Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Location: The location was great. There was a street market right outside on Saturday with different types of vendors including food trucks.
My only complaint was that a King bed was requested and when we checked in, nothing was mentioned or asked regarding that request and my fiancee and I ended up with a room with 2 beds instead. But the restaurant inside was very good and accommodating for my meal restrictions. The bartender was very helpful when we were trying to figure out what to order.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY and So California

Old Hotel, Rundown

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: nothing, will never go back or trust Expedia hotel ratings in the future
Cons: Everything
Location: located in a rundown and dangerous part of the city of Columbia, So Carolina
this hotel was obviously a grand hotel 40 years ago and looks like it. soiled furniture, cracks in the ceiling and walls, bathroom fixtures old and well used. i paid for an upgraded room in a major hotel and would have received more value for my money in a motel 6. I was totally dissatisfied. not to mention the quality of the restaurant food was between poor to awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Anderson, We deeply apologize that you did not find your stay with us satisfactory. It may please you to learn that we are currently working with management on a rooms renovation sometime next year. In addition, we are disappointed to learn you did not enjoy your meal in our restaurant. Our chefs take great pride in their work, so we hope that you addressed this with the restaurant manager during your stay so that we may have been able to appease you. We will take your comments into consideration, and invite you to come visit us in the future so you may see how we've improved. Danielle Buschur Front Office Supervisor
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre at best

Posted Nov 24, 2016
desperately needs to be renovated. Understaffed. Room was stuffy and dusty. I spent over $600 for 2 nights at this hotel and for that price tag I was expecting a lot more. Absolutely disappointing and I will never be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by Danielle B, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We are truly disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You will be happy to learn that we are working with management on a rooms renovation sometime next year. We invite you to visit us again after the renovation to see how we've improved. We hope that we can meet your expectations better the next time you travel to Columbia. Best, Danielle Buschur Front Office Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Quality
Cons: The breakfast we got served in the moring from room service.
We booked this hotel a week before the game and were very satisfied!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Next to the Saturday Farmers Market

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Farmers market Water bottle for room given I am a Marriott reward member
Cons: Coffee maker did not work which was a bummer in the morning
Location: visiting University
Room was just as ordered, staff friendly and helpful. Steered us to a good local Italian restaurant several blocks away. Loved farmers market outside my door. Would bring me back to this hotel vs. trying another Columbia neighborhood Parking at $25 for valet is average wished it was less
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to USC

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: amenities are nice
Cons: noisy
Location: we have a USC student and when to the football game while we were there
Hotel was clean, wasn't hard to get to from the parking garage. Staff was pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Awesome experience!

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: The location was perfect in walking distance of lots of great shops and restaurants!
My stay was brief but was a great experience! The front desk staff was awesome when I checked in and very helpful in providing us with transportation to our venue!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Disappointing

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The girl at the front desk was very nice
Cons: See above
Location: State capitol, college town. Restaurants and state museum.
I was looking forward to this stay and expected it to be 3 days of comfort, but due to hurricane Matthew the hotel was quite over-run and seemed they were not able to keep up with the demand. The hotel leaked in many places and had the musty smell you get from leaking. Coffee was made with tap water and tasted "funky" (wonder if machine needs cleaning). Bad food, slow service. Even though I was on the concierge level, the concierge room was closed 2 out of the 3 days I was there. My traveling companions found fleas in their room and were switched to another room. Watching a lady with a dog in the lobby, we figured this is the source of the fleas. Even though I am a marriott rewards member, if I were in the Columbia area again, I would try the Sheraton. On a good note: the staff were very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, SC

Great location

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: BEDS!!
Within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Staff extra friendly and helpful. Room is average. We were beside the elevator which was pretty noisy and the beds were a lot harder than I like. Not bad for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

urine

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Got into room started to unpack and looked bathroom-toilet seat up and full of urine. Called desk the said they would send someone to clean bathroom-they flushed it That's not cleaning in my book.