Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evanston, IL

Elegant inn, great breakfast, perfect location

Posted Nov 15, 2017
From the first moment that Brittany and her gorgeous baby met us at the door we felt welcome. She showed us around the exquisite common areas and then led us up to our sumptuous bedroom. Who could ask for more? The breakfast was perfect, the other guests engaging, and the Inn's location in easy walking distance of several architectural gems in this beautiful city. We highly recommend the bus tour.
5 out of 5
by Alice

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Like living in the past

Posted Oct 11, 2017
The gardens and interior decor are extraordinary. Five star or better. From this POV, the Inn is a luxe experience. It falls somewhat short of luxe in that it is not possible to control the temperature in the room, the TV is small and not well positioned for easy viewing from the bed, the shower and tub are narrow, the shower not very forceful. But these are quibbles if you want to spend the night in a museum piece. The service was friendly, the breakfast good. I'd go back.
5 out of 5
by Donna

How the other 2% lives!

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable with attention to detail. Brit made sure that we had everything that we needed. Our room was enormous. Snacks, soft drinks, tea and coffee were always available. The house and grounds are beautiful. The food was delicious, and served at a time of our choosing. Because of the age of the house, the bathrooms are dated. We didn't have any problems, but the shower set up was not ideal. If a luxurious shower is essential to your enjoyment, this might not be the place for you. We were delighted with the overall experience and will definitely stay again if we are in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st. louis, mo

Perfect early 20th century domestic experience.

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Everything! Cleanliness in a 100 plus years old house is amazing! Breakfasts were worth the price of the room.
Best B&B ever! The hostess, Brittany, is perfect: friendly, helpful, and an awesome cook. Be sure to allow time to relax in the garden. Well worth it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

if you like nostalgia

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
not my kind of place (prefer modern conveniences ), but if you like the 1900's style B&B you'll like this place. pleasant hostess, comfortable bed, huge rooms.
5 out of 5
by Emily

Beautiful home in a stunning community

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
This is one of the most beautiful B&Bs we've stayed in. Gorgeous historic home surrounded by enchanting gardens. The original plumbing and fixtures make for a long wait for hot water, but their authenticity adds to the charm. The breakfast was amazing and all the little luxuries were a sweet treat. We sat out in the garden with a glass of wine in the evening and a cup of fresh brewed coffee in the morning.The small town of Columbus is charming and a mecca for world-class modern architecture. Walking around the downtown is mesmerizing. We'll be back again and again.
5 out of 5
by Vince from Evansville

Fantastic Getaway

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
I first stayed here a year and a half ago when business brought me to the area. I told myself then that I had to bring my wife back with me sometime when we could get a weekend away without the kids, and this was the weekend. It was all I remembered and hoped to share with my wife. In addition to the gorgeous historic home, the innkeeper is a wonderful cook and gracious hostess. She offered us late check-out without our asking since we were delayed and got in late the night before. Great people and a great place.
5 out of 5
by Manda

Welcome Inn

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
The Inn at Irwin Gardens is the perfect spot for a short getaway or a longer stay. My friends and I were just here for a weekend, and we were enchanted by the house, the gardens, the food ... everything! The accommodations are gorgeous, and all the little extra touches make you feel welcomed and cared for. I want to go back now.
5 out of 5
by lisandra from oak Park, Il

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
Their hostess and tour director, Sarah, was amazing!