Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Worst sleep of my life

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Basically everything
Drunk fighting outside of door for several nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that there were a number of disturbances during your stay. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are working to ensure that no one experiences what you did during your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: The room was clean.
Cons: The room needed to be updated.
The room was ok, it was very clean, however, it will not be my first choice to stay there again. The staff was very nice, accommodating and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I truly appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room and the friendliness of our staff, but disappointed that we were not be your first choice. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Sep 21, 2016
The room are dirty and no cleared. Bad condictions and too diferent as show on picturais on expedia website.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us was not a pleasant on. To uphold our company's high standards, we are in the process of going through exterior remodeling and will do the interiors of the rooms next. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
This hotel was the worst hotel ever. When we first checked in the sheets had holes in them. There were only 24 tv channels. For a 3 night stay, house keeping never appeared to clean our room or change the sheets. We had to go down stairs and ask for own sheets to change our own bed. Each night we had to go back down to the office because our keys didn't work. Construction took over the parking lot. Never ever will I stay again !
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please know that we are sincerely sorry that our room did not meet your expectations. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have taken the responsibility to review with the laundry staff the importance of thoroughly checking the linen as they fold it to ensure your experience is not repeated. I also want to apologize that our housekeeping procedures were not properly explained to you during your check in. We typically do not provide daily housekeeping; but the option is available upon request for a small fee. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from columbus

not horrible

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
its a OK place to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm glad to see you had an okay stay, but I would rather you had an excellent stay at our hotel. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us. .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Reasonable price, clean and comfortable.
Location: This hotel is located on the north side of Columbus, near the airport and I-185. The Riverwalk, whiter water rafting and CSU campus downtown are close
Nice clean room, comfortable and reasonably priced. Located close to a variety of dining options from fast food to upscale. Easy access to main roads and the airport. The hotel was under renovations while I was there and parking next to the building was not allowed due to exterior painting, but it was only a minor inconvenience. Free wi-fi was a plus. My only real concern was the entrance/exit driveway was on a busy road and on a blind curve so exiting to the left was pretty dicey and traffic comes around the curve at you pretty fast. I recommend turning right and adjusting your route accordingly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you were able to enjoy our convenient location near activities in the area and the reasonable price for our rooms. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for what it was

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
We had a problem with the size of the sheets on the bed. Anytime either one of us moved, the sheets were pulled off the other one. My husband did not sleep well at all because the cold air kept hitting him whenever I moved (apparently that's alot)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to accommodate you with a comfortable stay. In response to your feedback, our team and I are working together to make sure guests are comfortable. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, GA

Stay away from this extended stay

Posted Aug 23, 2016
I travel so much for work that i occasionally book rooms that I am unhappy with, but this place is the only one I'm compelled to write about. It's dirty, the back side has the main freeway in Columbus next to it (very loud), and the staff are reluctantly helpful. My main gripe is over the staff. I accidentally locked myself out at 11:30pm, without a shirt on. I went to the lobby and discovered a note saying that they're "not coming back until 7:00am"! If i would've known they'd do that, I'd never have stayed there. Luckily i did have my car keys, so I slept in my car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The situation you described regarding you getting locked out of your room is truly regrettable. Upon check-in we inform the guest of our amenities and our office hours. We also communicate that even though our office closes at 11 pm, we have a night attendant on-site who can be reached with the phone located outside our office. We are very sorry for your experience. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will make sure that this information is communicated thoroughly to all guests to make sure your experience is not repeated. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
5 out of 5
by Terrelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Not what I expected

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The location wasn't what I expected. I looked at the pictures on the site and they do not compare to where it is actually located. The air conditioner didn't work. The room was really hot. The lights were so dim you couldn't see anything. We had a kitchen in our room and it didn't have any pots or pan or dishes to cook with. The bathroom was really small. My brother also got a room and he had cockroaches in his room. His air conditioner did work. Oh and both phones didn't work in the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. Please know we are sincerely sorry that we did not meet your expectations regarding your stay. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are determined to correct all the issues you mentioned. First, we will be thorough in explaining our cookware policy regarding how to request dishes and other amenities. Next, we have informed our necessary staff about the air conditioning and phones not functioning properly. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.