Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Nancy from Charlotte, NC

Columbus Day Inn NOT recommended. Go to next town.

Posted May 22, 2015 on Hotels
This a motel and the room was very basic; but worst was that the fairly new carpet was totally not clean, as became apparent when that my feet were dirty after just taking a shower and walking barefoot on the carpet. EW!!! Stayed at this location because there is no other hotel/motel in town, but in future will drive a bit further for better accommodations. Not cheap, either! And the system double-booked me on a pre-paid reservation that I didn't know about until check-in, then the motel refused to accept a cancellation request and charged me for the double reservation! Also, directional signage is completely lacking and the motel maps are incorrect; the ice machine/vending area is all the way at one far end of the complex, but nothing tells you where it is. Had to call the front desk. Yes, I will NEVER stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2015
Not there much. Just for sleeping. I was on a business trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value, safe neighborhood

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
I was looking for inexpensive and clean. That's what I got. Nothing fancy. It appeared to be a nice safe neighborhood.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Other then the snow very good

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
The place is hard to find. The woman at the deck couldn't answer my questions. The room was nicely heated, the bed was a little hard but to me only. The breakfast was fair good waffles fresh fruit ceral . The orange juice didn't work three mornings. Overall it was a pleasant stay for 5 nights
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Needs updating. Needs check-in and lobby combined.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gulf shores al

Good hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Facilities were great
Cons: nothing
Location: we were looking at houses. Town was adorable as well as Tryon.
Very happy and our dog was happy! Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by THAT GuY from CHARLOTTE,NC

Hotel location

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels
GREAT PLACE WELL SEATED IN NC MTNS ,NEAR TO LOTS OF COOL ATTRACTIONS
1 out of 5
by I

Misleading

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
They claim to have wifi and they do. It's just enough to cover maybe one or two computers at a time. Clever trick guys. It's not like people use hotels for business trips when you need the internet. It's cool I finally got through at 1am after trying for nine hours.
5 out of 5
by Jacob from Louisville, KY

Good hotel for the price

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel room was clean and I felt safe both in the room and on the grounds. The person working the front desk was friendly and helpful. There wasn't anything fancy or luxurious about the stay but like I said it was clean and safe so I was comfortable there and would be willing to stay there again if I was in the area again.
5 out of 5
by Bill from Columbus, NC

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is fairly new and well maintained. The staff was very pleasant and the room very nice. We would stay there again if the occasion comes up. The only down item for the week was how badly many other travelers treat the property. When we arrived the lawn was just mowed. The next morning it had a lot of litter on it left by people who stayed there. The next morning there was even more. It would be nice and everyone could enjoy their travel much more if everyone treated the properties with the same respect as they would want their home treated.