Ratings based on 687 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah Ga

Great location, easy walking to great food

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Was in town for business, hotel was quiet and conveniently located in downtown. Close to shopping and great food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Nice hotel, centrally located downtown

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Staff, old bank but modern amenities, good location
Cons: no hot water in shower on saturday morning
Location: we were in town to see Dave Chappelle at Township Auditorium, we walked to the venue from the hotel. Several little restaurants and shops nearby
Nice hotel, centrally located, parking is a little iffy, you can pay for parking or find a spot on the street, we found a spot on the street. Pretty interesting area to walk around, on saturday morning there was a farmers market right outside. Nice Rooftop bar, bartender was really nice, they only take debit/credit cards no cash. Hotel room was a little small, the bed was huge and took up most of the space, linens were nice, modern feel in beautifully remodeled old bank.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful older hotel.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Location location location
Cons: Location location location
Location: Perfect for what I was therefore, to go to the Statehouse
The only problem I had was with breakfast. They were totally understaffed and one girl was doing room service as well as waiting on tables. The food was just average
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown Columbia Hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Reserved and paid for a king room but was given a double. Room was very small and old. They did a good job trying to keeptbe room modern but the doors were beat up, the paint on the ceiling was peeling, etc. Saving grace was the front desk staff - they were incredibly nice and helpful. I realize the building may be old but that doesn't mean the rooms have to be. Especially for a Sheraton!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Columbia

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Close to USC. Central to everything Columbia. Older hotel revamped very nicely. Great feel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In Decline

Posted Jan 26, 2017
I've stayed here several times in the past. The hotel appears to be in decline. While staff is pleasant, the are not well trained nor responsive. Cable service was down, so TV's got very limited channels. No hotel store nor vending machines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place!

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Within walking distance to good food and good people!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as advertised

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Was very disappointed. There was no vending machine in the whole hotel. Had to walk next door to the Marriott to get a soft drink. The Vault/bar was a joke. The bartender was nice but clearly didn't know what they were doing. We had to tell them how to make the drinks we ordered. I made the wrong choice should have stayed next door at the Marriott. Much nicer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel was not easy for check in

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: We enjoyed the rooftop bar and view.
Cons: When someone is clearly handicapped, help them!!!!
The hotel was beautiful, but the check in/valet situation was terrible. We were visiting Columbia for a surgery follow up. My husband was on crutches. The valet brought out a luggage cart, but it seemed as though he did not want to help with the bags. It was hard for my husband (on crutches) and I to load the cart while double parked on the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Beautiful downtown historic hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Food service and customer service.
Location: Go to the Blue Marlin to eat. Cantina 76 is also nice.
The Sheraton Downtown is well located, walking distance to restaurants and to the state capitol building. We were disappointed with the restaurants in the hotel. The menu is very limited and they are not open for lunch. Calling the desk or getting help from a concierge is frustrating as the phone rings several times and they do not pick up. The rooms are small, but clean. Limited by the existing architecture some rooms don't have space for work. If you are traveling for business, you might want to ask for a room with a desk. One of the shades in our room was broken and could not be opened to let in light. We did not report this. Room service is average in quality and price.