Ratings based on 616 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit of a walk but a nice hotel.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The hotel was clean and recently renovated.
Cons: The bar/restaurant menu was very limited to burgers/sandwiches. They were good overall though.
Location: You have to walk a few blocks to get to any restaurants or social life.
The hotel was clean and seemed to be recently renovated. It was a bit of a walk to anywhere for any activities but OK if you are there for business or do not care to leave etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Great experience. The only downside is that it was further from the Columbus convention centre than I realized, but that's my mistake, not theirs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to city life and concert venues

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Free shuttle service. Outstanding, friendly staff. Quiet rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greensburg pa

Great location

Posted Sep 7, 2016
We had a wonderful time in Columbus and the staff at the Holiday Inn were fantastic..bars..restaurants were close..and we right in the middle.of everywhere we wanted to.go..German village..short north
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good downtown location

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Hotel was under renovation, most likely the reason for discounted price. Restaurant and and bar not open.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Elizabeth, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time and review. Hopefully you can come see us when we have our new restaurant Burger Theory open!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bethel Park, PA

Good Location, But That's About It

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Three things: location, location, and location.
Cons: Four letters: H, V, A, and C.
Location: 1 block from Greyhound, 4 blocks from airport bus/Ohio capitol, 1 mile from convention center, 2 blocks from 16-Bit (a really awesome bar)
First, the bad: * The HVAC in the rooms is...not that good. It's almost impossible to completely shut it off, the air conditioning won't go any lower than 70 degrees, and it lets outside humidity into the room. (It was VERY wet in Columbus when I was there, but that's no excuse.) * The breakfast isn't free and is served in the manner of a sit-down restaurant...with slow service. And now, the good: * The location is EXCELLENT. It's next door to the Greyhound station, a few blocks from a stop on the airport bus, and within a mile of pretty much anywhere you'd want to go in downtown Columbus. * The breakfast is good. Oh, and the wi-fi is free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Elizabeth, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us in Downtown Columbus! We appreciate you taking the time to give your review. We are checking that HVAC unit and making changes. Thanks again,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本

交通の便もよく比較的安価

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: 一週間快適に過ごせました。
Cons: 食堂が工事中で使用できなかった。滞在した階(4階)の自販機がなぜか紙幣を受け付けてくれなかった。
Location: 近くにレストランが少ないのが難点か。空港行きのバスや市内無料バスのバス停が比較的近い。
バス通りからも比較的近く交通の便がよい。しかしごみごみした町中というわけではなく落ち着いた環境。部屋の鍵が開かなくなった際も、フロントやスタッフは丁寧な対応でした。
Comment from Hotel Management
by Elizabeth , Hotel Management
どうもありがとうございました。 Elizabeth
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Central location

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Eating facilities.
Location: See above.
Score 8 out of 10 overall. Construction / Renovation work going on on 1st floor. Restaurant closed. Breakfast available in a smaller room but supposedly hot items Scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, etc, were nearly cold - very poor breakfast. Room fine. Staff very helpful. Shuttle to local restaurants very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Elizabeth, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry we fell below expectations in our breakfast quality. I have forwarded your feedback to the Food and Beverage manager for review. I hope you choose to stay with again so we can show you the true level of service we can provide. Sincerely, Elizabeth
2 out of 5
by Alexandra from Fairfax

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
The staff here was great. Friendly, helpful, engaging, professional. I loved the staff. However, the hotel was undergoing a lot of renovations. When I went to brush my teeth, when I first turned on the water, it came out brown! Same thing in the sink in the kitchenette. I was also disappointed that the restaurant was closed except for breakfast. And I was disappointed that the pool was closed due to renovations. I wish I had known all that in advance of my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry for the pool being closed and the water condition in your room. Your feedback enables us to take necessary actions to avoid similar situations in the future. We hope if you are ever in the Columbus area again that you will consider choosing our hotel so we can show you our improvement. Sincerely, Elizabeth
2 out of 5
by Aleta from Roanoke, VA

Don't Stay Here

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is under construction. No water in the pool, fitness center closed, hallways with plywood construction walls. It looks like a really divy hotel from the front and the shabby lobby reinforces that impression. We were so angry when we checked in we called Hotels.com. Ultimately, they reduced our rate, which was very high for a hotel of this caliber and under construction, but we originally booked it because it was billed as a special Hotels.com deal and was in the right neighborhood for the concert we planned to attend. Would never stay there again. The pillow cases were pilled, the bed was uncomfortable, air squirted from the faucet in the bathroom. It was a large room, but they put us between the elevator and the vending machines -- I mean right between. Our door was touching both. Bad experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please feel free to contact me at eerwin@soundhospitality.com so I can provide additional assistance if needed. Sincerely, Elizabeth