Ratings based on 750 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Staff; location; facilties.
Staff excellent; good breakfast; good location for our purposes.
2 out of 5
by Howard

Very disappointed in cleanliness

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
We had 4 rooms for one night on the way to The Masters Golf Tournament. Three of the four rooms had very dirty and stained carpets. Halls and common areas also dirty and neglected. This hotel is not up to Carlson standards. I have stayed at many Country Inn and Suites before and this is the worst. Next time I will read the reviews before booking regardless of the flag. Located near major University, this hotel has seen a lot of rowdy partying for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room carpet. We have recently had all our hotel carpet professionally steam cleaned, and we apologize that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Should you have any concerns during your stay, please discuss them with any of our employees, so we can address any concerns that may impact your stay. Please know all your comments have been well documented and will be shared accordingly with the respective teams. We hope you will give us another chance in your traveling future.
4 out of 5
by Latosha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to ensure a comfortable stay and we are disappointed that we fell short of your expectations. Should you have any concerns during your stay, please discuss them with any of our employees, so we can address any concerns that may impact your stay. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
2 out of 5
by Wendy

Dirty and worn out

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
The room smelled like smoke, the couch had burn holes and stains all over the pull out mattress. The bathroom wall was filthy and the vanity was all scratched up. The children did say the pool was the nice. This was the most disappointing stay in a Country Inn ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our staff strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and we will work diligently to ensure your claims are fully investigated. Should you have any concerns during your stay, please discuss them with any of our employees, so we can address any concerns that may impact your stay. Please know all your comments have been well documented and will be shared accordingly with the respective teams. We hope you will give us another chance in your traveling future.
3 out of 5
by James

Convenient but cleanliness lacking

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Sheets had several hairs in them and pillowcase had a hole and a stain. Stayed here as we had stayed with Country Inn several times at other locations with good results. Location worked as we needed to be close to hwy. not comfortable with overall cleanliness, but otherwise fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Orbitz
It was unfortunately that we were at an intersection and who was it with no blackout curtains.
4 out of 5
by vann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia south Carolina

Room was filthy. Disappointed!!!

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Had to have room cleaned on day of check in because of Hair and the last occupants trash everywhere! Looked like someone shaved over toilet. Almost all Staff was very rude!! Few housekeepers and the manager on night of check in were nice and helpful. Breakfast bar empty a lot. The person working in breakfast area ignored comments the food containers empty. Very disappointed!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We are sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our staff strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and we will work diligently to ensure your claims are fully investigated. Please know all your comments have been well documented and will be shared accordingly with the respective teams. We hope you will give us another chance in your traveling future.