Cristiana, Kevin (and his mom),and the rest of the hotel staff - Grazie di tutto cuore!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Great location,close to metro and easy walking distance to all main attractions. Room was simple but clean and adequate for our weekend stay. Good breakfast and very helpful and friendly staff. The only alight downside was the size of the bathroom and shower. Very small shower but it wasn't a major problem
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: The staff and location.
Cons: The bathroom shower.
The room was small, but clean. The staff was fabulous! The location was great as it was within walking distance of great shops, restaurants and major tourist sites; however, it was very noisy at night. The pillows were uncomfortable, and the plumbing in the bathroom needs some repair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Love the location

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: The lcenter ocation. The restaurants around. Charming
Cons: Bigger shower room
Location: Look down our window facing back alley, a middle age lady stood there everyday. She talks to single men walk by. Either she is a prostitute or drug.
I expecting small room from previous review but was bigger then expected, except the shower room. I am petite have to kind of squeeze into the shower room. The street we are on has wonderful cafe and restaurants, much better vibe, price and delicious then those on the main street which is one street over. Colosseum is very close. We arrived hotel 2pm. Was able to check out Colosseum twice, day and evening plus walk around. Second day we walked 7 hours visit the rest of the major attraction places. Food and side walk cafe/restaurants are everywhere. Overall love the stay here, check out the top deck, front desk are very nice, breakfast were just typical Italian food. They do charge $4 per night per person for tourist tax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice hotel handy location

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Cool area with great range of interesting shops lots of dining and drinking options
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great hotel, great location!

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Great Hotel- Lovely hotel, rooms were clean daily, the breakfast was good. Great location - Just a ten minute walk to the Colosseum, fifteen minute walk to the train station and a 2minute walk to the underground.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Excellent location and staff but some faults.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Location and all staff were very helpful and pleasant.
Cons: General maintenance.
Location: Excellent location close to metro and easy walking to many sites. Good restaurants nearby.
Could not fault either staff or location. Sink plug did not work and pillows stained. Extremely small shower. Loose toilet seat in public area. Lacks good maintenance. Hotel bar was never open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 31, 2017
We stayed at Hotel Ivanhoe for 6 days/nights at the end of august, which was super super hot in Rome. It was mid 90's everyday in Rome and the air conditioner in our room was pretty bad, but to be fair every restaurant you went into Rome in it was the same experience. The staff was always very friendly and polite so for that they get a 5 stars, however the beds are pretty firm and I had a hard time with back pain. The location of the hotel is amazing, you just step outside and you're looking at the colosseum.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, bad hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
My friend and I stayed at Hotel Ivanhoe for 4 nights and had an utterly unpleasant experience. Basic room amenities were lacking (the toilet did not flush and the sliding bathroom door would not close more than half-way) and when we brought these issues to the hotel staff, they told us there was not anything they could do. The pillows are small and thin and we also asked for extra pillows twice, but didn't receive them. I had noticed other reviews complaining about the size of the shower, but thought we wouldn't have a problem because we are two (relatively short) girls. However, the shower was uncomfortably small, even for us. The additional service van service to and from the airport is more expensive than a taxi would be. I gave 1 star because the location was convenient (but there are several other hotels in the area) and 1 additional star because the air condition worked (but I heard guests in the adjacent room telling the front desk that their air condition was not working). I do not recommend staying at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Staff were incredibly helpful, rooftop was so beautiful. Breakfast was a bit dry and dull but it was helpful to have and rooms were small but for a city centre it was perfect. You're never in your room long anyway.