Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Good hotel but some furniture needs replaced . sofa bed was in poor condition due to frame and it also made the couch uncomfortable for sitting due to support.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice suite sleeps a family of 5 comfortably

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: The staff were very kind and friendly. The room was equipped with all the amenities for guests. Room was very clean.
The room was very clean and convenient. It included all the amenities for a comfortable stay. The beds were comfortable too. The staff were very friendly and kind and made our stay much better. The amenities at the hotel on a whole were very well thought out. A great place for a family's extended stay of overnight.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Hotel Experience!!!

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
When we got there to check in, they told us that our reservation had been cancelled. Tried blaming Hotels.com, I believe they cancelled it so they could give our room which had a jetted tub to another customer. Do not stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need to readjust staff levels

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
I was not very satisfied with this stay. Unfortunately, when we arrived the room we booked with a jetted tub was dirty. It had not been cleaned from the previous guest. So we went back down with all of our stuff and were put into a different room. Although this new room was a great size and had a full kitchenette in it, it did not have the jetted tub. This room was also not as clean as you would hope. Leaving us questioning how clean things really were. Then when we went to take showers there were no towels. We called the front desk and they informed us they were out. We did not get fresh towels until the next afternoon. The staff was nice, and tried to be helpful, but we could tell they were very understaffed. We did arrive on Thanksgiving, so my guess is they had some call ins, or did not plan appropriately. Overall, it was not terrible, but I was not happy with what we encountered for the price we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice suite with kitchenette

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Location: Near to intersection of I-70 and Missouri 63.
Njce clean rooms. Nice kitchenette with furnished utilities. Housekeeping was more hit and miss. Free dinner Monday through Wednesday night as well as everyday continental breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Abigail T. Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Gary, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best service possible for every guest, every stay. We hope to have you stay with us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dirty and overpriced

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
The room smelled like stale smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. There were dozens of dead flies on the window sills. The shower was moldy and the floor tiles were loose. Definitely won't stay again... and it was not a bargain rate room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review. We appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to complete this review, and I would like to apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We are a non smoking hotel however not all guests abide by this rule, and as such rooms can sometimes have a slightly smoky odor even after multiple attempts to clear it out. As for the room issues you had we have spoken with our housekeeping department and deep cleaned the room as well as several others throughout the hotel. I hope that in the future you can come back and see the changes we have made to our property for yourself. Sincerely, Abigail T. Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockford, IL

Close to campus

Posted Nov 7, 2016
The King bed and sofa sleeper were not comfortable. There was not a hair dryer in our room. The location to the campus was good. The hot breakfast was very good. Took forever to get through to the hotel desk. There are no ice makers on the floors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our hot breakfast. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. As an extended stay property, we do not have ice makers on the floors. However, each guestroom comes with a full size refrigerator equipped with an ice maker. We hope you will visit us again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, Clean, and more for your money

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, a little bit inconveniently located, very clean, friendly staff. I was there for a college visit at Mizzou. This was nicer and for a better priced than many alternatives.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Mizzou. While we are set off the main road, we are located at the Highway 63 and I-70 intersection. We hope that you come back to visit soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable stay

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing stay, great salt water pool, very kid and family friendly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your amazing review of our hotel. I am very glad to hear that your stay with us was such a pleasant experience! We love having families stay with us and hope that you will bring your's by again if you are traveling through Columbia. Sincerely, Abigail T. Front Office Manager