Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

1.6 out of 5
10% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.0 Service & staff
1.8 Room comfort
1.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Not again

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Management was hostile. I'm staying in area two more nights but not there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastern Shore, Md

Nice clean place, that's it!!

Posted Sep 18, 2016
From the beginning communication was a problem. The first room's (109) TV cable box was damaged and reception was terrible. We were relocated to a second room (111) the TV was very good, the mattress was late 1950's. It was a long nite. The next morning my wife went to get coffee and was rudely reminded that breakfast was at 9am not 8:15am (there were no coffee makers in rooms). We're old (70+) and are up at 7am. The shower was very clean and slippery with no grab bars, I did not let my wife use it. We left one day early and would greatly appreciate a reimbursement. I'm writing all this in hopes that it will help improve the service and attitudes at The Village Inn. Sincerely, Bill F.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
That was the most disgusting place I have ever seen if it wasn't for being stuck I NEVER would have stayed there u should not be booking anything for this place as it does represent u as well I remain disgusted Donna
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Nightmare Inn

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: When our stay ended. This place was absolutely unprofessional and a horrendous experience for my family. Felt like we were in a poor foreign country.
Cons: They need to get training on how to run a hotel. They never cleaned our room and we had to ask for toilet paper when we ran out. I wanted a refund.
Hard to imagine a worse hotel experience than this place. It was so bad it was almost humorous. We booked it on Expedia because it advertised a pool & suite. Our first clue this might go bad was the call we received from the clerk who barely spoke English. She seemed irritated that we were arriving late (around midnight) because she wanted to go to bed. Once we arrived, I walked into a hotel lobby that was essentially the personal bedroom of the foreign couple whom I assume were the owners. The man was heavily sleeping in bed 20 feet from check-in. The annoyed woman registered us. The suite was nothing close to a suite. It was a below-average sized room with hardwood floors. No clue why they'd call this a suite. We have a large family and needed the room a suite provides, so this was suffocating. The AC didn't work and we tossed & turned in our sweat all night. Not a great scenario for our wrestlers who'd be competing in the morning. The pool was closed--an overgrown, run-down eyesore. The small room and closed pool (for TOP dollar!) made us feel tricked by the hotel and by Expedia's search engine, as we customized it for suite & pool. They served breakfast at 8:30am! LOL. Our hungry wrestlers had to leave both mornings by 7:15am, so an 8:30am breakfast was useless to us, even though we paid for it. The staff was inflexible on this. My wife tried to complain about everything, but no one spoke English at check-out, so the old lady just smiled and said, "No English." Ugh.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Nina, Hotel Management
We are very sad to hear that you did not have a good experience staying with us. Our pool has been closed this season for renovation plans so we apologize for the inconvenience. As for the false advertisement, we had asked Expedia to remove the description of the pool a few months ago and will investigate on that now. I have taken note of your other comments and we will work hard to fix any recurring issue. Thank you for your feedback and we hope if you return we can give you a much better experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Don’t go there

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: There is a military base nearby where the Navy blows things up.
The Village Inn was the least expensive place in the area one late July weekend in 2016. I soon realized why. The first “smoke-free” room they put us in smelled like the boys room in high school in the 1970s. The second was only slightly better, and this was a “plumbing optional” room. In this case they opted not to connect the bathroom sink to a pipe. We reported it the next morning as we were leaving and the manager went straight to our room to fix it. When we came back that night, no change. Also, the bathroom door stuck so tightly that I had to put my shoulder down like Lawrence Taylor to get out. TVs in the rooms haven’t been made since sometime in the last century. Air conditioning has one setting: Antarctica. Most drawers have no handles. Otherwise, it was a nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Nina, Hotel Management
We are very sorry your stay was not as enjoyable as we'd hoped. We have a strict non-smoking policy in the rooms, due to the long lasting odor damage it causes in the rooms and we are working to completely eliminate these incidents. We apologize, we were short on staff when the leak occurred, but have had our maintenance workers resolve the plumbing issue. We are constantly upgrading our rooms, but while offering the most competitive rates, it is hard to do everything at once. Nonetheless, we appreciate your feedback and are working hard to improve on these issues so that we can better accommodate our guests.
2 out of 5
by David from NJ

Disappointing Experience

Posted Nov 1, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Everything
Location: The location is ok
Disappointing Experience. The bathroom was very dirty, the matress very unconfortable.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by Joe from Baltimore, MD, USA

It will do for a place to sleep

Posted Jul 26, 2012
Pros: Price compared to the proximity to NJ shore
Cons: bathtub was gross and no water in the pool
Location: older building but helpful staff
The room was clean and appointed nicely enough for a basic hotel room but I wanted to take a cold bath after a long lay on the beach and feeling a little sunburned. THERE WAS NO WAY I WAS LAYING DOWN IN THAT TUB. THe hotel has a pool and the pool might have been nice and inviting if it had water in it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 4, 2012
Service is poor. Towels stained. Pool was out of service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jun 26, 2012
Disappointing. No towels. Smokey. No pool as advertised. No tea/coffee breakfast. Water smelled like eggs. Floor dirty with no carpets.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GERMANY

"Horror Inn Colts Neck"

Posted Mar 7, 2010
The room was disgusting! I did not expect a whole lot, since I got a really good rate, but CLEAN was an expectation. As soon as I walked in, I was mortified. There were cracks in the walls, the broken closet doors, the bathroom was nasty, the sheets had a few stains in them, the water was light brown color when you first turned it on, the windows had aluminum foil around them. I did ask for a new room, which they provided that next morning, which was a little better (clean wise.) The owners were courteous, but the rooms were HORRIBLE! I stayed 10 nights because they refused to give my money back. NEVER pay before looking at the room first. Put down a deposit and DON"T PAY until you have checked out.