Ratings based on 332 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Customer Service needs work

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Location: Lots of hiking.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We originally booked through Expedia, and had to call the hotel to arrange for a dog friendly room. I contacted them via the chat application and was told that the dog friendly rooms were not comparable to the original room I booked. When I asked about the price difference, I was told to contact Expedia directly for a refund. The dog friendly room did not have a view, which is what I booked. They could easily save their customers time by indicating on the expedia website which rooms are dog friendly. Other hotels do this and it doesn't necessitate their customers having to call the hotel, then call expedia for a refund. Also, we asked for a late check-out which typically is not a big deal and were told no.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun for everyone

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We stayed there because of a run we were doing near there. The food was great the view and grounds incredible. There is zipline and trails for things to do outside. A fire pit at night. The staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma WA

Beautiful facility in a gorgeous setting

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Setting, facility, architecture, art, and food.
Location: At the western end of the Columbia Gorge. The hotel-arranged activities include golf and zip-line runs. Beautiful scenery and hiking are immediately
We arrived quite late, had our bags taken upstairs, and went to dinner. The main dining room is spacious and airy; our table overlooked the Columbia River and (as night fell) the outdoor fire pit. The menu is ambitious and well done, with good service. After dinner, we enjoyed meeting people around the fore pit. When we finally got to our room, we found champagne in an ice bucket, with a note wishing us a good anniversary. The room and facility were great. It's a large hotel, conference center, and grounds, with really interesting visual art throughout. The hotel provides a walking guide to the paintings and sculptures -- each very original and contemporary, such a great contrast to most "hotel art."
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hood River, OR

Posted Aug 31, 2016
The Lodge is in a beautiful wooded area with views of the Columbia River and the many boats/ships. Large spacious open areas inside and out with lots of seating. Quiet and relaxing with a nice Spa to rejuvenate!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The hotel was informal but elegant with excellent cuisine in a beautiful setting overlooking the Columbia River. We only stayed for one night but plan to return for a longer stay in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oversold posers

Posted Aug 27, 2016
The spa is poorly managed. This place needs a "secret shopper" The front desk attendant forgot our wake up call on the first day and different attendant didn't bother to look up when we entered the 2cd night. I give it 5 yrs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seabeck, WA

Nice resort

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Cons: Nice resort, but could use a bit of work. Hot tub outside had a hole in the tile. Staff was nice, but didn't go out of their way to help. There was
Nice resort. Stayed one night for business trip. Only place in town that was actually nice. Other places had bad reviews. Big resort that could accommodate a large group. Seems to have large conference areas. Would have liked to have visited the bar, but didn't have time. Didn't eat at the restaurant either.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice property. Terrible room. Way over-priced.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Beautiful property and amenities.
Cons: Modernize the rooms. Move the a/c out of the room. Noisy in-room a/c compressor feels like Motel 6.
Location: The Columbia Gorge is great for hiking, sightseeing and wandering through a few small towns. Easy to get off the beaten path up side-roads
Skamania is a beautiful property. We stayed here for lack of another good option in the Stevenson area. We will look at other options next time. Our room was dark, facing a bank in the back. We were offered a view room for a $50 up-charge - not what I was expecting for an already $250 room. The quality of the room (especially the noisy in-room air conditioner) felt like Motel 6. It was clean and efficient and would have been a reasonable value at about $150 less. I appreciate that a lot of what you are paying for is the property. Unless the property and its amenities are your goal and destination, stay somewhere else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tx

Beautiful location and loved the room.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
I would recommend this resort to anyone but we had a problem with the hotel staff. We left a sweater there after leaving and called one hour later to have them retrieve it for us to pickup later. I was told they would returning that evening as we said but they had not found it yet. We told them it was hanging in the closet and even after several days I was told they didn't have it . This is why I give them a lower rating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting and accomodations

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Such a relaxing and beautiful place. Our room was spacious, quiet and clean. Bed was very comfortable. The view from the dining room and bar is amazing. Food at brunch and breakfast was wonderful! We are going to make this our annual birthday destination.