Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus, ohio

Great hotel!!

Posted Jan 15, 2017
The only negative was they were doing construction and the pool was closed. Also, they were working on the roof below during the day and it made it difficult to nap, if you needed too. Staff was awesome and love the restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Thanksgiving in Columbus Ohio was a BUST!!

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff.
Cons: The bathrooms and heating/air-conditioning.
Location: Very good for restaurant's and downtown attractions.
The hotel is under renovation on the outside but inside my room was horrible!! The bathroom was the worst!! 1) The exhaust fan in the bathroom was not working, foggy mirrors after showering. 2) The Fluid Master Water flush seal was leaking and the tank refilled every 5-10 minutes my whole two day stay. 3) The water pressure in the face bowl was too high and got a "shower" even when SLOWLY turning on the water. 4) Changes in the room temperature thermostat to the new unit wall unit from the original control in the incoming window unit ran constantly. from heating to cooling day and night!! (set points were possibly too close)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by P Andrew Hurles, Hotel Management
Dear Tommy, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are saddened to learn that we fell short of your expectations. I have alerted our Engineering Team regarding the issues that you described and will have them resolved immediately. Please contact my office at your leisure to discuss further service recovery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

staff were excellent

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Location ok, Not close to much action but the shuttle woud take you to the arena district or wherever you needed to go.
Somewhat dated but clean. Staff were very accommodating Reasonable price
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by P Andrew Hurles, Hotel Management
Dear Wayne, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate the feedback that you provided as it assists us on our performance. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colubus oh

Free parking was a bonus.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Very clean, free parking, helpful staff, and good food at restaurant.
Cons: All was great, nothing negative to say about our stay at the Holiday Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by P Andrew Hurles, Hotel Management
We truly appreciate the 5 star review as it assists us in our performance and how we are servicing our guests. Hopefully we will see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel bar and breakfast bar. decent location and on site parking was nice.
Cons: The only thing is the shower, it was like when I'm at home and someone flushes the toilet, no water pressure, different water temps ....not a good set-up, most hotels have their showers on separate lines so other rooms don't affect the other.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by P Andrew Hurles, Hotel Management
Dear Christopher, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate all of the feedback that you have provided. I will be meeting with our Management Team to review the issues in mention. Hopefully you will give us another try the next time you are in our city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice downtown hotel close to the Short North & OSU

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Great location, clean room, updated bathroom, nice shower, nice outside parking lot with easy access.
Cons: We arrived at 3:45 and the room wasn't quite ready.
Location: Short North Restaurants, OSU campus less than 3 miles away.
My daughter got tickets for us to go to the OSU football game at the last minute and I was able to book a room at the hotel the day before. I've stayed here one other time and had a good experience, so I was happy there was a room available. The hotel is less than 3 miles from campus and you don't have to take the highway, so it was super easy to get to the game and back downtown. Quick check in, clean room, great shower. We would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by P Andrew Hurles, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you very much for the positive feedback. I truly apologize that you experienced a wait for your room as this is not our normal stand of operation. Hopefully you will give us another try the next time you are in our city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

safery and cleanliness a big concern

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The wait staff in the restaurant were nice.
Cons: No security and it was dirty!
The description said that the hotel had been remodeled. It smelled of cigarette smoke! There was only a 3.8 rating so we weren't expecting a 4 star hotel, but the biggest complaints were safety and cleanliness. The doors through to the outside, into the restaurant, were open, and there's nothing separating the restaurant from the hotel elevators. It was the weekend of Halloween so needless to say there were a lot of characters coming in and out of the hotel all night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by P Andrew Hurles, Hotel Management
Dear Lindsay, Thank you for staying with us. After reading your review, we are truly saddened that we fell short of your expectations. The management team has been alerted of your comments and we will work very hard to correct this. Hopefully you will give us another try the next time you are in our city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Holiday Inn Downtown Columbus, OH, was an almost p

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Again, the staff. They try so hard to make life easy for you while you are traveling.
Cons: I wish I knew about the handicapped rooms before we were settled in a regular room. In spite of the mix-up, the room was beautiful and comfortable.
Location: We were in Columbus specifically to attend an event at the State House, which is only a block and a half away.
The rooms are beautiful, the staff very pleasant. I needed handicapped equipment and requested it at the time of reservation and again at confirmation. Did not receive it. However, I did come to find out later that they do have handicapped rooms which would have solved my problem. So, when registering, ask for an handicapped room. That will make your stay so much better. The best part is that the staff tries so hard to make your stay a pleasant one and that counts for quite a lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by P. Andrew Hurles, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review! We are pleased to learn that our staff took care of your room type requests. Hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A bit of a walk but a nice hotel.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The hotel was clean and recently renovated.
Cons: The bar/restaurant menu was very limited to burgers/sandwiches. They were good overall though.
Location: You have to walk a few blocks to get to any restaurants or social life.
The hotel was clean and seemed to be recently renovated. It was a bit of a walk to anywhere for any activities but OK if you are there for business or do not care to leave etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by ahurles, Hotel Management
Thank for the positive feedback and 4 star review! Hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Great experience. The only downside is that it was further from the Columbus convention centre than I realized, but that's my mistake, not theirs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by ahurles, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five star review!!! Hope to see you again soon.