Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sisters, OR

Wonderful location, great staff.

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: relaxing by the fire in the main lobby, visiting the spa, great food in the dinning room
Cons: Would have enjoyed a larger bathroom
Location: Beautiful views of the Columbia river and surrounding mountains. Great places to walk and hike. Indoor pool. Golf and tennis on site, and rip line.
Highly recommend the Hood River Suite, fantastic view of the Columbia River. Just like a post card
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great venue for a conference.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The natural setting was beautiful. The $7 s'more kit (4 marshmallows, 1 Hershey bar and 2 graham crackers) was over priced but fun. Pool was good size
Cons: Hard bed, inconsistent housekeeping, really expensive on site dining.
Location: Did not leave the hotel and explore.
Conference area was very nice. Food was ok. Room was a good size, bed was very hard. We tried the "green" option to skip housekeeping for a $5 food credit one night, and ended up with no housekeeping for the entire conference.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Customer Service needs work

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Location: Lots of hiking.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We originally booked through Expedia, and had to call the hotel to arrange for a dog friendly room. I contacted them via the chat application and was told that the dog friendly rooms were not comparable to the original room I booked. When I asked about the price difference, I was told to contact Expedia directly for a refund. The dog friendly room did not have a view, which is what I booked. They could easily save their customers time by indicating on the expedia website which rooms are dog friendly. Other hotels do this and it doesn't necessitate their customers having to call the hotel, then call expedia for a refund. Also, we asked for a late check-out which typically is not a big deal and were told no.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun for everyone

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We stayed there because of a run we were doing near there. The food was great the view and grounds incredible. There is zipline and trails for things to do outside. A fire pit at night. The staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma WA

Beautiful facility in a gorgeous setting

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Setting, facility, architecture, art, and food.
Location: At the western end of the Columbia Gorge. The hotel-arranged activities include golf and zip-line runs. Beautiful scenery and hiking are immediately
We arrived quite late, had our bags taken upstairs, and went to dinner. The main dining room is spacious and airy; our table overlooked the Columbia River and (as night fell) the outdoor fire pit. The menu is ambitious and well done, with good service. After dinner, we enjoyed meeting people around the fore pit. When we finally got to our room, we found champagne in an ice bucket, with a note wishing us a good anniversary. The room and facility were great. It's a large hotel, conference center, and grounds, with really interesting visual art throughout. The hotel provides a walking guide to the paintings and sculptures -- each very original and contemporary, such a great contrast to most "hotel art."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hood River, OR

Posted Aug 31, 2016
The Lodge is in a beautiful wooded area with views of the Columbia River and the many boats/ships. Large spacious open areas inside and out with lots of seating. Quiet and relaxing with a nice Spa to rejuvenate!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The hotel was informal but elegant with excellent cuisine in a beautiful setting overlooking the Columbia River. We only stayed for one night but plan to return for a longer stay in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oversold posers

Posted Aug 27, 2016
The spa is poorly managed. This place needs a "secret shopper" The front desk attendant forgot our wake up call on the first day and different attendant didn't bother to look up when we entered the 2cd night. I give it 5 yrs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Seabeck, WA

Nice resort

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Cons: Nice resort, but could use a bit of work. Hot tub outside had a hole in the tile. Staff was nice, but didn't go out of their way to help. There was
Nice resort. Stayed one night for business trip. Only place in town that was actually nice. Other places had bad reviews. Big resort that could accommodate a large group. Seems to have large conference areas. Would have liked to have visited the bar, but didn't have time. Didn't eat at the restaurant either.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice property. Terrible room. Way over-priced.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Beautiful property and amenities.
Cons: Modernize the rooms. Move the a/c out of the room. Noisy in-room a/c compressor feels like Motel 6.
Location: The Columbia Gorge is great for hiking, sightseeing and wandering through a few small towns. Easy to get off the beaten path up side-roads
Skamania is a beautiful property. We stayed here for lack of another good option in the Stevenson area. We will look at other options next time. Our room was dark, facing a bank in the back. We were offered a view room for a $50 up-charge - not what I was expecting for an already $250 room. The quality of the room (especially the noisy in-room air conditioner) felt like Motel 6. It was clean and efficient and would have been a reasonable value at about $150 less. I appreciate that a lot of what you are paying for is the property. Unless the property and its amenities are your goal and destination, stay somewhere else.