Ratings based on 1,400 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
Poor location and rundown no more to say would not recommend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Posted May 11, 2017
Picked this hotel to stay at for a quick business trip. The toilet in my room felt as though it was rocking when you sat down, and the sink bowl had an enormous crack in it. Overall the maintenance on the room was hugely lacking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sketchy hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Didn't feel very safe. Door handle loose. People walking around outside hotel at all hours, loud and having parties. *This is a motel* doors open to the outside
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset Center, MI

Not very handicap accessible

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: The size of the suite.
Cons: Handicap accessibility.
Location: Columbus, OH. We were there to visit family, so we didn't visit anything else.
Love the fact that this was a suite which gave us plenty of room. I really don't like to make negative reviews, but this time I must. After requesting a handicap room and following up with a phone call to verify that it was indeed handicap accessible, I was told that it was. Even though it did have handicap rails in the bathroom, it still had a bathtub. That is not handicap accessible for someone who can't lift a leg. Please install a real handicap shower. Also the breakfast was on the 2nd floor which was not easily accessible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Close to interstate but not noisy

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Love the comfortable beds
Cons: Updating the sofa, had some wear that was pretty noticable
Location: Close to highway and restaurants.
On our way back from New York to Missouri and needed to rest. The room that was provided was awesome. Small kitchen which was nice in the am. Large bathroom area and best of all, the beds were sooo comfortable. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The only problem is that they charged me twice. Other than that the room was beautiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Hotel staff very friendly. Issues were: 1. Pillows horrible 2. Bathtub had hair in it 3. You could hear every move the people above us made.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Value.

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Pros- Staff was great and always helpful and efficient. The gated and fenced in area gives it a secluded and safe feel. For the hotels.com price it can't really be beat as far as value goes in Columbus. You get a full suite with kitchen and room for 3 or 4 people to stay easily. The furniture is functional if somewhat dated. Cons. I saw on the their website where they spent millions on redoing the place but I didn't see anything like that. The outside of the buildings has peeling paint and I even saw one window frame with a board sticking away from the building. The railings going upstairs are so grimy and dirty you have to wash your hands when you get in the room. The outside really makes the place look worse than it is. Not a dig on this place but just a tip to fellow travelers. If you can get the Cloverleaf in Dublin when their rooms are $89 spend the extra ten bucks it's worth the difference and has everything you get here in a nicer setting but if you need to save some bucks and no one else has a good deal I would still stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It had potential, but missed the mark

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Cons: Check-in procedure, room cleanliness, maintenance, preparation for a new guest's arrival
Our experience was tainted from the beginning. I came in to the office to check in to find the employee at the desk arguing rudely on the phone and she took several minutes to even acknowledge my presence, after which she brusquely asked what I needed without any apology for the wait or her manner. She handed me my key and a map with a short explanation, which happened to exclude any information on how to even enter in through the gate at the front, access WiFi or how to find breakfast the next morning. Getting that information was like pulling teeth. Finally arriving in our room, which was literally in the farthest corner, which was very dark since the lights were all burned out, we found our room dirty with several scattered tumbleweeds throughout, the room was a frigid 55 degrees and there were no extra blankets or sheets as the sign on the closet indicated. Our amenities such as shampoo and lotion were half-used and there was an air of misuse about the whole place. Sadly, our experience left us uncomfortable and tired in the morning and we couldn't wait to check out, we couldn't even bring ourselves to try the breakfast. We will definitely avoid Hawthorn Suites in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Great staff best value

Posted Feb 20, 2017
I loved the penthouse suite we stayed in it had 2 private bedrooms and 2 baths comfortable queen size beds loved the fireplace it was like a home away from home the staff was so accommodating I enjoyed the free hot breakfast offered each morning best value by far for a short to long term stay that came with a fully equipped kitchen