Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Akron, OH

Nice and clean hotel, but thin walls.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Cons: Insulation blown into the walls. I could make out the words the couple next door said during their sexual encounter.
Location: Everything that I needed was less than 3 minutes away. (Gas, food, supplies)
The hotel was clean and nice. The walls were paper thin. I could hear all the graphic and intimate "activities" going on in the room next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Posted Feb 1, 2017
We stayed 2 different nights. Very nice place. Close to the casino.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by Dinesh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Hot tub had a strong fishy smell. Walls are pretty thin so you can hear everything in the hall. Staff was decent. Very hard to find from the main road as it shares a lot with another hotel that's directly in front of this one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice

Posted Jan 26, 2017
nice hotel i will come again soon and i will recommend this hotel to all my friends
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Dinesh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area! Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice close to the main highway and shopping

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Stayed for 4 days while visiting my sister. The place was nice and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Dinesh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad Experience for a 3 year old child's Birthday.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Seems to family run and none very friendly or nice.
Location: Location was ok.
At check in, lady at counter was rude to our granddaughter and not very accomodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Dinesh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. Front desk was just said not to hit luggage cart to grandfather and do not jump on it. she may get hurt her self. you was just watching her jumping on luggage cart but did not said word to her. and just to let you know we do not allow party in room and your Room was trash. housekeeper took 2 hours to clean your Room.there was food allover and spilled drink on table and on carpet. we have to shampoo your room. hotel should charge you for that. we work hard to keep our hotel clean but when hotel said something people said we are Rude and not accommodating. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW Ohio

Pre-audition stay

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: room size was adequate for 2 people
Cons: Signage to hotel and not lying to guests about facility use. A/C unit in room was loud when running. Signage for ice is confusing.
Location: Difficult to find actual hotel since they share a drive way with another hotel and are located behind it.
I reserved a 2 queen room for my son and I the night before he had a music audition at a local university. I called two nights before arrival to verify he could practice somewhere at hotel the evening of arrival. We were told yes, no problem, the business center would be allowed as long as it wasn't rented. Upon check in I asked again to verify details and the person (seemed like the owner/manager) was surprised at our request. She said no, it wasn't possible after 6 pm as it would disturb other guests and she demanded to know who would have told us that. I told her what time/day we had called but she didnt seem to know who would have been working. Come on, really? It was just two nights ago. I came close to cancelling our reservation right then and there since it was before cut off time but decided we were too tired from being at the university all that day at an academic competition and we needed to take a nap. We had to drive 20 minutes back that evening back to Capital University to practice so it was inconvenient. The room itself was OK. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean but there was no microwave, refrigerator or separate wash area from the toilet/shower area. The breakfast was passable. The pool was a little cool and the switch timer to the hot tub was located far away from the actual hot tub. The pool did not work to call the desk which I believe is a big safety violation. There were no towels in the pool area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Dinesh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. and We did allow you to use our Meeting room per your request. we have to make sure other guest dont get disturb since Meeting Room is on first floor and in middle of hotel. also there is Guest Room above meeting room. Because of noise complain we do not even rent meeting room in the evening. also There is 2 other Country inn and Suites in Columbus and people get confused which one they calling thats why we ask you who did you talk to and your reservation was thru Expedia So may spoke with them. our Pool is open and working fine. it is on Right Temperature. we did not had any Complain about Pool. i know you are unhappy because of your son Prentice but we did allow you to use it with No cost. I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northwestern Connecticut

Welcome comfort in inclement weather

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: We found you on line. Very convenient registration. Located exactly half way on our trip from CT to MO.
Cons: A bit difficult to find in the dark, behind the Best Western!, had to use our GPS.
Location: "As the crow flies" the location was just right for us. However, other buildings obscure the location. I think better signage would be helpful.
Weary travelers found relief and needed rest in an ice storm enroute cross-country. Thankyou! We especially enjoyed the well-stocked and displayed continental breakfast. We will stay there again when the occasion arises.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Dinesh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Home away from Home for NCAA Volleyball Final 4

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Stayed three nights with my wife and adult son. Just off I-70 with easy access to downtown and Nationwide Arena. Typical room and expected breakfast fare. We lived out of our suitcases as there were few dresser drawers for the three of us to to unpack into for this somewhat longer stay. However, the refrigerator was useful and a microwave was available. Having a sink outside of the bathroom would have been helpful. Staff allowed us to quietly use breakfast/meeting room one late evening for card and game playing. My wife used the exercise room. We did not use the pool/hot tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Dinesh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Bad service!

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Building is new
Cons: Change the staff! All of them are rude!
Location: gas station near by
Their staff are liars & rude. They charged me for things that were not true, and then COULD NOT EXPLAIN it to me!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Dinesh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel and we also check your reservation that you made thru Expedia and noticed in your reservation that you only register 2 person NOT 4 PERSON and you had 4 person staying in your room which was front desk trying to explain you. You only paid for 2 people.you have to register actual No of people you can not have more people staying without register them and paid for them. and of course there is price difference for extra adult on Expedia too and you did not want to pay for it. because Front desk found your fault you are telling them liar. you did not gave correct information to Expedia and hotel too. SO WHO IS LIAR YOU OR STAFF??? It is very easy to blame others for our fault but very hard to be honest. But I apologies for inconvenience and we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.