Ratings based on 755 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Terrible

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Place is old. Run down. Smells. It is under renovation. So construction is going. Should be shut down until it is completed.
1 out of 5
by Katie

Don't ever stay there!

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
It was horrible. Worst hotel experience ever. I am 46 years old and have stayed in many, many hotels. This was the worst!
2 out of 5
by Keith

Hotel still needs a lot of work and renovating.

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel still needs a lot of work and renovating.
1 out of 5
by teresa

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
It would have been good but it was construction going on late night and early next morning
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst ever

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Worst experience ever. Old ice machine outside my door made noise all night long and had stained the carpet in front of it from leaking. They are planning on gutting this building and I could see why. Checked out ASAP. The hotel should not have been rented in this condition.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sketchy, Unclean, and Unfit for Customers

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
The building looks like it shouldnt even be open. There is construction going on on all four sides of the building and the place looks abandon. Dirty, old, and just gross. The wallpaper was coming down in the bathroom, the drain in the tub was stopped up, there was NO fire detector in our room, just wires where it should be, the air condition vent was so molded and grimmed up it made me gag. There was just an overall sketchy vibe with the whole place, again it seemed like the building shouldnt have even been allowed to have people in it, only reason we stayed was because it was close to the township auditorium and had no other options after arriving. The staff was friendly enough, but do yourself a favor and stay away from this place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Wait til renovations are done

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: The manager (owner?) Caroline was very friendly and kind. Unfortunately, her staff was not as helpful.
Cons: When the renovations are complete, perhaps this will be a place to stay the night. Until then, however, I would not recommend anyone renting a room.
Location: Downtown Columbia was only about a mile away, the University of South Carolina only a few blocks away.
I work in the service industry, so I hate to post a really negative review, but this hotel was a pretty bad experience. Half of it is under renovation, so the only part guests can stay in is very old and in obvious disrepair. The first room we were booked in had a broken lock, so we had to take the creaky, terrifying elevator back and forth 3 times to reception, the first two times to get a new key (which didn't work either), the third time to get a new room. The room we got (a non-smoking room with two queen beds) reeked of cigarette smoke. The fire alarm had been ripped out of the wall (wires hanging out), and the toilet would only flush by lifting the lid off the back and manually flushing it. The shower/tub took roughly half an hour to drain after being used. The alarm clock, television remote, phone, and wifi did not work. There was broken glass on the floor.
2 out of 5
by Gyneitha

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
The outlets didn't work in one room so we were moved into a different one...And the next room didn't have good signal on the TV it was very fuzzy
2 out of 5
by Angela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels