Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Close but not quite excellent

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Check in was meh; waited while two clerks did other things before getting to me as their next task. Felt pretty average. Had breakfast at restaurant and ordered off the menu as the buffet was undewhelming; server left and never returned. Had to get the host to take my order. Shower head in bathroom must have been installed in the 1800s when people were 5'5" tall. Had to contort to get my head wet. Not good. Stayed at Quality Inn the next night. Take a hint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Had to call to get heat turned on. But the staff were very responsive to the call. It only took about 10 min.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, Mo

I stayed here for a meeting in the hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Décor, room, Bed, just about everything.
Location: Kate and Allie's pizza was good
Hotel room seems blah. Not very clean. Every room opens to the atrium, so it's extremely noisy. I have stayed here twice, it was the same both times. It isn't easy to get out of the hotel in rush hour.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G.

Close to capital but not capital quality

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Would assume that being close to the State Capital and other historical buildings that Capital Plaza is a stately and too of the line hotel....wrong. The heating/cooling unit was antiquated and very difficult to adjust the temperature, pillows were small and very used. Cable was difficult to operate, tv was small and room had an odd odor. The upside...black out curtains were great, shower hot and the morning serving staff allowed me to fill my travel mug with coffee without paying for it. That was very sweet of her.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel could use a little updating

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Right in the middle of Jefferson City, plenty of things to do.
The staff was very nice. The room needed a little TLC, updating. The AC unit wasn't working very well. The lighting was poor. There was no fridge in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Temple, TX

Good for meeting space, that's about it

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Location Meeting space
Cons: Everything about the overnight accomodations Staff courtesy
Location: Downtown is a short walk away. Bars, shopping, dining all very close. Beautiful, award-winning downtown. Capitol building is a stones throw away.
This hotel does have a good amount of meeting space that is well kept and the restaurant does a decent job, but this building is about as dated as it gets. The commons spaces show age, but that isn't near as bad as the rooms themselves. The decor is akin to a cheap motel and it doesn't even have lighting fixtures with extra outlets like every other modern hotel. For the price, all this has going for it is location. It is nice to be this close to both the highway and downtown, but the hotel itself leaves a lot to be desired. Staff was overwhelmed and showed it, not particularly happy with the service, but it was acceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Conveniently located
Cons: This property needs to be updated, it is starting to show its age.
Location: Conveniently located to down town.
Conveniently located. Room cleanliness, slightly above average.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston

Very tired, no free coffee

Posted Sep 3, 2016
An old tired property (former Hyatt atrium style) that looks its age and charges for everything. No free coffee and breakfast like Hampton Inn. Small bathrooms. Barely any plugs in the room. Be sure to miss it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Hotel clean . shower had mold on walls and curtain. Overall experience good. Restaurant buffet good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MO

Good in some ways but not all

Posted Jul 29, 2016
My room was clean and comfortable. The lack of a refrigerator was a surprise. While their website says it was recently remodeled, I didn't see many signs of that other than the carpet in my room looking new. I wanted some information about the on-site restaurant, but there was nothing in the room that explained anything about the hotel amenities. Not having seen any other rooms, I don't know if this was just true of my room or of the hotel. The employees were good at check-in, but the restaurant employees weren't very responsive or helpful. I went to eat breakfast on the second day and couldn't find a clean table. Friends invited me to join them and told me they had to bus their own table. The waitress never approached me, so I helped myself to the buffet. There weren't any glasses, water, or juice, and I had to ask about silverware. Another employee made occasional visits to answer the phone or run the cash register. Paying for my meal involved hunting down the waitress as she wasn't in the area where food was being served and didn't give me a bill. It just seemed very unorganized and understaffed.