Ratings based on 306 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane

A great alternative to the chains

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The staff were fantastic, and the room was clean and comfortable. This is nothing fancy, but a lovely improvement over the local budget chains. French, tasty breakfast, too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Tim Lamb General Manager , Hotel Management
Angela, thank you for your review. We do pride ourselves with a friendly staff at our Boutique Hotel. And yes we have a lovely free breakfast for all of our guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Peace and Calm

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Very comfortable and private... The view the inn provides to the Columbia River is gorgeous..
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Tim Lamb General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Yes the view on all KING rooms provide a gorgeous view of the Colunbia River and the Mountains
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Halfway between where I was going and where I was

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, view, and very beautifully appointed King room.
Cons: Some of the periphery could use some work, although I wonder if that's someone else's property? (Past the smoking hut, where there were two buses)
Location: It's on the edge of town. You'll have to drive to go out, but downtown are restaurants, cafes, museum, and an interesting town in the middle o nowhere
I have never stayed in the Dalles, but I was on a long trip and it was halfway. I remembered "that beautiful motel above the freeway with a view of the dam," and I looked up the name and made a reservation. I arrived an hour early, got early check-in, then went to my room and opened up the drapes to see one of the most beautiful industrial sights ever: the dam, filling up the entire landscape, and beautiful hills and clouds and a river. I went out to eat, then spent the evening looking out the window and reading and relaxing. The staff were great at check-in, later when I went to get a glass of wine up front (free with room), and in the morning when I went down for coffee. I am a heavy sleeper, so the freeway didn't bother me. You can barely hear it from your room, so be cautious if you're a Princess and the Pea kind of person. Checkout was easy, quick, and then I was down the hill and onto the freeway in a matter of minutes. One of the most restful nights I've had in years.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Tim Lamb General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Yes our King Rooms have a beautiful view of the river, dam and the town. Yes we are easy on and off the freeway with a very nice free breakfast in the morning. Tim Lamb General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The location of the motel is strange, the ride up the road not attractive. When you get to the top, there are nice views of the river and town. Room was small but very clean. Would not want to stay there more than one night unless you were only at the room to sleep because of the size. Felt like they cut their breakfast off too early. Staff was very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Tim Lamb General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We will keep our wonderful fresh breakfast later if requested. Complete with the fresh strawberries, blueberries, hard boiled eggs, Greek yogurt and the fresh hot cinnamon rolls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Best Kept Secret in The Gorge!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The VIEW!!! The staff. The beds. Cleanliness. Quiet
Cons: The pillows. They need king sized pillows. The ones they have are new, but too small.
Location: Two minutes from town. The Dalles Dam. Hiking. Biking. Windsurfing. Kiteboarding. Kayaking. Horseback riding. Swimming. Boating. Fishing.
The VIEW is what sparked my interest, and I am SO glad that I booked the Celilo Inn. Yes the view is AMAZING! The Columbia River; the Dalles Dam; and Mt. Hood (I watched the sun set behind the mountain). However there is more. The beds are brand new pillow-top. Great nights sleep. It's quiet, but 2 minutes from town, and about 1 min off the freeway. Great staff. Super welcoming. Gave me coupons for dinner. Great little breakfast room. Plenty of parking. Swimming pool (although I stayed in winter, I will be back). REALLY clean rooms. And very accommodating when I needed a late checkout since I was in town for my daughter's surgery. Lastly, one of my family left their phone behind, and the Celilo staff went to great lengths to return it. I stay in hotels about 100 nights per year ad I HIGHLY recommend the Celilo Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Kai, yes we are the best kept secret in The Dalles. The VIEW from the KING rooms are awesome with an amazing comfortable room. Please come again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Joseph

Unplanned stay due to bad roads

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: The room was comfortable
Cons: The bathroom floors were cold. I suppose that's why they provided slippers at check-in, but I didn't pick them up. A hot tub would be nice!
I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was clean, had a great view of the river, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Free bottle of wine was awesome.
Location: Your in The Dallas, so depends on the season.
We arrived late, regardless the night clerk was very friendly and helpful. Wish we would have had more time to spend hanging around. The view was interesting. The feel was comfortable and warm/
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
The only down fall to staying here was the freeway traffic, it was light but I could still hear it. Over all the room and property were great , the room was nice and clean and ready. Ill definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly comfortable stay

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Reception staff provided room change upon request and were extremely helpful with information about nearby restaurants and tourist opportunities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, but a ways off the main highway and town.

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
The room was very small and the TV did not work when we arrived so the front desk person had to come and fix it. Not a good location to stay if you have a truck pulling a trailer.