Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tx

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Dirty hotel. Worst housekeeping. Dirty old carpets. Would not recommend except for location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad bed. Bad carpets. Bad shower.r

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: See above.
Location: Good local food.
The hallway carpets are in amazingly awful condition. The bed had a significant dip in the middle. The water pressure as weak.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Historic hotel in great location needing facelift

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Location and staff. The lady at the registration desk could not be more hospitable
Cons: Everything else. Needs to be brought to modern standards of comfort and design.
Location: Downtown Columbia, State house, University of SC, architectural and historic monuments.
This may be the best location in Columbia, SC, and the hotel used to be glorious at its time. Right now it is hardly 3-star based on its condition and amenities. Rooms are small, bathrooms are dated, even though there are remnants of early 20th century art deco elements. So if you expect a 4+ start experience, the hotel is not for you. If you are OK with less than stylish accommodations, it may be a good deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Wood floors, TV in bathroom, comfortable bed, clean room, quiet, nice bellman, nice parking attendant, beautiful historical hotel, no bedbugs!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Augusta,Ga

Disappointing stay

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: The bathroom was nice because it had a tv and looked clean.
Cons: The space of the hotel, creaky hardwood floors, the squeaky bed, the small space.
Location: Downtown Columbia- near bars. shops, state house, restaurant.
One word to sum it up dissapointing. The bed creaked and so did the floor. It was like an older hotel that was rennovated. If you like the historic aspect of a hotel, I guess that's cool. It wasn't what I expected at all for the price I paid. The staff was OKAY. If I could take back my money I would. There is room service, but it was overpriced. I should have just stayed at a mid rate hotel I would have felt better for the price. The room and entire hotel space was SMALL . You couldn't watch the tv channels above ch. 8. Don't stay here unless you would like to take a step back in time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Graduation for University of South Carolina

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: The Roof Top bar.
There are no refrigerators in the rooms. There are no vending machines or a place to purchase drinks or snacks in the hotel (other than the dining room or Starbucks with limited hours). This was an inconvenience for our group.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Historical and beautiful hotel. Great location. Can walk everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, a lot of bars and restaurants around

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Not only did the hotel have its own two bars and a restaurant, but I also found lots of those in a five minute walking radius.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

historical hotel in wonderful area

Posted Dec 2, 2015
close to downtown and walking distance to everything we needed. Historical hotel in restored bank building. Quirky but interesting. Staff very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Elegant hotel near Univ SC campus in downtown Colu

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Room was clean and beautiful. Beds comfortable. love older hotels and this was a lovely renovation of 1913 bank building.
Cons: Valet parking is slow. Trouble calling from room to request car - could never get anyone to answer phone. Maybe it's all in the luck of timing but see
Stayed just one night but really enjoyed it. Very tasteful decor and furnishings. Beautiful tiled and hardwood floors. Felt very cozy in our room.