Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Sandy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Location: The location was great. There was a street market right outside on Saturday with different types of vendors including food trucks.
My only complaint was that a King bed was requested and when we checked in, nothing was mentioned or asked regarding that request and my fiancee and I ended up with a room with 2 beds instead. But the restaurant inside was very good and accommodating for my meal restrictions. The bartender was very helpful when we were trying to figure out what to order.
4 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Overall it was a nice hotel. I wish the room had a mini fridge. Also we stayed on the 9th floor but the window view wasn't great, just the top of another rooftop. The staff were very friendly.
5 out of 5
by Roger

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY and So California

Old Hotel, Rundown

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: nothing, will never go back or trust Expedia hotel ratings in the future
Cons: Everything
Location: located in a rundown and dangerous part of the city of Columbia, So Carolina
this hotel was obviously a grand hotel 40 years ago and looks like it. soiled furniture, cracks in the ceiling and walls, bathroom fixtures old and well used. i paid for an upgraded room in a major hotel and would have received more value for my money in a motel 6. I was totally dissatisfied. not to mention the quality of the restaurant food was between poor to awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Anderson, We deeply apologize that you did not find your stay with us satisfactory. It may please you to learn that we are currently working with management on a rooms renovation sometime next year. In addition, we are disappointed to learn you did not enjoy your meal in our restaurant. Our chefs take great pride in their work, so we hope that you addressed this with the restaurant manager during your stay so that we may have been able to appease you. We will take your comments into consideration, and invite you to come visit us in the future so you may see how we've improved. Danielle Buschur Front Office Supervisor
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre at best

Posted Nov 24, 2016
desperately needs to be renovated. Understaffed. Room was stuffy and dusty. I spent over $600 for 2 nights at this hotel and for that price tag I was expecting a lot more. Absolutely disappointing and I will never be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by Danielle B, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We are truly disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You will be happy to learn that we are working with management on a rooms renovation sometime next year. We invite you to visit us again after the renovation to see how we've improved. We hope that we can meet your expectations better the next time you travel to Columbia. Best, Danielle Buschur Front Office Supervisor
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay! Could use new bed frames!

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Just okay! I know this hotel is older, but both beds in the room were extremely squeaky! So much that when we tossed and turned or rolled over we woke each other up (we both weigh around 140, so no fat jokes ;))The room could have been cleaner. We had what looked to be make up stains all over the comforter. The maid never came by on the two days we were out and about all day which I thought was strange. I hate having to ask for towels and my trash to be picked up. Maybe hotels don't do maid service on long weekend stays anymore? I'm not sure..I booked two of the same rooms at the same price and only one got a refrigerator. I feel like if I'm paying the same both rooms should have the same items included. The parking garage was very convienent for the downtown location. You don't have to walk outside of the garage at all. Room service was prompt and the food was great! Front desk staff was great! I would stay here again but ask to be away from elevator! If a big party or conference is going on downstairs you will hear the elevator ding all night when people come back up!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Quality
Cons: The breakfast we got served in the moring from room service.
We booked this hotel a week before the game and were very satisfied!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Next to the Saturday Farmers Market

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Farmers market Water bottle for room given I am a Marriott reward member
Cons: Coffee maker did not work which was a bummer in the morning
Location: visiting University
Room was just as ordered, staff friendly and helpful. Steered us to a good local Italian restaurant several blocks away. Loved farmers market outside my door. Would bring me back to this hotel vs. trying another Columbia neighborhood Parking at $25 for valet is average wished it was less