Ratings based on 1,498 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, England

Perfect!

Posted Feb 13, 2018
It can be tricky to get everything you want when choosing a hotel in a busy city, but this one ticked most of our boxes. Good location, close to major historical sites and transport links excellent. Nearest metro, Circo massimo around a 10 minute walk. A charming hotel with a good atmosphere and a personal touch. Professesional, efficient and attentive staff and a tasty(& better than expected!) buffet breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2018 by Marieke - Kolbe Hotel Rome, Hotel Management
Dear Sara, we thank you very much for your wonderful review and feedback. We highly appreciated it, and look forward to welcoming you again in Kolbe Hotel Rome! Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Great location!!!!!

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Pros: The location is the best! I liked everything about the hotel the food, the room the staff everything was just great!
Cons: Honestly, nothing could be improved and I am not easy to impress but they managed to impress me.
Location: It is right behind Palatine Hill and is within walking distance to all the sights you want to see. There is also a great bakery down the street.
I love,love,love this hotel. We are hoping to go back to Rome in the Fall and I will definitely book the Kolbe again. I could go on and on about the staff, the room, the food the location but let me tell you it was all perfect. Definitely where you should stay in Rome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2018 by Marieke - Kolbe Hotel Rome, Hotel Management
Dear Lori, you've made us very very happy with your words of praise! Many thanks indeed for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you again next Fall!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location for History Buffs

Posted Jan 23, 2018
Lovely hotel. Excellent included breakfast. Staff attentive and helpful. You can walk to the Circus Maximus (On Off bus stop for all services). You can walk to the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. When we return we would definately stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2018 by Marieke - Kolbe Hotel Rome, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, we thank you for your excellent vote and review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Rome! Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: The staff was very helpful at all times. The hotel is very nicely located and convenient to many sights.
The breakfast buffet is excellent in all respects.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Marieke, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your wonderful vote and review! We hope to see you again soon in Kolbe Hotel Rome! Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with views of the forum

Posted Jan 4, 2018
We had a wonderful stay at the Kolbe hotel. We were there for six days. We had a large room with a short dividing wall between our bed and the sofa bed which my father slept on. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub which was lovely to use after a day of sightseeing. The continental breakfast was excellent. Our room had a view of the forum. It is in a relatively quiet neighborhood so if you are looking to walk out your door and be in the middle of Rome, this is not the place. We could walk to the Colosseum, the Mouth of truth, Capitoline Museum, and the Vittorio Emmanuel. Ended up taking cabs a lot as it wasn't really near a metro line but we could have taken busses. We rolled out our door on NYE and walked a block to Circus Maximus where they had a huge concert and fireworks to celebrate. It was a huge added bonus!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Marieke - Kolbe Hotel Rome, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, many thanks for your wonderful review! We are really happy to see that you've enjoyed your stay. Yes, the New Year's Eve concert was great, wasn't it? We look forward to welcoming you again soon in our hotel and wish you all the best for 2018! Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from united states

Nice hotel close to the Coliseum and the Forum

Posted Dec 28, 2017
The hotel is nice, very clean, comfortable great food. Is close to everything. The zone between the circus Maximus and the hotel is a little dark at night .. unfortunately I was assaulted walking back to the hotel by two men pretending to sell some stuff that where between the Forum and the circus Maximus. Be careful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Marieke - Kolbe Hotel Rome, Hotel Management
Dear Andres, thanks for your wonderful vote. We were so sorry about what happened, this was the first time and hopefully the last time, since this whole area is usually very quiet and safe. Since the 31st of December new lights have been placed on the Palatine Hill so that is good news! We do hope to welcome you again in the near future and wish you all the best for 2018! Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect location opposite the forum

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Pros: The Rooms and the staff
Cons: the WIFI and the breakfast
Location: Perfect location for all the splendours of Rome
A very lovely hotel with extremely pleasant staff. Wherever you walked from the hotel it is spectacular with lovely restaurants and beautiful breathtaking sights all around you i a beanutiful city. The hotel staff were always really helpful. The only downside was the wifi was well below par and the breakfasts were ok but I have been spoilt by the incredible breakfasts I am used to in the 4 star hotel Fuerte in Spain and this didn't come close but adequate. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a beautiful room in the best place in Rome with excellent staff. Come and enjoy
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2018 by Marieke - Kolbe Hotel Rome, Hotel Management
Dear Gordon, what a wonderful review, many thanks indeed! We are already working on improving the wifi so hopefully next time you're in Rome you'll give us 5 stars :-) Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

The hotel close to all main famous places, palaces

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: It was quiet, close to famous places, we walked all the time.
Cons: All fine
Location: You can walk to Coliseum take a tour right there any language. Walk or take a taxi to Vatican City, 15 eur, book a tour or just go by yourself.
The hotel at all very nice , clean and comfortable. The staff very polite and helps you to solve transfers or other problems. There is Russian speaking lady at reception, so makes your life easier :) She really helped us to solve our transport issue. Food is nice. Only thing surprised us that on leaving we had to pay 6 euros per person per night, something like leaving taxes. So be aware about that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Marieke - Kolbe Hotel Rome, Hotel Management
Dear Kriastina, many thanks for your wonderful review which we really appreciate. We are very sorry for the City Tax - something that unfortunately has to be paid upon departure and is required for all tourists by the city of Rome. On your booking confirmation it shows and also upon arrival we usually inform our guests about this tax. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Rome! Thanks and warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Garden Grove, CA

So close to the heart of Rome

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Everything especially the close proximity to the center of Rome
Cons: Not a thing.
I love this hotel, the staff is so accommodating, the rooms are simple yet classy and super clean. We were in Italy and stayed in a lot of places and this has to be in the top two places we stayed. there is a great deli down at the corner, palatine hill is across the street, The breakfast at the hotel is very good and the garden is very peaceful. I just can't say enough good stuff about the hotel and will definitely stay here again on our next trip!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Marieke, Hotel Management
Dear Lori, we are very grateful for your wonderful review, it's a great joy to share it with our staff. We thank you for having chosen our hotel and look forward to welcoming you again soon in Kolbe Hotel Rome! Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice Hotel close to areas we wanted to tour.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: The staff was accommodating and pleasant. Housekeeping did a good job. The breakfast buffet was good. It is in a good area for tourists.
Cons: Ability to control temperature in individual rooms.
Location: Close to the Forum Coliseum area and walking distance to area restaurants. We took taxis to other areas and enjoyed it very much.
this is a nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay except for the layout of the room. We did not care for the bed to be upstairs and the bathroom facilities downstairs which was inconvenient during the night. Also, it was difficult to regulate the temperature in the room. The bedroom proved to be too warm during the night. We did enjoy our stay with these exceptions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Marieke - Kolbe Hotel Rome, Hotel Management
Dear Frances, many thanks for your wonderful vote and review. We appreciate your feedback. Your room is one of our family rooms, great for families with children so they can all stay in the same room. Next time please let us know in advance that you'd like to have another roomtype. Kind regards,