Ratings based on 752 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi Gulf Coast

Remodeling never finished and did not look ongoing

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of personnel; location to my other stops
Cons: Finish the remodeling ASAP! Get the outside doors to operate with the room key cards!
Location: Easy access and return to Hwy. Street entrance to hotel had big sign but no street sign so passed it up the first time.
WRONG THINGS: 1) Key card worked only once with back outside entrance - fortunately employee was nearby to let me in 2) Room ceiling peeling and bad water stain 3) mold or burnt ceiling around one of the 3 sprinkler heads in room 4) Bathroom door handle not secure on door 5) ice machine on 2nd floor not working 6) carpeting in hallways wrinkled (trip hazard) - needs replacing IMMEDIATELY. RIGHT THINGS: 1) Employees very friendly and helpful as much as they were able 2) Breakfast offered was nice though not 'exceptional' Some items 'promised' were out 3) Use of the 'business center' very helpful as well as the free WiFi Did not use the pool or fitness center - Whirlpool out of service
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by wingatecolumbusgm@gmail.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment and we are sorry that you had an unpleasant stay with us. I assure that all the items you mention in your comment, we are working to improve them as we speak. Your comments are a tool we use for continuous improvement and are greatly appreciated. Again thank you taking time out of your day to let us know how we are doing should you decide to stay with us again, we value you as a guest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Hotel is in poor condition.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Close to relative
Cons: Update everything
Indoor pool was Out of Service. Ice maker was Out of Service on our floor. In our room, the ceilings were all water stained, it felt Iike our bathtub was going to collapse when you stepped on it. The water in the shower was fine. The floor was bumpy, as if warped. The morning buffet was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with your stay. We at the Wingate Inn try very hard to make every stay a great experience. We apologize and we will take your comments for continuous improvement, so if you decide to stay with us again, we hope you have a better experience. The pool pump went out and we replaced it, but for your safety we had to make sure the PH balance was correct, before opening the pool. The ice maker have parts ordered and will be repaired soon. Again thank you for your comments,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roxboro NC

Terrible experience

Posted Dec 15, 2016
The housekeeper left the room heat on full blast, so when I arrived it was extremely hot and uncomfortable. The ac in the room wouldn't come on. Staff tried to come and turn it on, but didn't work. There was no other room available. Never again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. We try very hard to make every guest experience a wonderful experience. We like to thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience so we can strive for continuous improvement. We have corrected the issue you mention. Again thank you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Toilet didn't flush. Didn't get it fixed or even put me in another room. Staff acted like it didn't even matter. Will never stay they again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you had a bad experience with your stay. We at the Wingate Inn try very hard to make every stay a great experience. We apologize and we will take your comments for continuous improvements, so if you decide to stay with us again, we hope you have a better experience. Again thank you for your comments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harris

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016
I always love to stay at this Hotel when i come to Columbus. Professional staff rooms were very nice and clean but the breakfast needs and upgrade. I did talk to someone about it and they said they had plans to make it better. Like i said very professional!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again. We at the Wingate Inn welcome your comments; they help us to make continuous progress in our goal to make your stay a wonderful experience. Again thank you for taking your time to tell us how we are doing,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel. Close to family that I was visiting.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Closeness to relatives. Convenient.
Cons: Some maintenance in rooms. Also desk worker did not print receipt. Stated it would email. Never got the email. Don't really care for that.
Location: Convenient to Leigh Mall, interstate and restaurants. Close travel to relatives.
Hot water not hot. May have been amount of people using showers at time. Tub plug didn't work to hold water. Wished curtains would block out more light from outside light poles. Enjoyed overall though. I just don't rest good away from homeanyway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are glad to hear that overall you had a wonderful experience with us. We will work on the issues you mention, and we look forward to seeing you again. We at the Wingate Inn welcome your comments; they help us to make continuous progress in our goal to make your stay a wonderful experience. Again thank you for taking your time to tell us how we are doing,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely disappointed With this hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
I was extremely disappointed upon checking in and seeing the room!! It looked nothing at all like the pictures showed and it was disgusting!! I literally almost turned around and cancelled my entire reservation I was so mad!! The website said renovations were to be completed by September 2016 and were apparently not even close to being done! Our room had the cheapest, beat up and falling apart furniture in it and the chair had torn spots all in it! The air quit working at some point During the night on our first night there. The only way to keep it going and cooling was to put it on 62 and turn the fan on high! Also the tub was filthy and had a pink ring around it when we checked in. Also there was no extra blankets or pillows in the closet and only half a roll of tissue was in the bathroom with no extra tissue at all. Neither of the hotel phones worked in our room when I tried to call the front desk and when I went to ask for extra toilet paper the lady at the desk was so rude and acted like it inconvenienced her personal phone call that she was apparently on! Also The glass table lamp in the far corner of our room was completely falling apart and leaning over sideways towards the bed...& of course it fell completely apart during our 2nd night there! Luckily it didn't hurt anyone when it fell towards the bed and scared us all to death. I'm pretty sure I wouldn't stay here or recommend this hotel to anyone else in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Orbitz
Nice experience. Very friendly and courteous staff. Close to restaurants and main highway.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 19, 2016
I travel to Columbus every month and I stay every here time I go to Columbus.staff are very nice and helpful.