Ratings based on 1,102 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2018
I enjoyed my stay only thing that I had a problem with was the bed was too hard.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2018 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
We are delighted you had an outstanding experience at Extended Stay America and that you loved all the aspects of our hotel. We value your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2018
2senior guests &their room is2nd floor as far from ridiculous elevator as you can get, walking past busted room windows. Stains on the carpet, shower handle falling off wall. Noisy guests slamming doors all night/talking outside until wee hours of morning. Staff was very friendly though.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations, so please accept our apologies for the issues that impacted your feedback. We hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future so we can provide you with a much better stay you deserve. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clintonville, Wisconsin

Don’t stay here.

Posted May 12, 2018
The hotel looks nice in the picture provided by Expedia but don’t let it influence you. We booked for 3 nights and only stayed 1 before we checked out. The hotel rooms are dingy and dirty. There is nothing in them. We had 1 bar of soap and 1 towel. No other amenities. I had to purchase a hair dryer. We were told that because we were not staying a week, there was no maid service. If we wanted clean sheets we had to bring the used ones to the office for replacements. They said they offered a free breakfast. This was going to be provided on a single table approximately 12 inches square. Needless to say we doidn’t take advantage of it-we checked out as soon as we could. I have booked quite a few trips through Expedia. I am not sure I will again. I would expect Expedia to inspect the properties they recommend. This was the worst place I have ever stayed in.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Nancy, we are sorry for not meeting your expectations with our hotel policies and for the issues you encountered with your room. We have shared your feedback with the respective teams and will certainly step up our efforts to improve our guest experience moving forward. We hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you on a future visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2018
It was like i was in the tales from the creep omg i have never the room was so old stank not clean the shower had nails hanging from it i have never been so disappointed in my life my kids had to sleep in that filth we couldnt leave because everything was booked very very disappoint
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Please accept our apology as well every assurance we will be working to address the concerns you outlined. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention and assure you that corrective measures have been taken. We hope you will consider a return visit as we would welcome the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2018
Microwave tray missing and refrigerator leak water on the floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Our thanks for reviewing your stay at Extended Stay America. We are glad your overall visit was a great one, but we are sorry for the issues you encountered while you were here. We will share your concerns with our maintenance team to ensure no future guest experiences the same. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard to find

Posted May 10, 2018
Air conditioner did not work. Container for shampoo was half empty. Roll of toilet paper was down to about a quarter of a roll with no extra toilet paper provided. Saw 2 cockroaches. I will never stay in this place again . and I will never recommend anybody to any Extended Stays because of those reasons.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Please accept our apology as well every assurance we will be working to address the concerns you outlined. We have shared your feedback with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to take corrective actions. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to make it up to you at a future date. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2018
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will choose us again so we can provide you with a much improved visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2018
Not worth the price we paid. Our room was on the ground floor next to the highway. All night trucks , noisy fridge and noisy fan. Small uncomfortable pillows
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We apologize for the issues you encountered in your room and regret the inconvenience it caused. We have shared your feedback with the respective teams and will certainly step up our efforts to improve our guest experience moving forward. We hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you on a future visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from x

Next to HWY and you will have lots of HWY noise

Posted Apr 30, 2018
You have to clean you room, remove rubbish, make your own bed set and use bed set for one week, they will not do any thing for 7 days, no phone or broken, not safe or not clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered and the inconvenience caused. We regret not meeting all of your expectations and rest assured that corrective actions are being taken within the respective departments. We are committed to making sure that we don't repeat what you experienced. Thanks for your feedback, and we hope to have a future opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but accommodation were bland

Posted Apr 30, 2018
Overall the hotel was ok. Towels were off white so I took that to mean they were a little dirty. No really good cable channels. Having a child things got a little boring so we tried to stay out of the room all day.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Shane, thank you for staying at Extended Stay America. We are glad you had a pleasant time here. We value your feedback as it will help us improve our facilities moving forward. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management