Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to clean carpets!

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Location to University. Bed was comfortable
Cons: Hotel needs to update the basics, clean the carpets and furniture.
Location: Close by the University, Five Points, and Capital. Must drive to get to restaurants and shopping
Check in was easy and man was friendly. I saw no other staff during my stay. It appears that the hotel is under remodel or construction, but could see not sign of any improvements. The lobby, hallway, and room carpet desperately needs to be cleaned. The wall paper in the lobby is coming off the walls.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from columbia sc

Hotel in need of updating going through renovation

Posted Dec 14, 2016
This hotel is in great need of updating currently being renovated however stay wasn't very pleasant. My room did not have a hard landline telephone for two days. I had a broken shelf in the closet area . Limited access at night difficult getting in ,attendant has to come to a rear door upon ringing the bell.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, virginia

nice old hotel in midst of renovations.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: desk clerk very helpful, plenty of parking, nice furnishings, very clean. safe, quiet location
Cons: more attention to detail. thought lamp was broken or bulb blown...it was just unplugged. only one trash can...none in bathroom.
Location: quiet and safe...only one really close food shop, but many within a few blocks.
older hotel, but being renovated. wonderful desk clerk, but no maintenance back-up. sink was stopped up and phone didn't work. got the sink fixed. i'll give them another chance if i go back, because i like the feel of the place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old,no blackout curtains. construction going on.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything.
had to ck in at 1am and there was a line.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Only the location was nice

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The hotel is very outdated the furniture was old, bedding was old, the wall paper was coming off, the room had an odd smell. I would not recommend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Location close to downtown

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: See comments above
Location: Access to the restaurants & bars on or near Gervais street as well as the capital building and USC campus make it a good location.
Old building that requires some significant updating. Room was in poor shape - outlet hanging out of wall near bed, bathroom faucet not working properly, poorly lit, and most surfaces looked aged/yellowed if not stained. Definitely not work the price paid.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Old!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Old and musty! People were getting refunded as we were coming in for dirty rooms. Ours was ok but floor not vacuumed still smelled old thank God I brought spray! We told them our floor wasnt vacuumed and they had us come down to the desk for a manual hand sweeper. We swept it and stayed just the one night. Construction going on also. Hope that helps them. Too bad because it has great potential! Just needs the whole thing remodeled so hopefully that's what they are doing along with the construction. Looks like it was a great place at one time but long ago.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

no tv remote

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: One plus is location is good, right next to downtown and also the 5 points area as well.
Hotel was a little dated, but didn't really mind it, and was under construction as well. Room was ok with a big bed but some of the outlets didn't work. Also couldn't find a remote to the tv either. My girlfriend called front desk for another one and the hotel staff had a bad attitude about it and said there were no more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 12, 2016
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is under renovation and I'm sure it will be very nice once complete. However, when we did check in the room that we received didn't have properly working power. But it was no issue to get moved to another room. The room was in overall good condition and was clean and comfortable though it showed signs of wear. Definitely a good deal for the price and walking distance to the Township Auditorium.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly rooms, phones didn't work

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The price, smell, cleanliness of the room and standing water in the bathroom.
Horrible condition of the room. Staff was extremely nice but the phone in the room didn't work. The cleanliness of the room was bad. I was worried about bed bugs.