Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Methow Valley, WA

Older but comfortable

Posted Jan 7, 2017
An older motel in progress of being upgraded. Comfortable and clean, centrally located with easy access. Can easily recommend to all who are looking for a clean, reasonably priced room w/of the need to pay for unused frills.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tacoma

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Recently remodeled, ,conveniently located. Staff was accommodating for a late check in. Room was pretty nice, glad it was just myself and didn't have my wife with me or she would have found plenty to complain about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend, United States of America

Hotel has been upgraded

Posted Oct 19, 2016
After reading several reviews prior to staying here I was a bit cautious on what we would find, but we were pleasantly surprised. You could tell they had been working on updating this motel. Our room was comfortable and quiet. It has all amenities and I would recommend this motel if you are travelling though Hood River.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Easy check in and out. Clean. Well lit parking lot, and common areas. Safeway across the street.
Cons: Bathroom a little small.
Location: Really good location to the whole town
We were in town for a swim meet. Clean nice place and centrally located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newly updated

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Newly updated room Big new flat screen tv Slightly loud a/c unit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silverton, Oregon

Came to Hood River for the Hops Fest

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We stayed at the Sunset Motel and found the entire experience more than acceptable. It was much better than expected. For less than a $100 we enjoyed a very nice and quiet room, well decorated, comfortable bed with a large high def Vizio flatscreen. Out of the back window was Mt.Hood in the distance. The fellow at the front desk was warm & welcoming, with a sense of humor, and he made sure that if I wanted anything - 24 hours a day - to let him know. You don't get that kind of offer much at a lodging at this price. And because of the price, I rate this motel above "pleasing" - and as "excellent". Hood River can be a fun town. And when I return, I'll be heading to the Sunset Hotel to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hood River, Or

New but worn!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Front door had been forced open and repaired by amateur. Furniture too big for room and oddly placed. Won't go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was disapointing

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Constrution everywhere. No elevator. Would not go back. Would not recommend to travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth UK

Convenient to local amenities

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Quiet and easily accessible
Cons: Should be fine when the construction work completed
Location: Good downtown for shopping
Local supermarkets, fuel station and a decent restaurant for evening meal and good breakfast diner as well. Construction work no problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Hotel was being overhauled with new construction

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Value and location.
Cons: Make sure the doors are clean and put a few pics on the wall.
Location: Easy access to main drag and about 1 mile from the center of town.
The parking at the hotel was sparse due to construction taking place. I couldn't find the office at first either. I suspect once it is done it would be a bit nicer and maybe get a better rating. The room was fairly clean except all the finger prints and dirt on the door when it was closed. I cleaned it off with one of the wash rags and did mention it to the staff when leaving. Also the update to the room itself was odd. There were no pictures and no towel handles in places that had the wall hardware, odd.It lacked any sense of at least trying to make it a bit cozy. The staff however was genuine and friendly.