Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 2 notch rf

The bed was so so nice omg love the stay

Posted Apr 22, 2018
its was a very nice will be back the food was good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse kitchen amenities than regular hotels

Posted Apr 8, 2018
We had a pretty awful time with Extended Stay Columbia West. We booked in preference of a regular hotel specifically for its kitchen facilities. However, when we arrived, we found the room completely bare. There wasn't even a plug for the sink, let alone 'full kitchen' capacity. We asked the front staff multiple times over a 2 day stay to provide us with kitchen items, but were repeatedly told that there were none available - they were being cleaned, or other guests were using them. Eventually we secured a single bowl between the four of us... Kitchen amenity was worse than staying in a regular motel, as at least there we would have had a coffee maker and disposable cups. We had for example, a stove, but no way to use it without pots; a microwave, but no microwave safe containers; a sink but no soap, hand towel, or plug. The main areas also smelt incredibly bad for the first day of our stay, and the staff left bags of rubbish piled in the corridors overnight. We were relieved to leave, and seriously considered raising a dispute with the chain to be refunded. Only the thought of having to interact with their staff again deterred us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We sincerely apologize that you encountered so many difficulties during your stay with us. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate team members, so we can take action to prevent these issues from happening again. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with a better hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope you will give us that chance in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only stayed one night...

Posted Mar 12, 2018
However when we checked the bed there were stains on it and the sheets didn't seem too clean. We found some hair in the bed, however the stains on the mattress were what made me cringe more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2018 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to post your review. On behalf of our entire staff, we sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced. We have procedures in place so that this does not happen, so we will investigate where we fell short. We only wish that we could have addressed these issues while you were here so that you didn't leave the hotel with a negative impression. We assure you that what you experienced is not the norm and ask that you give us another try whenever you return to the area. We look forward to having you visit again so that we can provide you with a better stay. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

My Review

Posted Mar 4, 2018
Room was clean and staff was courteous, would recommend to any body. Will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Extended Stay America. We are delighted to read you loved our courteous service and your well-appointed room. We appreciate you recommending us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbia,sc

Nice hotel close to a lot of the town.

Posted Feb 4, 2018
I really enjoyed staying at this hotel, the two young ladies at the front desk on Saturday(2-3-18) were great! When I needed to upgrade my room these ladies were very accommodating and when they found out that the ac didn't work in that room they moved us with no problem. I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2018 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Shadrach, thank you for choosing Extended Stay America and taking time to review your stay. It was a pleasure reading about the excellent service you received from our staff. This is what we strive to do every day, so we thank you for acknowledging our efforts. Thanks again for recommending us to future guests. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston

Terrible Hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Will never stay here again, roach infested, dirty bedding, dirty towels, dirty room, stinch, loud and will never stay at this location again and don't recommend anyone staying unless you want a family of roaches residing with you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Sarah, thank you for reviewing your experience during your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the situation you described. You are absolutely correct to expect a comfortable, clean and bug-free environment when staying with us. Although we have regular pest control service at our hotel, we have contacted them for an immediate visit to address the issue quickly. We have also discussed your feedback with our housekeeping team to be more diligent in their service levels. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

T E R R I B L E

Posted Jan 18, 2018 on Hotels
Terrible . Towels and washcloths were dirty front desk service was trash! I called for utensils and was told I need to come down for them. I then go downstairs only to be told they only have knives. Dumbest thing ever! The microwave DID NOT WORK! I did not have any maid service while there. Smelled like smoke. And my last day I woke up to two roaches ... one in the bathroom and one in the main hallway. I will NEVER stay here again or tell my WORST enemy to stay here. I have pictures but for some reason they will not load!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Please accept my sincere apology for the difficulties you encountered with your room. We appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention and assure you that corrective measures have been taken. Our team's first priority is making sure that every guest has a comfortable stay, and this time we really missed the mark. We truly regret the inconvenience it caused. We hope you will consider and give us an opportunity to serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Vincent, we express our delight on receiving a fantastic rating of Extended Stay America. Our aim is to exceed our guest’s expectations and to deliver an amazing experience, so we are thrilled to see you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to doing so again whenever you are back here. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
by Nicole

Great NYE except for the bum fireworks

Posted Jan 7, 2018 on Hotels
Great location for travel to downtown area. Bed fairly comfortable and light, morning snack decent. For budget rate it's worth the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Nicole, thank you for staying at Extended Stay America and for the feedback. We are happy to read you were pleased with our convenient location and that our service was up to your needs along with the great value we offer. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to your next visit when in the area. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from columbia Sc

Roaches rat dropping and terrible smell

Posted Jan 3, 2018
We arrived to the smell of smoke. One of the girls in the room had just got out of the shower sat on the pull out bed to pit lotion on, on to see a small roach crawling on her. We then saw a bigger one on the wall. We proceeded to the from to ask for a different room which the front desk personell kindly gave to us. We moved across the hall and when we opened the door, it smelled like feces. I went to tune on the heat to find busted vents on the unit with some type of droppings in it... ( looked like mice droppings) we didn't even unpack. Left the same night with a full refund.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We take these matters very seriously and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will take the necessary actions to ensure these issues are properly addressed. Hotel Management