Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near hospital

Posted Aug 27, 2016
The motel is near Riverside Methodist Hospital. It offers a hospital rate during the week. My room had a fridge, microwave and table for eating. No coffee pot or hair dryer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

A OK place to stay to help our daughter move

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Price was reasonable for 1 night stay
Cons: carpet looked really stained, things were visibly dusty, only 1 towel for 2 people
Location: enough places to grab a bite for quick meal, didn't come to "do things" other than help with a move
Just need an inexpensive place to stay to help our daughter move from old apt into new one
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
No tv remote, people from the other room were trying to open some side door that connected to our room in the middle of the night,you can hear everything from all the other rooms.Carpet was really dirty.If you want to be in a secure hotel this one isn't the one for you it sucks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

You get what you pay for...

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Location: Handy to OSU
Staff unfriendly, room just adequate, but for the price, this is what you get.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Good hotel, bad management choices

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Cons: Coffee in the rooms obviously. I like setting my own alarm instead of HAVING to trust an unknown person to accurately set my wake up.
They recently removed the room's coffee maker and alarm clock. Not good choices. They seem to think walking up to the office just after waking up for your morning coffee is OK, I disagree. Especially if like me you enjoy more than one cup in the morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Turned into a dump!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
this place used to be the Varsity Inn North. it wasn't the best place but it has certainly dropped its status. it should be a 1-star hotel. they don't even have hair dryers in their rooms! It was dirty. very dirty. Spend a bit extra for a nicer place and don't forget your hair dryer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Would NOT stay here again. This hotel is in bad shape.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by sandra from pennsylvania

motel 6 not varsity inn

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
first of all, it is no longer varsity inn, it is a motel 6. no one there could understand us or speak hardly any english. spent 4 nights, twice never got new towels, and the last night they never cleaned our room. also, tried to tell us we had to pay for the last night we were there, when we were already pre-paid. had a very hard time getting them to understand this, until i showed the receipt from my credit card. there is plenty of restaurants and the only good thing about this hotel, was the location! close to mapfre stadium!
3 out of 5
by Marleen from Rochester, NY

Not Varsity Inn anymore, Motel 6

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
First of all, hotels.com should keep their information updated. The hotel is now a Motel 6. Good thing I had a GPS or I would have been looking for a hotel that no longer exists. It was bought by some very nice people who are planning to do a lot of upgrading, (thank God) it needs it. The room was fine for sleeping. We were in Columbus for a concert, so basically we just stayed in the room to shower and sleep. There was no frig, coffee maker or microwave, but there was free coffee in the lobby all day long.